We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with all amenities on one location”
Review of Terrou-Bi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Terrou-Bi
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel with all amenities on one location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Terrou Bi is rated as a 5 Star property and meets that standard. The staff was great and friendly. You have several restaurant choices throughout the property. It comes complete with a secluded swimming beach / sunning beach. The property is secured, gated, and appears safe and well maintained. The swimming pool is fabulous and well managed.

You can get local SIM cards and "Orange refills" at the front desk. There's even an ATM in the lobby so you can draw local currency at the best rate. The rooms were spacious and quite comfortable.
The wireless internet is well situated throughout the property. You can also connect to a wired service in your room as well. The speed was about 6 Mbps DL and .5 Mbps UL, which is better than I've experienced elsewhere in the area. You authorize your device(s) once and you are set for the duration of your stay, which is a far better system than most hotels where you have the daily re-authorization routine with which to contend.

Below photos are from the hotel and surrounding property. There are many from the colorful fish market about 1/2 mile down the street. You should make a point of going there. If you are unfamiliar with Dakar, here is a link to several sets of photos of the area: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevebfotos/sets

I'd highly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Terrou-Bi Hotel*****. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the service of our team so much.
Our team’s passion shines through in their service delivery, and it is purely through their hard work and efforts that we maintain such a favourable position on Tripadvisor.
Next time try the new Côte Ouest Food & Bar, it offers an amazing view on Madeleine Islands and an exceptional food.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    152
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
53
60
22
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Terrou Bi is a great hotel. The entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. If you are in Dakar and looking for an all-in-one type hotel, this is it. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the private beach is quite nice. If I eat at the hotel, I usually choose the Casino restaurant instead of the others in the Terrou Bi as it is reasonably priced and has great food (try their Carbonara)! The rooms are spacious and the internet is free (I would bring a CAT5 cable to plug directly into the wall instead using the wifi). Oh and they leave you a Ferrero Rocher on your pillow each night. ;)

Room Tip: Avoid bottom floor as you will likely not be able to lock your patio door. Mine on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you to took the time to leave such a great review following your recent stay with us at The Terrou-Bi Hotel*****.
We are glad to be up to your expectations.
we already passed on your kind words to the Terrou-Bi team.
May I suggest you to try the Terrasse Restaurant which offers a beautiful ocean view and provide great food for the same kind of prices.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Terrou-Bi Hotel*****.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Out standing quality hotel. Nice room. Three restaurants available. Nice bars. Swimming pool and private beach.
Not sure about the activities that may qualify it as a ressort but there is a spa & fitness and you are on the beach.
Every personnel member was efficient and helpful. My only complain would have been for the breakfast which was standard comparing to the hotel / restaurants quality.
Bunch of taxis outside waiting to drive you to town (dont forget to negociate ..).
First trip to Senegal, now Terrou-Bi will be my only choice there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psiklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services at Terrou-Bi Hotel.
Your comment has been noted and will be duly investigated by the catering team.
An expansion of the hotel (with a spa, a larger fitness center) is provided, so we look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We organised a conference at the Terrou-Bi hotel last week and we were pleasantly surprised by the facilities and service offered: rooms are well equipped and a free wireless internet connection was provided to all participants. The buffet at the restaurant was also really good, and there is a private beach just in front of the terrace to take advantage of the sun and the sea. I will definitely come back if I go to Dakar again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Terrou-Bi Hotel***** and for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor !
We are glad to be part of the well being of your conference and that you enjoyed our business and catering services.
We truly hope to see you back in the near future, our private bay is waiting for you.
Best regards.

Terrou-Bi : The ally of your affairs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent hotel, service a little bit slow but friendly. Food ok, rooms, swimming pool very good. It feels like a resort , very relaxing but it is also very close to the city. Very nice terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_g82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your very positive review !
Looking forward to your next visit in the Terrou-Bi Hotel*****, we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went recently to the newly opened beach deck for a private function and subsequently for a drink and meal at the new Bar Lounge "Le Cote Ouest" from the hotel. Both were wonderful in terms of ambience and quality. The food was outstanding and the service really good. Certainly a place to visit wether you live in Dakar or if you're visiting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SigInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We invented the Côte Ouest Food and Bar to offer a piece of heaven.
So we thank you for pointing it out in your feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back to Terrou-Bi Hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Terrou-Bi in February. The food is good, the rooms are large and clean, standard corporate design, most of the staff are great ... but there is a taint of French-style attitude/arrogance. The reception is not very smiley, and as the only person who went out to the beach later in the day, I got no service whatsoever, hauled my own lounger out to the water and was subtly encouraged by lurking staff to pack it up and call it a day. The beach is probably the best part of the hotel, and what sets it apart from the Radisson, where there is no beach at all. But the Radisson is much more chic, more design, classier and more international; the pool area there is fabulous. The Terrou-Bi's pool is a bit homely, and the immediate surroundings are more downmarket. I think a few more mosquitoes too; I spent part of the evening counting them :-) But all in all, a very nice hotel for a reasonable price, especially by African standards. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMMMIIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terroubi, Direction Marketing at Terrou-Bi, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Terrou-Bi Hotel***** for your stay in Dakar and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We took good note of all your comments and we forwarded them to the concerned services in order to avoid such incident again.
Looking forward to your next visit in the Terrou-Bi Hotel*****, we send our best regards.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
2.7 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#15 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#5 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Villa 126
La Villa 126
#4 of 43 in Dakar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrou-Bi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrou-Bi

Property: Terrou-Bi
Address: Boulevard Martin Luther King, Dakar 1179 , Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dakar
#3 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terrou-Bi 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrou-bi hotel is a luxury hotel with a private beach, warmed pool, 3 restaurants & bars inlcuding a gourmet restaurant. This hotel is perfectly fit for your professional meetings & events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrou-Bi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrou-Bi Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing