We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Novotel Dakar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Dakar
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Tamale
2 reviews
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The place is neat, the food is excellent, and there is a shuttle to take from and to the airport. The location is also good. Not far from the market and behind the the hotel is the sea. very beautiful place to live away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis796, Directeur général at Novotel Dakar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Dakar.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.


Denis Matas Calderon
Directeur General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    235
    123
    40
    27
See reviews for
21
35
58
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ponta delgada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice clean rooms, wifi, beautiful swimming pool in a well kept garden, in a central location. Breakfast was nice with a lot to choose from. We also had dinner here and recommend it. In fact it was the best hotel in our week in Senegal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I recently visited Dakar in December for business. I really enjoyed my stay at the Novotel for a number of reasons:

1. 24 hour free transfer to and from the airport. You can find the Novotel transfer 'stand' (a small sign) outside the building entrance to the airport, they will take you to the bus. When departing, simply let the hotel know at what time you would like to leave.

2. The hotel is well designed with comfortable rooms (some nice modern elements). The pool deck and pool bar are great! The hotel also has some beautiful statues and art in the foyer and a lovely cocktail lounge for functions.

3. Free wi-fi for hotel guests

4. There is a local city guide who works from the hotel, Mike. He can take you on a walking or driving tour and is very reasonable. He also took us to some great shopping spots supporting authentic local trade.

If you are lucky you'll get a sea view room but the city side is also nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elli y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The room I stayed in at the Novotel could use a renovation. The entire property just felt musty and dated. It is however not out of line with other West Africa properties. The check in process was chaotic as well as the check out process. The staff were courteous but, for whatever reason, not vey helpful. The transfer to the hotel was easy but arranging the transfer back to the airport was nearly impossible. The pool area is nice and the restaurant food is acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I did not expect much from this hotel, 1ste business trip to Dakar. Conveniently situated, I took the hotel shuttle in the middle of the night, staff helpful and friendly. They room surprised me the most - standard room but modern furnishings and spotless. Sea view. No problems with internet in the room or foyer, fast and efficient for North Africa! I had breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant and I was more that satisfied with the quality and choice on offer. Front desk was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
0.0 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#6 of 43 in Dakar
253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
2.5 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lagon II
Hotel Lagon II
#22 of 43 in Dakar
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dakar

Property: Novotel Dakar
Address: Ave Abdoulaye Fadiga | BP 2073, Dakar 18524, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dakar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Dakar is located in the central business district, looking across to Goree Island, 5 minutes walk from the Place de l Independence and 15 km from Leopold Sedar Senghor International Airport (free shuttle service). The hotel features 241 air conditioned rooms including two suites, a bar, a restaurant, meeting rooms, a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Dakar Hotel Dakar
Dakar Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing