We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Fahd Palace
Nearby Hotels
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrou-Bi(Dakar)
$292
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$408
$251
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Dakar(Dakar)
$124
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Demeure(Dakar)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
31
102
152
58
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
102
152
58
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel groundsdesperate needfitness centerbusiness centerthe atlantic oceanatriumpersonnel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 385 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here recenly when my flight was cancelled. It would not have been worth the money, if I had been paying for it personally.

The public areas are attractive and well maintained; however in my room, the light colored carpet was very stained throughout. I had to clean the desk top of some sauce that had not been removed. Although it was listed as a non-smoking room and floor, my room smelled strongly of smoke. The tub and shower did not function properly.

The staff was not very helpful and room information did not cover needed information - eg dial 0 to call out.

The pool area is beautiful and the food at the pool buffett was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If Tripadvisor had a 3.5 rating, that's what I would probably give the King Fahd. Overall, the public areas of the hotel are in fairly good shape and well maintained. The breakfast also has good variety. My room, however, had clearly seen better days. The balcony door was rusted and extremely difficult to open. The ceiling in the bathroom was falling apart, and there was rust around pretty much anything with metal on it. The rooms were probably pretty nice a few years back, but it looks like they've stopped maintaining them. If this course continues, the rooms will probably be about 2-3 star quality within a matter of years.

There was one woman at the front desk who provided exceptional service, upgrading my room to a sea-side facing room and giving me four hours of late check out for free. Unfortunately, my colleague experienced someone else at the desk who promised to also give him four hours, but then only put two hours in the system. When he complained the next day on check out, the front desk staff blamed him and said that he only requested two hours.

With the upgrades being made at the nearby Hotel des Almadies and some other nice options around, I would check around first before staying here based on its former glory. If you can get a good price and you need to be on the far tip of Almadies though, the King Fahd is still a nice enough stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-side, if you are lucky to get one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed there when it was called the Merridien President, and once again recently. The quality is similar, but there is something missing. The hotel staff seemed to be a bit more formal now. On another note, took some time to play some golf at the 9 hole course just behind the pool there and that was really a lot of fun. Very well designed course, with some pretty challenging fairways, expecially those on the edge of the cliff. The pro, libasse, i think his lame was, was just supperb. All in all it was a very good break!

Room Tip: If you play golf, take your shoes and everything else such as equipment will be available for you to rent.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyKololi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not friendly or helpful staff, not close to anything, all their taxis are there to rip you off so walk down the street and find someone far cheaper than their convienient taxis, power goes off a lot, and food is not very good. Stay at Terrou B or the Raddisson to get more for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skip648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel was sold out the night I arrived and so I was given a suite for the room price. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Location on the sea is lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLJ60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews