We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hotel in Dakar by far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The moment you walk in the lobby and look at the view you know you will never want to leave. Ideal for business as well as for tourist this is the best place in Dakar. It has all the facilities you need, amazing breakfast, wonderful infinity pool with view of the sea, a nice lounge area for late night drinks, an amazing japanese restaurant on location and good sized rooms. The staff are courteous, polite and very attentionate making this a true 5 star experience. The shopping mall next door allows to shop for some basics and just walk back to the hotel.
Its location is also very good as you avoid most of the rush traffic and are able to get to/from airport in about 20minutes and anywhere around town quickly.

Room Tip: take sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMEG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear DMEG86,
It is rewarding to read on Tripadvisor your nice comments about the hotel, the facilities offered and the staff. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator for our staff; we will share it with all staff members. We would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Dakar. We look very much forward to seeing you back again in Dakar soon.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 758 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent hotel with amazing location, exceptional service. Courteous employees, variety of food choices. Hotel exceeds expectations....really scenic while you sip a cocktail and watch the dolphins...feels like you are in a sanctuary. Sea plaza is a great location and in close proximity to other areas. Hotel even has the mall attached to it for all the shopaholics

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Tammy G,
Thank you very much for your compliments on Tripadvisor and we are very pleased that you chose Radisson Blu Hotel for your stay in Dakar. We have shared your nice comments with our staff and they were very proud and very happy to have had the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcome you back for another great experience.
With best regards,
Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Radisson Blu for a weekend. The rooms and service are good (do not live up to a 5 star standard, but take into account that you're still in a country with lot of limitations), food is excelent, the pool is magnificent and has an excelent bar. Good option, but pricey one.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fseverinocv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Fseverinocv,
We are delighted to know that you had an excellent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and appreciated the food and the Pool Bar service. We thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you both back for another great experience.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A nice Hotel compared to other Hotels in Dakar. Rooms are comfortable and you get a goods night sleep. The housekeeping department needs to start looking after the rooms as the grouting on the marble in the shower are showing signs of mould growth.
Breakfast is quite good and a good selection of fresh fruits and cereals are available together with the usual egg station. The team are friendly and welcoming. Please please address the internet as this is most important to your business guests. The present internet connectivity is terrible.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear William C,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your valuable comments have been noted and discussed with the team. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet, this has been discussed with the local supplier who has had some problems.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This well situated hotel, close to but not caught up in the (much cleaned-up) downtown zone of the city is attractively located on the sea. Rooms provide everything one might hope for - hot water, modern amenities, a good range of TV channels. The staff is helpful and the breakfast excellent. As well, the hotel pool is an attractive one. For West Africa all of this is near-miraculous. There were some small glitches, but overall the experience was excellent, not least because staff worked hard to resolve those small problems and were accommodating in extending my room without extra charge until 4 PM.

Room Tip: Sea view not necessary. The other rooms are fine, so sea view hardly worth a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Frequenttraveller076,
We are delighted to know that you had an excellent experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and that the staff was helpful to you when needed. We thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadivsor. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon for another excellent stay.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at the Radisson Blu for two weeks while on business. My first time in Africa, it went beyond my expectations. It was great to be able to relax by the pool after a long day of meetings - especially when there was live music nightly. Yes, it is a little pricey, but the hotel caters to Westerners and business travelers whose per diem rates are high as well.

I would specifically like to commend both the front desk staff, as well as the airport shuttle driver. When I realized I had left important documents in my room safe after already arriving at the airport, the driver, who didn't speak English, used his cell phone to call the hotel for me so I could explain the situation. When the driver found out what had happened, he rushed me back to the hotel, where a woman was waiting for me at the entrance with a copy of my room key. The driver waited and then took me back to the airport (even though the next shuttle wasn't scheduled to leave for another hour) and escorted me right to the departures door. I was so impressed by the service and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear kfarrin,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar. It’s rewarding to read your nice comments shared on Tripadvisor. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff and we would like to expression our appreciation.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dakar.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is not a Four Seasons hotel, so don't expect it to be. What this is is a very good hotel, located in Dakar, Senegal. The staff and management do an outstanding job to make your stay the best possible under the existing situation.
How could anyone keep the Sahara dust out of a pool, during February and March on the edge of the Atlantic ocean? We were expecting clear air on our return to Palestine, but found the same dust storms in Ramallah. The pool water is filtered and the pool bottom is vacuumed every day.
Inexpensive food and beverage can be found outside of the hotel, try the Sky Mall or one of the many restaurants within a 15 minute taxi ride. The food and beverages in the hotel are of very high quality and served quickly by well trained employees. The common language is French; but English, Spanish and Arabic can be used.
It's hard to have a better experience than dinner around the pool with good, live music, stars in the night sky and warm breezes off the ocean.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before 22:00 ask for a garden room. Rooms with a gorgeous sea view also have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Richard R,
Thank you very much for sharing on Tripadvisor this nice feedback on your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar. We are most appreciative of all your kind comments and delighted to know that we met your expectations and even more. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#11 of 43 in Dakar
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
273 reviews
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#35 of 43 in Dakar
364 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $205 - $2,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing