We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
St. George's, Grenada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice decor but I found it noisy.Really enjoyed the restaurant and breakfast on the roof terrace may be would not stay in the hotel but would go to the restaurant The staff were helpful but could not get internet to work in my room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    48
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
23
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

i am very happy to khow hotel djoloff and mamadou the staff is so good spécially mamadou at the front desk i like this hotel mamadou help me for chosing place and he help me for the language
thats the good hote i am telling you
the restaurant is very good the room is very clean if i come back to dakar i go to hotel djoloff
if you need some information to dakar talk mamadou
i love djoloff is fantastique hotel

Room Tip: les chambres coté sud sont plus calme bref tout est bon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie louise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hidden gem, close to the city centre, was perfect for our short stay in Dakar. Sitting on the secluded roof terrace garden, having breakfast with views across the fishing boats was an unexpected bonus for city hotel. A wonderful experience, we were pampered by attentive and ever enthusiastic staff, who couldn't do enough to help us. The hotel was well positioned to enjoy plenty of live Senegalese music at the close-by clubs. Drinks with spiced olives watching the sun set, followed by an excellent freshly prepared dinner was very special - accompanied by a 'Dakar Moon'.
I can't recommend this very special place enough.

Room Tip: For added pleasure and the luxury of extra space it's worth paying the small extra premium for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and found the staff all do helpful- they even let us use a room and shower before our flight after we had checked out. The food on the roof terrace is great and our rates inc breakfast!
Would def recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

good about this place. Facilities - top notch, location - great, rooftop bar and restaurant couldn't have had a better vibe or food (although some music would have been a good addition). But the clincher was the staff - AMAZING. A relatively young group - all were incredibly friendly, gracious, accommodating - and really worked to make my stay in Dakar a great one. My gratitude to each of them. Also, if you need a tour guide - get it through this hotel - Mamadou showed me around Dakar and beyond, and would not have gone with another. Thanks, Hotel Le Djoloff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDUBS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Was here for about a week and enjoyed every single minute of it! The staff are great and very helpful, my French is very basic but staff are patient and will go out of their way to make you comfortable and your stay enjoyable. Momoudu was particularly a blast and took me on a personal tour of downtown Senegal and several monuments.

Location is great, not on the sea but thats just a couple minutes walk and you can watch the local fishermen bringing in and displaying for sale the catch of the day. You can also catch a glimpse of real boat making in progress. Another 10 minute walk and you can visit a small tourist market. Note, the sales guys in the markets are friendly but quite aggressive. Make sure you bargain!! Whatever the price, offer 20% of what they're asking.

Back to the hotel! The most intriguing for me was the transparent landing on the staircase, brilliant idea, the illusion of 'no floor' threw me back a couple times. The rooms are real cozy, elegant and bathrooms clean. The rooftop restaurant is brilliant and you can enjoy watching life in the corniche go by whilst enjoying the great meals or exquisite tapas, the curry d'aubergines were my favorite! Gotta get that receipe. The restaurant staff are on hand with recommendations but all my meals were off the menu and gosh just great?

I can't imagine being better treated in Senegal. This is the best place to be! If you're new in Senegal get Jeanjacques or Mamoudu to give you tips on moving around town. There's no pool, Gym, garden or grounds but it's right in bustling corniche area and the neighbors are warm.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor with a view of the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Djoloff for almost two weeks during a month-long trip to Senegal. The staff is sooo friendly and helpful, especially Mamadou at the front desk. Madame Ferrie, who runs the restaurant at the Djoloff, really made our stay special and the kitchen staff worked hard to accommodate our needs. They even made special cakes for us for our goodbye dinner. We stayed in many hotels in different cities around Senegal but the Djoloff was, by far, my favorite. The bathrooms were modern and the hotel even had cable tv.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and it was a loooong walk up three flights of a circular staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
0.4 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
5.4 mi away
La Villa 126
La Villa 126
#3 of 43 in Dakar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#7 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#5 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Residence Dakar
La Residence Dakar
#6 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Djoloff Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Djoloff Boutique Hotel

Property: The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
Address: 7 Rue Nani | Fann Hock Place Jardin public, Dakar, Senegal (Formerly Hotel Le Djoloff)
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Djoloff Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Jovago.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Djoloff Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing