We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am sorry, but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Almadies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Almadies
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Dakar
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“I am sorry, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

... I have to disagree with the majority of the opinions. Perhaps I did expect worse based on the previous descriptions, but first from a positive side:

- nice location with private beach, sea water swimming pool and swimming pool (really clean!)
- building is quite nice and has really a better potential

But
- everything is run down
- breakfast has not enough choice, even for someone like me who just takes some pasteries and fruit
- while most is clean, a lot of items lack basic cleaning is missing on a lot of places and spots are on most items

If you want some relaxing vacations, this is not the place to go to, but for business (with meeting) ok.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    18
    23
    29
See reviews for
8
4
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Admittedly, I didn't stay here, but was just using the pool for the day. However, first impressions are important. For instance, how much trouble could it be for the receptionist to give a little smile to visitors? It seemed that she could hardly be bothered. The hotel itself is cavernous and seemed shrouded in work tarpaulins for the on-going renovation. However, this doesn't excuse the on-going poor maintenance of areas such as the bathrooms. It seems to be a hotel that has resigned itself to functional mediocrity. The pool itself is massive and the water seems clean, so that is a plus. There are two beaches and the one on the left as you enter was pretty uninviting with soda cans and food wrappers scattered around. (How much trouble could it be to clean them up?) The other beach was better and they serve a buffet on the sand. If you get tired of that, then the pool area is fine to hang out in. You can have lunch and drinks and just be lazy. I don't think I'll go back - the day passes are too expensive for what you get and once was enough to satisfy my curiosity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theinspectorishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dakar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
dakar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for a year as part of the security staff for the new us embassy being constructed near by. We were forced to stay for that long period because our supervisor was too lazy to find other accommodations and this hotel was simply ""convenient." Hot water is more the exception than the rule, and the internet/wifi worked only occasionally. The cable went out at least once a week. The staff made you feel as if you were imposing by asking for any repairs to your room or additional housekeeping services. At one point we even had to BEG housekeeping to give us toilet paper. I guess they figured the one small roll provided would be enough to sustain us for a week. Breakfast was included, but they would bring out 10 pieces of cheese, 12 pieces of ham, two boiled eggs and two small containers of yogurt to feed 12-15 men each day. This place has such potential, but the owners and staff appear to have no idea what they need to do to stop these bad reviews. And I certainly will do everything I can to ensure that no visitor to the new U.S. Embassy consider staying at this hotel while in Dakar.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsCitizenDakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kololi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Already at checkin you felt that you were too much trouble. Even though the only guests there were our group. Massive lifeless hotel next to a Hugh US embassy construction site with totally untrained staff and the room was infested with mosquitos. Went to the next hotel every evening for drinks and even got a came of golf there. For the price the charge... avoid. There are much better hotels for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyKololi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have literally no idea what all those bad reviews are about below. Hotel des Almadies is a great hotel! I'm staying for two months during a work trip, and I have no complaints whatsoever. Yes, the hotel is under renovation but only a relatively small section and I have not even noticed. The hotel is so vast and sprawling that you can spend your entire time not going anywhere near the bits that are being done up. The pool is huge, and there are two private beaches. There is a lot of great outdoor space, and you are in a brilliant location right opposite the US embassy. There are about two restaurants, a nice outdoors bar, a spa, a little shop... And so much space outsides with really great areas for resting on the beach. Also there is strong security, so the beach really is completely private, and the entire premises is very secure.

The staff are incredibly kind and keen to help - they've given me free reign of an empty conference room with air conditioning and a great view of the sea to work in during weekends, and the hotel is kept beautifully clean, with cleaners doing your room each day. The pool is swept every morning. The rooms are in pretty good condition, not quite 4 or 5*, but definitely above 2*!. I have cable in my room with channels in several different languages, a good shower with warm (not hot) water and a very comfortable bed. Yes, there are some mosquitoes - but what do you expect if you sit outside at dusk in West Africa?! There are excellent mosquito nets set up in my room, and I have not been bitten once at night.

I have travelled extensively throughout Africa over the last four years, and this is a really great hotel, I can assure you.

Negatives:

The restaurant is expensive, about $33 just for the buffet. However, if you eat at the bar, which is literally next to the restaurant, you will instead be paying about $7-10 for enormous fresh salads with lots of fruit and veg, and fresh fish. So, my advice would be to ignore the restaurant unless you want to pay high prices - the food is really good though. The breakfast buffet is so good.

The wifi in the bedrooms is somewhat temperamental. I have it about 50% of the time, but there is wifi throughout the rest of the hotel.

Its a very popular hotel on the weekends, hosting lots of things like parties, weddings, conferences, so the weekends are very busy with lots of loud, LOUD music. However, if you really need quiet space, the hotel is so big that you will always find somewhere to go where you can hear it less.

The air-con in my room works, but is not that strong.

There is no fitness centre, but you can go jogging or swim in the big pool if you want to exercise.

I would recommend this hotel for sure, and am delighted that I will be spending my time in Dakar staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmmacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I would advise travellers to avoid this place like the plague. In order to reach my room I had to walk through an unlit building site, which felt extremely insecure. The rooms were old, musty, and were full of mosquitos. There was no wifi in the rooms, which makes it an extremely poor choice for the business traveller.

I live in Sub-Saharan Africa, and travel extensively in underdeveloped areas, so do not scare easily when it comes to low standards of accommodation. However, for the amount charged, this place is a joke. There are extensive renovations being undertaken, but no mention was made on the website. The photos must have been taken several years (perhaps even decades) ago. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London_Back_pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is the first bad review I've ever written on TripAdvisor, but was "inspired" to do so when I learned that my sister was just recommended to stay here on business when she travels to Dakar next week. I probably owed this negative review to my traveling compadres months ago!

Without hesitation, I implore you to look elsewhere for your stay in Dakar. This was easily the worst hotel I've ever stayed in abroad for work (or pleasure) in all of my developing country experience. I was there on business in 2011 and had an extraordinarily bad experience with deceptive and useless staff, dirty rooms with no amenities whatsoever, unpleasant surroundings, construction... the list goes on. Their website is egregiously deceptive, as other reviewers have mentioned - there is no business center whatsoever and no wifi anywhere in the hotel but for the small lobby which is filled with malarial misquotes (without exaggeration, 4 of my colleagues were infected with malaria while staying there). There are no amenities in the rooms themselves and reports of no mosquito nets on some of my colleague's rooms. Phones in the rooms did not work the majority of the time and the hotel foods was poor quality and overpriced. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: There are no "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyJo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Lodge des Almadies
Le Lodge des Almadies
#22 of 44 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#4 of 44 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Madrague Ngor
La Madrague Ngor
#9 of 44 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#34 of 44 in Dakar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#7 of 44 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Almadies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Almadies

Property: Hotel des Almadies
Address: La Pointe des Almadies | BP 3236, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 44 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Almadies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing