We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4 star”

Hotel la Croix du Sud
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel la Croix du Sud
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4 star”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I just came back after staying in this hotel for almost 8 days. Below is my review for users checking out this place.

1. Rooms: Quite spacious and french style. Bathrooms are big and every room has an aircon, minibar, locker facility, etc.. Cleanliness is something that is lacked here. It can be dusty inside and the bedsheets are all faded and torn. Curtains are also dusty.

2.Breakfast: The breakfast is really sad. It consist of danish rolls, french bread, croissant, yogurt, orange juice, eggs and coffee everyday.

3. Accessibility: It is bang right in the center of the city. It is surrounded by restaurants and small shops, but it is not a safe place, dakar in general. My mobile was stolen on the first day in the 5 min walk back from one of the nearest restaurants to the hotel. I went to the police station and saw a lot of people with bruised cheeks and swollen jaws all beaten up and everything taken away.

4. Restaurant: The restaurant / bar from 7:30pm to 2:00am on the ground floor is good. I really loved the food they served. You can also ask the receptionist to order any food you want and it can get delivered to the hotel or one of the staff will go and collect it, which is a much safer way to get food. There are italian, indian, african and arabic restaurants in walking distance from the hotel.

5. Service: Their service is really good. The people are really friendly and can help you with anything. Do contact the reception if you need any kind of information or help like taxi, somebody to accompany you for security purposes.

6. Security & Architecture: The hotel security is good and follows the old french architecture. Lift is kinda old and small. The stairs are winding.

Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms, keep the windows close to keep out mosquito. 558 is really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tantrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I was in Dakar for business. Although this hotel was basic, for the price and location, it met my needs. I could walk pretty much anywhere I needed to go (restaurants, market, port to catch the ferry to Goree Island, etc.) The staff was friendly and the room was clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki27705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I stayed at La Croix du Sud for 3 days when passing through Dakar on the way to Kaolack. The room and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast was fine, it just did not present a large selection or hot items. For those who want a quick cup of coffee and baugette, this will be perfect. The hotel is very convenient to the Place de L'Independence, restaurants, and other services like banks. On the main level where the front desk is located, there is a comfortable sitting area that doubles as a bar. There is free wi-fi in the lobby that may reach your room if you are located in the right place. There is a great restaurant on the ground floor that serves up delicious but pricey entrees. The honor bar and TV in the room were nice touches, as well. The staff was very accommodating and always ready to help us get transportation, directions, or call across town for us. I would recommend this hotel to first-time travelers to Dakar and those who want some upscale amenities but don't want to break the bank for every single luxury.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank synapsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I had stayed in this hotel on numerous previous occasions and was quite surprised by the recent negative comments. I'm just back from a trip to Dakar, and am still very happy with the level of service received at La Croix du Sud. Location is great, very friendly staff, very comfortable rooms and great Internet connection. I spend a lot of time travelling across Africa, and this hotel offers great value for money

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispanafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed here for only two nights, the second night was in a cleaner, non-carpeted room, since the carpet smelled musty. Unfortunately, it shared a very thin wall with all night partiers and the hotel management did nothing but say they were within their rights to party past 3am on a wednesday. The hotel tries, but is truly a sorry find. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dakar hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
222 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Awful. I have traveled all around the world and of all the hotels this is the worst one. First of all, there was no hot water in the room. After hours of complaining and arguing the staff came to repair the pipes but they could not repair it. Then I got a different room. No water again. Then I got about 50 liters (12 gallons) of warm water. I asked for enough water to take a bath but I could not get it. I was told that 50 liters is enough to wash myself. Then I decided to move a different hotel and the staff would not refund the money. So I was stuck for 3 days in a hotel with no water. I asked whether I can at least get a discount but the staff refused my request.

No hot water was not the only problem. The room was dusty, bed linen dirty, toilet was dirty.

Never ask the staff to call a taxi for you. The guy will call his friend and his friend will charge you about 400% of what a regular taxi costs. Pick a taxi at the street and it will be much cheaper.

When we complained the staff thought we did not speak French. They started with racist remarks because two of us were interracial couple. They would tell the AA girl that she is not worth anything because she has a white male partner.

Actual hotel is nothing like the on the photos you see on the Internet.

The breakfast and the food is not good.

Pick any other hotel and you will be better off.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelF0rW0rkAndFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The room was dusty, Bed Linen dirty, toilet no very clean. TV was not working.I was made to pay for a taxi despite a glowing commentary about the hotel having own shuttle from Airport on its website.Website pics deceptive, actual hotel a far cry from the pics shown.I checked out after one night and moved to Novotel, a 5* in comparison for the same price of $126.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.2 mi away
La Villa Racine
La Villa Racine
#34 of 43 in Dakar
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
0.5 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#15 of 43 in Dakar
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Farid Hotel Restaurant Dakar
0.5 mi away
Le Ndiambour Hotel et Residence
0.2 mi away
Residence du Plateau
Residence du Plateau
#20 of 93 in Dakar
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Croix du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Croix du Sud

Property: Hotel la Croix du Sud
Address: 20 Avenue Hassan II (ex A. Sarraut), Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Croix du Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel la Croix du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing