We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrou-Bi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Terrou-Bi
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

our first trip to Senegal and this hotel feels very comfortable. Beautiful grounds, very helpful staff. the only problem is I dont speak french...the waiters and staff try their best and afterall, I am in their country. the rooms are well appointed, the beds are very firm. They allowed us to check in at 8am the day of our arrival for which I was very grateful. at the private beach there were at least 6 men working to ensure i had towels, water, etc, and they are forever cleaning and grooming the sand!
As an american i felt very safe and welcomed!

Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Camille Coulibeuf, Marketing Director at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at the Terrou-Bi Hotel and for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor !
Terroubi provides English courses to its Teams in direct relationship with customers.
We are glad that you enjoyed our services and we truly hope to see you back in a not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    112
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
38
46
19
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonanjo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have read great reviews about Terrou-Bi and when recently I found few hours to spare in Dakar, decided to see if their service would match the talk.

It sure did.

Came in for a dinner with a dear friend and who could speak French. We got swarmed by different waiters eager to make us comfortable as much as we wanted. Too bad it was a raining evening so terrace was simply out of it.

The meal was wonderful and even when my card was misbehaving, they were sympathetic. Of course I finally paid ;-).

I'm going to stay at Terrou-Bi next time in Dakar which should be very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Marketing Director at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you to the Terrou-Bi Hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thank you very much for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor!
We hope you will have the opportunity to experience our hotel during you next trip. Christmas season is a wonderful occasion to enjoy the lights and decorations not to mention the sun and the beach.

Sincerely yours,

Camille Coulibeuf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Terrou-Bi is a signature hotel of note! From the ambience of the hotel, to the very attentive staff to the very good food to the facilities on offer... I travel to Senegal several times per year and this Hotel gives me the 'home away from home' feel. The management and staff pay extreme attention to detail for their guests... Well done!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 02Slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Marketing Director at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Terrou-Bi Hotel for your stay in Dakar and for taking time to share such detailed and nice feedbacks with other travelers.
I am really glad to read that you had a very nice time with us and you enjoyed the quality of our services.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at your Senegal’s home : the Terrou-Bi Hotel.

Camille Coulibeuf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This five star hotel is a real treat. Although I was here for work, it was difficult not to feel on holiday given the location and ambiance of this place. The hotel has a private swimming beach, adjacent a large swimming pool, a marina and beach front restaurant called La Terrace with a wide variety of well prepared dishes. An upstairs bar and sea-view deck is a great place to unwind at the end of the day.The rooms are very spacious with reliable WiFi, bar fridge and tastefully decorated. The staff are very helpful and there's a good quality breakfast buffet. It is also worth walking down the coast past the funfair to the seafood market. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a sea-view or a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear client,

We are happy that you took time to leave such a great review following your recent stay with us at The Terrou-Bi Hotel.
Thank you for this warm recommendation.
We are glad to met your expectations in all areas of our services and in the facilities we provide.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Terrou-Bi Hotel.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have not yet stayed at the Terrou -Bi, but was lucky enough to have spent a couple evening dining or having drinks on the Terrace. What an amazing place......for sure one of the nicest properties I have been to in my travels. The staff was wonderful, entertainment amazing and the grounds were nothing short of spectacular! I look forward to staying there on my return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori11lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thanks for your warmful comment. The Terrasse Staff is proud to make you enjoy pleasant moments.
We hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy our hotel next time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Dakar is a fascinating city with real poverty. The Terrou-bi is a great place to stay, reassuringly giving visitors the quality stay that one would expect in a developed country. The dining was great. The rooms of great quality. I had no problems and found the staff very helpful. It was wonderful to enjoy a swim in the ocean within the confines and security of the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very positive review which keep and consolidate our reputation ! Moreover this is the kind of review that motivates us to do ever more, in order to anticipate your expectations.
Looking forward to your next visit in the Terrou-Bi Hotel*****.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Terrou Bi is rated as a 5 Star property and meets that standard. The staff was great and friendly. You have several restaurant choices throughout the property. It comes complete with a secluded swimming beach / sunning beach. The property is secured, gated, and appears safe and well maintained. The swimming pool is fabulous and well managed.

You can get local SIM cards and "Orange refills" at the front desk. There's even an ATM in the lobby so you can draw local currency at the best rate. The rooms were spacious and quite comfortable.
The wireless internet is well situated throughout the property. You can also connect to a wired service in your room as well. The speed was about 6 Mbps DL and .5 Mbps UL, which is better than I've experienced elsewhere in the area. You authorize your device(s) once and you are set for the duration of your stay, which is a far better system than most hotels where you have the daily re-authorization routine with which to contend.

Below photos are from the hotel and surrounding property. There are many from the colorful fish market about 1/2 mile down the street. You should make a point of going there. If you are unfamiliar with Dakar, here is a link to several sets of photos of the area: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevebfotos/sets

I'd highly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Terrou-Bi Hotel*****. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the service of our team so much.
Our team’s passion shines through in their service delivery, and it is purely through their hard work and efforts that we maintain such a favourable position on Tripadvisor.
Next time try the new Côte Ouest Food & Bar, it offers an amazing view on Madeleine Islands and an exceptional food.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
2.8 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#6 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#9 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Demeure
La Demeure
#8 of 43 in Dakar
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
6.1 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#24 of 43 in Dakar
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Pullman Dakar Teranga
#15 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrou-Bi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrou-Bi

Property: Terrou-Bi
Address: Boulevard Martin Luther King, Dakar 1179 , Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#3 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terrou-Bi 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrou-bi hotel is a luxury hotel with a private beach, warmed pool, 3 restaurants & bars inlcuding a gourmet restaurant. This hotel is perfectly fit for your professional meetings & events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Terrou-Bi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrou-Bi Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing