We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taxi Fares or Crimes ??”
Review of King Fahd Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Fahd Palace
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taxi Fares or Crimes ??”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

February 2012,
in the King Fahd Palace Hotel in Dakar ,Senegal, there is a strong link between the hotel security manager ( mr. M'Ballo ) and a local mafia boss ( Mr. SERING TACO THIAW ) , which end up in forcing the hotel guest to pay taxi fares from 5 to 10 times higher that the applicable prices.
Furthermore the King Fahd Palace Hotel general manager and the hotel owner Mr. Mamadou Racine Sy seems unable to control this situation, which sometimes leads to crime activity towards the hotel guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voulimata N, Hotel Management at King Fahd Palace, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We first of all thank you for taking your time to post a comment regarding your staying in our hotel. Be sure that your comments are important for us in so far as it help us improve our daily service.
We deeply regret that you experience such misfortune with taxis outside the hotel. For the security and welfare of our guests, The Management of the Hotel has authorized 2 taxis to park inside but the hotel has no power on the prices of taxis since they are not the property of the Hotel. But if a guest takes a taxi inside the hotel via our concierge, we can locate the taxi in case of trouble.
Nevertheless, your experience has been submitted to the required service to find new alternatives to avoid in the future such experience to our guests.
Be sure that all the staff is at your disposal to do your next staying in our hotel more pleasurable.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    95
    132
    49
    37
See reviews for
11
20
19
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This review is a bit overdue but may still be helpful. I note immediately that it is no longer LeMeridien President but King Fahd Palace. I suppose this can speak volume as it's no longer a Starwood hotel. I am not surprised actually. The hotel has a lot of potential but can use a serious facelift and refreshing. I personally was treated quite well and my problems were addressed promptly. I must disclosed that I was part of a large group staying in the hotel.

My colleagues and I stayed here twice (September 2011 and again November 25-December 4, 2011). Yes, we were part of the large conference. AND yes, we took up most of the hotel and all the conference spaces.

I echo all the sentiments expressed about this hotel. Overpriced for an outmoded room and amenites, sometimes a bit slow on the service;however, do we point our fingers to the staff, the culture, or is it a reflection of training and the degree of autonomy the staff is allowed, or perhaps our predictable western impatient attitudes? Perhaps it's a little bit of all the above? :-)

The Hotel wonderfuls: the bed and the pillow, grounds - view - most of the staff members, the multiple pronged power strips in the bedroom - good call in knowing your international clients. The pool restaurant, the pool lounge, the pool, the walkway along the beach.

The mediocre and needs improvement areas: ROOM - specifically, bathroom - tub, faucet, bedspread (just tired), understanding how the darn balcony works (some ventilation would have helped greatly during those hot and humid months - the mildew, the fridge -too small - I think one item of each of whatever is quite fine...we at least will have room to put our bottled water to cool. -
PLEASE IMPROVE VENTILATION OF the rooms during rainy and humid season (CENTRAL DEHUMIDIFIER maybe if there is such a thing?- I don't know...)

ADD HANDICAP accessible bathrooms to standard service rooms - walk-in showers were only in the presidential and junior suites...not acceptable for a hotel touted as having international standards and is a marketed as a resort, weekend get-a-way destination.

The NEEDS MUCH IMPROVEMENT AREAS:
FRONT DESK SERVICE - Speedier service - improve ustomer service training...if one doesn't know or is not familiar with the "International Standards", how can one provide appropriate service?

INDOOR SMOKING POLICY: I don't know about you, but I have allergies and the indoor smoke does not help me a bit. Please consider changing the policy on indoor smoking...it's not good for my health as an occasional guest, but I can imagine that it can affect the health of those who have to work around it day in and day out. Smoke all you want, but may i suggest outdoors. It's usually wonderfully nice outside, non? :-)

INTERNET - MORE Hotspots required! AND for that matter why is there not Free wi-fi in the conference center? It's almost standard everywhere now.

WORK OUT ROOM? What workout room - it should be free for price of hotel room, there needs to be lap pools separate from the lounging "i want to be seen" pool

MODIFY access to conference center PLEASE, it is poorly designed and unnecessarily confusing, completely INEFFICIENT. I was waiting for a big accident - a fall, etc...but thankfully, none occured. Here's a thought - create a walkway from the Flamboyant hallway from hotel directly to the conference center would make better sense than going down stairs and then coming up to conference center. Isn't the roof that that they foyer (past the Flamboyant) part of the hallway to the conference center? why not open up that window/wall (that looks out onto the roof), just a thought.

Electronic signage would be great or more modern sign boards so patrons in both the hotel area and conference area can see from distance.

Upgrade, upgrade, upgrade or loose business to the new hotel down the road....

Consider installing SOLAR PANELS to harvest electricity- you have sun for literally 365 days and ALL that open space to install them...at least start with small solar panels for each of the walk way lights outside....

In summary, up grade or lose the busiess. Staff is good and is an asset and would be even more stellar if provided with constant updates and inservice training. The location is great, right next to the POINT!

Room Tip: Ocean or golf view, nearer to the pool side...the wi-fi internet seems a bit stronger. Go buy you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BmoreHon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voulimata N, Hotel Management at King Fahd Palace, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are important for us and travelers. And we really appreciate your comments which help us improve our services and meet your expectations.
All your comments are taken into account by our Management and for sure measures will be taken to meet guests satisfaction.
Thank your for your advises and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel has classical south side problems. when you enter through the door that smell covers you, even your clothes... rooms have the same smell also. i guess it was the sussame oil or st like that. i have to sleep on my shirt because of the smell in pillows..

At January there is a very powerful wind. even the windows are closed there is wind inside the room. also you have to be very powerful to be able to open the door to balcony. and the sound of the wind feels you, you are in a middle of a hurricane. when you just travel 1 min with a taxi all the wind and cold ends. there is nearly 10 degree difference from this part with the center of the city.

And negotiate with the taxi drivers. walk to the outside of the otel. there a station they will accept your offer when you begin to walk. i give 2000 CFA to Radisson / City Mall / Zoo and 2500 to the center... also for a price of 5000 they can be your driver all day...

pool, view and breakfast was fine... but very old rooms, one finger dust in closets..dirty and old feeling..its very expensive for that conditions.. do not fool for the Meridien name...

Room Tip: select a sea view rooms to feel better from the lacks of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mctheworldcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voulimata N, Hotel Management at King Fahd Palace, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your staying at King Fahd Palace Hotel. In one hand, your comments are important for us as it helps us improve our daily service and, on the other hand it is important for travelers who would like to experience innovative and new perspectives.
This room should never be in the quota of rooms to sell. It must have escaped the vigilance of our supervisors. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
Be sure that all the staff is at your disposal for a wonderful staying in the hotel.
The Hotel has just allow taxis to park inside to be close to customers but has no power over the price of transport.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next staying more pleasurable.
We thank you for your feedback and be sure we are sorry for the inconvenience you may have.
We look forward to welcoming you in a near future to show you we can be better host.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dakar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
6.2 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
8.5 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#15 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#6 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fahd Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fahd Palace

Property: King Fahd Palace
Address: Route des Almadies, Dakar NA, Senegal (Formerly Le Meridien President)
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — King Fahd Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Fahd Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fahd Palace Hotel Dakar
Le Meridien Hotel Dakar
Dakar Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing