We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern style, great view”
Review of Novotel Dakar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Dakar
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Dakar
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern style, great view”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Novotel is a great option for downtown Dakar -- clean and well-styled rooms, fantastic central location for exploring the plateau and Ile de Goree, and beautiful views on the Atlantic. The bar is quite an ex-pat see-and-be-scene, the pool is lovely, and there's free WiFi (which worked perfectly well for us) and an ATM in the lobby. Especially compared to the Pullman (same chain, same area), this place has better appointed rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    237
    125
    40
    27
See reviews for
22
36
58
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Foshan
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is my second in Dakar, previously I stayed at Pullman, compared to that I've found out that it's much better at Novotel than Pullman, the place is more relaxed and best of all the design is more modern and newer.

About the food it's much better, loved the seafood here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Dakar Novotel is a perfectly fine hotel, though it is a bit expensive for what one actually gets. My biggest gripe is that there is no fitness room and the difficulties associated with navigating the streets in Dakar make it hard to comfortable go for an energetic walk to get some exercise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2011

On arrival the information given from the hotel for the duration of my stay was poor. The room had been prepaid and the addtional expenses were to be charged to seperate CC (which had been pre-authorised). The hotel reception manager demanded that they take a personal CC autorisation from myself, as communication was poor I explained that it was a simple case of charging the original CC. Clemene the hotel manager inisited this was not the case and became aggressive and rude. Thoughout my stay the staff at hotel reception, in particular the lady called Clemene asked for payment for individual items at every oppotunity. This is not normal behavior and is the worse business trip I have encountered.

The food was good, and the bar staff were helpful, although this spoilied by the constant pestering of the receptionists and hotel manager Clemene.

Room Tip: ask for the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dakar hotels

Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Writing this review from my hotel room - NOVOTEL DAKAR

I booked the hotel via a website on Sep/02/2011 and paid full amount in advance on the same date. Requested a pickup from the airport, the shuttle was there but i had to wait one hour for some other person (who never showed up). It was a little upsetting & annoying after flying 14 hours to Dakar and than standing at the airport.

More bad news upon reaching the hotel, the hotel is over booked so had another 1 hour in the lobby until some other room gets vacated. it seems that hotel has a relaxed policy for late checkout. Finally got a room after a lot of nerve wrecking patience.

The room is of good size and i have good view of the ocean from my small window. Bathroom is also nice and clean. Had a good night sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was also good with nice selection.

The hotel is in office district and about 10 minutes walk to the pullman hotel (also same chain). I could just find one restaurant in the area and a super market "CASINO" is also in walking distance. Amazingly i found the hotel offering a better rate of exchange than CHANGE BUREAUS!!

Internet (WIFI) in my room is DEAD SLOW!!!

Anyhow, today is my second night, let's see how it goes towards the end.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waheed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2011

There is an impartial billing as I paid up to $244 for the first night whereas other clients that came after me paid much less. I however enjoyed the breakfast and I think it has one of the best professionally trained members of staff. Very Clean environment and the internet speed is excellent

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Novotel lived up to my expectations, being a chain hotel, you expect a certain standard of room size, decor, cleanliness, service and facilities. The Dakar hotel deserves its four stars.

The hotel is located on the southern edge of the downtown district (which is the heart of the city), right on the coast. The views from the hotel windows of the coastline won't get you writing poetry, as you have to walk right up to the window to get the view (very strange architectural style, which probably has to do with stopping the sun heating up your room too much).

The hotel has all the faciities you would expect of a chain hotel: pool, bar, restaurant, conference facilities etc. The staff were functional, but lacked any real charm.

My room was certainly clean and well presented. A minor complaint was that there was absolutely nothing in the mini-bar, which rather defeated its purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
0.0 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 42 in Dakar
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 42 in Dakar
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
8.1 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
2.5 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Dakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dakar

Property: Novotel Dakar
Address: Ave Abdoulaye Fadiga | BP 2073, Dakar 18524, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dakar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Dakar is located in the central business district, looking across to Goree Island, 5 minutes walk from the Place de l Independence and 15 km from Leopold Sedar Senghor International Airport (free shuttle service). The hotel features 241 air conditioned rooms including two suites, a bar, a restaurant, meeting rooms, a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Dakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Dakar Hotel Dakar
Dakar Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing