We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquito heaven”
Review of Hotel des Almadies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Almadies
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
kololi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mosquito heaven”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Already at checkin you felt that you were too much trouble. Even though the only guests there were our group. Massive lifeless hotel next to a Hugh US embassy construction site with totally untrained staff and the room was infested with mosquitos. Went to the next hotel every evening for drinks and even got a came of golf there. For the price the charge... avoid. There are much better hotels for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyKololi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    18
    23
    29
See reviews for
8
4
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have literally no idea what all those bad reviews are about below. Hotel des Almadies is a great hotel! I'm staying for two months during a work trip, and I have no complaints whatsoever. Yes, the hotel is under renovation but only a relatively small section and I have not even noticed. The hotel is so vast and sprawling that you can spend your entire time not going anywhere near the bits that are being done up. The pool is huge, and there are two private beaches. There is a lot of great outdoor space, and you are in a brilliant location right opposite the US embassy. There are about two restaurants, a nice outdoors bar, a spa, a little shop... And so much space outsides with really great areas for resting on the beach. Also there is strong security, so the beach really is completely private, and the entire premises is very secure.

The staff are incredibly kind and keen to help - they've given me free reign of an empty conference room with air conditioning and a great view of the sea to work in during weekends, and the hotel is kept beautifully clean, with cleaners doing your room each day. The pool is swept every morning. The rooms are in pretty good condition, not quite 4 or 5*, but definitely above 2*!. I have cable in my room with channels in several different languages, a good shower with warm (not hot) water and a very comfortable bed. Yes, there are some mosquitoes - but what do you expect if you sit outside at dusk in West Africa?! There are excellent mosquito nets set up in my room, and I have not been bitten once at night.

I have travelled extensively throughout Africa over the last four years, and this is a really great hotel, I can assure you.

Negatives:

The restaurant is expensive, about $33 just for the buffet. However, if you eat at the bar, which is literally next to the restaurant, you will instead be paying about $7-10 for enormous fresh salads with lots of fruit and veg, and fresh fish. So, my advice would be to ignore the restaurant unless you want to pay high prices - the food is really good though. The breakfast buffet is so good.

The wifi in the bedrooms is somewhat temperamental. I have it about 50% of the time, but there is wifi throughout the rest of the hotel.

Its a very popular hotel on the weekends, hosting lots of things like parties, weddings, conferences, so the weekends are very busy with lots of loud, LOUD music. However, if you really need quiet space, the hotel is so big that you will always find somewhere to go where you can hear it less.

The air-con in my room works, but is not that strong.

There is no fitness centre, but you can go jogging or swim in the big pool if you want to exercise.

I would recommend this hotel for sure, and am delighted that I will be spending my time in Dakar staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmmacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I would advise travellers to avoid this place like the plague. In order to reach my room I had to walk through an unlit building site, which felt extremely insecure. The rooms were old, musty, and were full of mosquitos. There was no wifi in the rooms, which makes it an extremely poor choice for the business traveller.

I live in Sub-Saharan Africa, and travel extensively in underdeveloped areas, so do not scare easily when it comes to low standards of accommodation. However, for the amount charged, this place is a joke. There are extensive renovations being undertaken, but no mention was made on the website. The photos must have been taken several years (perhaps even decades) ago. Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London_Back_pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dakar hotels

Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is the first bad review I've ever written on TripAdvisor, but was "inspired" to do so when I learned that my sister was just recommended to stay here on business when she travels to Dakar next week. I probably owed this negative review to my traveling compadres months ago!

Without hesitation, I implore you to look elsewhere for your stay in Dakar. This was easily the worst hotel I've ever stayed in abroad for work (or pleasure) in all of my developing country experience. I was there on business in 2011 and had an extraordinarily bad experience with deceptive and useless staff, dirty rooms with no amenities whatsoever, unpleasant surroundings, construction... the list goes on. Their website is egregiously deceptive, as other reviewers have mentioned - there is no business center whatsoever and no wifi anywhere in the hotel but for the small lobby which is filled with malarial misquotes (without exaggeration, 4 of my colleagues were infected with malaria while staying there). There are no amenities in the rooms themselves and reports of no mosquito nets on some of my colleague's rooms. Phones in the rooms did not work the majority of the time and the hotel foods was poor quality and overpriced. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: There are no "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyJo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

While this is supposedly a luxury hotel, there are surprisingly few comforts including limited "warm" water. While the beach front is beautiful as are the grounds surrounding the hotel, the rooms are awful. Moldy and mildewy old bed linens that will cause people suffering from allergies to really suffer! Limited "warm" water, unreliable internet connectivity, and helpless staff. Sorry to say, this hotel is not worth 1/4 the price paid. Pluses include nice fruit and pastries at the overpriced breakfast buffet and mosquito nets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Room were very authentic and artsy. The food was good. there was some construction work but that did not bother me. Over all, I had a positive experience

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed there around 2010...so maybe times have changed.. but when i was there, I had bed bugs in my room, the showers were moldy and dirty and did not always have hot water. the rooms were dark and cold and depressing with little to no sunlight during the day (rooms are on a curve, like the inside of a ship). I checked out a few rooms and was all the same. not to mention roaches in some rooms and wireless only worked in part of the hotel.
I put a painting on my bed and stepped out, when i came back, it was covered in ants. they had to spray the room for bed bugs and mosquitoes (but they did have a bednet which i used). maybe this is normal, but i was much much happier transferring to the novotel, although there you have no authentic feeling for where you are. but i prefer that to bites all over my tummy when i wake up. sorry des almadies... hope you renovate soon cause the location is fantastic. and of course, people were nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sruthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Lodge des Almadies
Le Lodge des Almadies
#18 of 43 in Dakar
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#33 of 43 in Dakar
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#7 of 43 in Dakar
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Madrague Ngor
La Madrague Ngor
#11 of 43 in Dakar
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
1.5 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#9 of 43 in Dakar
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Almadies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Almadies

Property: Hotel des Almadies
Address: La Pointe des Almadies | BP 3236, Dakar, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Almadies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing