We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”
Review of King Fahd Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
King Fahd Palace
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location right on the beach. Perfect for long evening sunsets and drinks with friends. Food was top notch and not too crazily priced. It's in need of refurbishment but it gives the place character. They have the rustiest weights room I have seen in a long time! That said, the staff was excellent - really helpful and friendly. Good base if you are in for a short trip in the diplomatic sector. I didn't make it surfing but it is right next to the best surf camp in Senegal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucas_oceallachain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 364 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the King Fahd Hotel for a week. The exterior of the hotel is gorgeous along with the lobby and poolside area. The hotel has several amenities including an ATM, gift shop, hair salon and spa for massages. There is a gym but it is relatively small. The rooms are large and kept very clean, but slightly outdated. The shower is excellent and hot but water tends to get trapped along the sides of the tub and then flows onto the bathroom floor. The staff is very professional and offer excellent customer service. The hotel offers an excellent selection of food between the restaurants and poolside dining including traditional Senegalese dishes. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was very impressive. It included fresh fruit juices, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, cereals, yogurt, granola and made-to-order omelets along with meats, potatoes and an assortment of other foods. There are restaurants in walking distance to the hotel along with readily available cab service. I would not recommend using the hotel shuttle service to and from the airport if you have a tight schedule or you lack patience. When I arrived I had to wait 15 minutes for a prescheduled pick-up and upon departure the 8pm shuttle left 15 minutes later than expected. Keeping all that in mind, I would definitely stay here again, but please note the hotel is declining and probably will not be as suitable for a comfortable visit in the years to come if it is not renovated.

Room Tip: The rooms are about the same but I would recommend a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinaGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a business trip to Dakar, and while there were shortcomings with the hotel, the staff more than made up for them.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the coast between the current airport (a new one is to open soon) and the downtown area. Adjacent to the hotel is a golf course and within the grounds there are tennis courts and pools. A short cab ride form the hotel is a number of bars, clubs, restaurants and casinos. The lobby area is quite open and bright with all of the things you’d expect to see in a 5 star hotel. Check-in was smooth and quick, and I was allocated a room on middle floors and I was apparently upgraded to a suite ….. Always nice.

The room was huge … separate sitting room, tea making/mini bar room, powder room, bedroom, walk in robe and ensuite. The furnishing was comfortable, although they did look in need of replacement. The bed was VERY comfortable and the blackout curtains were very effective.

The Sitting room and bedrooms both had flat screen TV’s in them with the usual selection of International al news channels, along with local programming and DSTV (including SuperSport) from South Africa. The Wi-Fi was apparently free during my stay, however the signal strength in the room was very much dependent on where you were sitting. At the desk in the bedroom I hardly had a signal, yet in the sitting room it was perfect ….. It took the IT Support guys to come up and sort this out for me, which was done swiftly and with a smile.

The iron in my room didn’t work and nor did the replacement the staff swiftly brought me, so I used the valet service to get my shirt pressed and it was back in 15 minutes flat …. Fantastic. Again, the valet attendant collected and delivered my shirt with a smile.

Used room service once and the delivery was fast, portions were adequate and both the main and the dessert were very good. That’s was the only meal I had within the hotel.

All in all a pleasant stay, and while the hotel itself is in need of some remedial work, the staff were top class. All the staff I dealt with spoke perfect English (and I assume French) and would always greet me with a smile and a willingness to assist if required. Would I stay here again, yes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSL_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel, situated in Les Almadies just across from the US embassy offers a good stay, the rooms are, for the most part, in good shape but are a bit tired.
Great location and relatively close to the airport, the hotel has a shuttle available to and from the airport which is convenient. There is a 'Salon Privee' at the arrivals hall where one can wait for the shuttle.
The hotel has several restaurants and offers a buffet breakfast. The pool and beach allow for a relaxing stay. not inexpensive but still affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbnguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My client booked this for me and I will never let them book me another hotel.

Not remotely close to 5 stars. It's on par with a Super 8 or F1 in Europe. It was built in a "grand style" in the late 80's or early 90's and they appear to have done nothing since then to maintain it. Everything looks shabby and/or is literally rotting. The door of my bathroom is pealing it's chipboard. My room smelled like mildew and mould. The power outlet was hanging a bit out of the wall. The furnishings are are cracked and stained. The lock on my door didn't work.

The wifi is terrible, it works a bit better if you stand near the door. But even then it's just down sometimes.

I only stayed two days and had so-so fish with bad greasy vegetables the first night. The second I ordered pasta and I think I've seen/smelled better pasta at a gas station. I don't even know how you can mess it up. I didn't eat more than one bite. Also a note, don't try the local beer "La Gazelle", it's terrible.

The staff are slow and not very good at their jobs. Friendly enough though.

Breakfast is below average. I avoided anything that could potentially make me sick so I had bad croissant both mornings. Stale and doughy. Coffee is burnt and terrible.

So, yeah, I know, "This is Africa", but honestly this place could have done better. It's like they aren't even trying. Yet they are charging European prices. I would have rather stayed at an Ibis.

So to sum it up, don't stay here. On a positive note, at least there was hot water and electricity and nothing was stolen from my room.

Room Tip: I could see the ocean, so if you have to stay at this dump maybe request an ocean room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I often visit sub-saharan Africa for business. The improvements are visible in Dakar by naked eyes each and every time I visit this beautiful country. The last stay was 5 days for continues meetings. The conference center is perfect. If you visit sub-saharan Africa this Hotel deserves the real 5 stars. Avoid the Spa. The rooms have to be refurbished asap.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

It has great location,so peaceful rooms,friendly workers,magnificent pool...But the wifi connection sucks!!!I stayed sitting behind my door to be able to connect for the whole night.How come a 5 stars hotel can do that...No way!!!
Also the cuisine wasnt good. Hope to see more options inside that 5 stars...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank tturk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
8.3 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
6.2 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#10 of 43 in Dakar
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
8.4 mi away
Rysara Hotel
Rysara Hotel
#12 of 43 in Dakar
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fahd Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fahd Palace

Address: Route des Almadies, Dakar NA, Senegal (Formerly Le Meridien President)
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $153 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King Fahd Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King Fahd Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fahd Palace Hotel Dakar
Le Meridien Hotel Dakar
Dakar Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing