We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Demeure
Nearby Hotels
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrou-Bi(Dakar)
$294
$285
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$398
$251
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Dakar(Dakar)
$124
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
111
37
10
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
37
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracetop floorliving roomcrepeshonesty barpeaceful neighborhoodbread basketminute drivecroissantsevery morninglovely hotelboutique hotelexcellent locationswimming pooldinacasablancamami
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 164 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed with my family here in the Lakipia room, the apartment on the top floor, had a wonderful time and it truly felt like a home away from home, as the apartment had a full kitchen and comfortable living room with beautiful decor (and a tv with CNN, and good wifi access). In fact the entire guesthouse has very beautiful decor and furniture and there are many common places outside the rooms in which to relax, including the lovely rooftop lounge area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, including the owner. The real delight was the breakfast, which, though it is an extra cost at 5,000 CFA pp, is well worth it as the croissants and bread come from the best bakery in Dakar, and the pleasant staff will make eggs/crepes to order, served on the rooftop lounge. The only negatives we encountered were quite a few mosquitoes in our room, windows and shutters were somewhat difficult to open and close, and a slightly strange, cramped layout of the bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiesaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FANTA T, Directeur général at La Demeure, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments laudatory
about mosquitoes unfortunately we are in africa and sometimes we have a few mosquitoes. that s why all the beds are equipped with mosquito nets. on windows we change them one by one all the windows of the house. You have at your next stay the opportunity to see.
again thank you
fanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I absolutely love this guest house! The property is very comfortable and beautifully appointed. We stayed in the 2 bedroom rooftop apartment and it felt like a home away from home. I didn't mind the stairs since it added to the experience of the African culture. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, including our driver to and from the airport as well as touring around Senegal. Madame Fanta was a very welcoming hostess. There's a lovely gift shop on the property, and the guest house is within walking distance to the main thoroughfare where there are restaurants and shops. There is also a pool there, and the rooftop restaurant and lounge area is lovely, offering a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. I would definitely stay there again, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

World class decor, contemporary wood and brass furnishings and art that could grace any 5 star hotel anywhere! So spacious, everything worked well, facilities second to none, and quite unusually excellent from our other African experiences. Beautiful, creative architecture. Very welcoming. Can't say enough good things about it. Stay here if you can!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with wife and mother-n-law before and after a West African tour. This place far exceeded our expectations. We had the 2 bedroom suite on the rooftop. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The owner Fanta made us feel like family. Thanks Able, Momi, and our personal driver Traore! Nice quite neighborhood. Several shops and restaurants within walking distance. They provide airport pickup. Highly recommended. They have a small shop onsite for gifts.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent, as was the view from the terrace. There were some issues - a/c worked intermittently through the night - but they were not too bad. The location is also a plus, being so close to the airport. Overall it was good for the price, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanikailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews