We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the hotel needs some upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed July 15, 2012

You choose this hotel for its central location, the view over the ocean, and the fantastic swimming pool. Service is friendly. However rooms have not been renovated for a very long time and the design is clearly outdated. Breakfast is a rip off. A bit expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was my first trip to Senegal and Africa and I didn't want to compromise on my 1st night. Lobby was big and service was excellent. Room was comfortable and beds were "sized" right. Coffee was brillant. Taxi service was everywhere. Give yourself 3 hours to the airport - traffic is a nightmare i.e. Rome, Los Angeles. 43000CFA or $88US was worth it. Note: hustlers in the lobby will try you. Put on your Poker Face and say no. They will leave you alone. Also, the cafe @ $33USD at the hotel is a ripoff. I ate a 2lbs. Mango and cheese and eggs around the corner for $5.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoandfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is well placed, clean but dated decor. I felt safe whilst i was in the hotel and the staff were ok. The pool area at the rear of the hotel was a nice feature and well run. In Dakar and probably in this hotel you will see things and behaviours that would not be acceptable in most of Europe. Outside the hotel the hawkers and orange card waivers were tiresome but never threatening. I would stay again but be sure you agree the terms and all taxes upfront in writing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alunm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 4 days in June on business. Staff was friendly but unresponsive. This includes trying to get the room up to snuff and ordering drinks in the bar. The hotel decor is dated and several items, including the television were broken. Pictures in the room were very crooked. At first I thought this was by design but after looking at them I realized the fasteners were all broken. I heard cars beeping and cats screeching all night as I faced the city vice the ocean view.
The pool, although a lengthy walk, makes the hotel worthwhile.

Room Tip: Request ocean view to avoid the loud city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A good hotel and would not hesitate recommending this to anyone else. Unlike other properties in West Africa; customer service here is definitely an edge over others and the staff takes extra effort to make your stay comfortable. Rooms are spacious and restaurant offers a decent choice of food and drinks. The hotel has a pool and gym slightly away (on a walking distance though) and the beach side view of this part is what makes the hotel stand out from others in the city. Locationally the hotel is right in the CBD and hence worth staying if you are there for business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddharthDhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was my third trip to Dakar, and my second time staying at The Pullman. All in all it was a pleasant and comfortable stay in The Pullman. The hotel and rooms are clean, spacious and air conditioned. The decor is a bit dated, but is not in a bad state.

On my last visit the hotel pool had been closed, but this time it was open, and looked very clean and inviting.

For me the bar area also lacked character or charm, but given that there are plenty of places around central Dakar to eat or drink, this wasn't an issue. The bar service was a little slow, especially if you were sitting on the terrace. The bar by the pool closes at 6pm, sharp, and the staff at the bar, were not helpful in the slightest.

The location is good, very central in Dakar.

The food in the hotel restaurant was reasonable, but it is cheaper and better to eat elsewhere. Make sure you agree a price with taxi drivers before you set off, and generally I would suggest you knock them down by at least 25% from the price they suggest.

If I come back to Dakar again, then I would probably chose the Novotel, only as the hotel felt more moden, and the bar had more atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, as it is more impressive than the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I just spent one month in this hotel. Although average in most respects, you could also argue that by African standards it deserves a VG rating. Price is reasonable, maybe a little high, likely due to location and French ownership. If you are willing to prepay, the hotel outfits on TA sometimes have deals with 25% off and free breakfast. You have to check them all, because one might have the deal and the others not have it.

Location close to la Place de l'Independence is excellent if your work takes place mostly downtown in the Plateau area. Traffic is awful, so don't expect to get anywhere in a hurry. Walking is often quicker than taking a cab. Speaking of cabs, be sure to negotiate your price before getting in. Anywhere in Plateau costs CFA 500, maybe 1000 during rush hour or to a more distant location. We visited Ngor Island for CFA 2500 one way, on the weekend. Don't take the hotel cabs, they are double the price; just walk out onto the street and you'll be inundated with taxis.

Internet is free and sometimes problematical but overall OK. Wireless or, if you ask for a cable, wired. It mostly works at a satisfactory speed, but now and then, perhaps every other day, it goes down. Usually not for a long time, only twice overnight during my stay. But it always happens at an inconvenient time. Speed is good enough for Skype, but not usually sufficient for video calls.

Breakfast buffet is horribly overpriced, at $28. Don't even think about it, unless your office is paying the bill.

Rooms are generous in size, with plenty of drawers and adequate hanging space (but very few hangers). Noise is not a significant problem, as traffic clears out in the evening. Bathroom is OK, except for the skimpy half door on the tub/shower, which means water gets splashed around. If you want a wash cloth, bring one. Toiletries are OK, hair dryer works. Room lighting is inadequate for reading at night. Chair is not very comfortable for this, and you would have to lean over to use the bedside light, or move the chair to where the desk light could illuminate your book.

Room cleaning is spotty. About once a week I returned to find the room not yet cleaned, and had to call the front desk to arrange it (housekeeping must have their phones turned off). Every 3-4 days or so I had to call to ask for towels to be delivered. Water usually shows up (2 small bottles free daily), but the promised juice and coffee sometimes are out of stock for the day. Don't drink the tap water (although I brushed my teeth with it).

Room crews are short handed, I was informed when I complained about cleaning the rooms. They often have only one person per floor instead of the usual two. The second shift is supposed to pick up the slack, but if they only have one person, then some rooms don't get cleaned. Really inexcusable, given the number of people in Dakar looking for employment.

An excellent laundry and dry cleaner is located nearby. Exit the hotel, turn right and go into the side street. Turn right and walk 2.5 blocks (almost to the end), and it's on your left. Same day service (usually) if you drop your laundry at 0815 when they open, otherwise pick it up the next day. Open till 2000, closed Sunday. Laundry was CFA 1500 for trousers, 700 short sleeved shirts, 250 sox & underwear. Great job, espec. on shirts & trousers.

An outstanding supermarket is nearby, only a 5-8 minute walk. Since the room has a refrigerator, it's worth buying snacks and drinks. Since I was here for so long, I bought cereal, milk, yogurt and juice for my breakfast. (You can borrow a bowl & spoon from the restaurant.)

To walk to the Casino supermarket (the largest chain in Dakar), exit the hotel, go out the entrance straight ahead, turn right, and walk down the right side of Independence Square. At the third street on the right, with the Rond Point restaurant on the corner (not very good, and very pricey), turn right and proceed about 3-4 blocks. The Casino is on the right, just fight your way through the crowd of vendors. Very large selection of grocery items, including beer, wine and spirits. Local beer is Flag, CFA 500 at Casino, well worth the price. Kirene is the local bottled water, cheap and good enough.

Room Tip: In the hot season, ask for a room facing the ocean (to the east) as the rooms on the city side (west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenoBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
2.5 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#2 of 44 in Dakar
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#11 of 44 in Dakar
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#9 of 44 in Dakar
281 reviews
8.3 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#34 of 44 in Dakar
373 reviews
0 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#7 of 44 in Dakar
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Dakar Teranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Dakar Teranga

Address: 10 Rue Colbert | Place de L'Independance, Dakar 3380, Senegal (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#1 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $157 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Dakar Teranga 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Dakar Teranga is the perfect mix beetween Business et leisure. An Urban Resort in the center of Dakar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Dakar Teranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Dakar Teranga Hotel Dakar
Pullman Dakar Teranga Ex
Accor Dakar Teranga Ex
Sofitel Dakar
Dakar Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing