We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A nice Hotel compared to other Hotels in Dakar. Rooms are comfortable and you get a goods night sleep. The housekeeping department needs to start looking after the rooms as the grouting on the marble in the shower are showing signs of mould growth.
Breakfast is quite good and a good selection of fresh fruits and cereals are available together with the usual egg station. The team are friendly and welcoming. Please please address the internet as this is most important to your business guests. The present internet connectivity is terrible.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear William C,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your valuable comments have been noted and discussed with the team. We apologize for the inconvenience with the internet, this has been discussed with the local supplier who has had some problems.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 738 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This well situated hotel, close to but not caught up in the (much cleaned-up) downtown zone of the city is attractively located on the sea. Rooms provide everything one might hope for - hot water, modern amenities, a good range of TV channels. The staff is helpful and the breakfast excellent. As well, the hotel pool is an attractive one. For West Africa all of this is near-miraculous. There were some small glitches, but overall the experience was excellent, not least because staff worked hard to resolve those small problems and were accommodating in extending my room without extra charge until 4 PM.

Room Tip: Sea view not necessary. The other rooms are fine, so sea view hardly worth a premium.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Frequenttraveller076,
We are delighted to know that you had an excellent experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and that the staff was helpful to you when needed. We thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadivsor. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon for another excellent stay.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at the Radisson Blu for two weeks while on business. My first time in Africa, it went beyond my expectations. It was great to be able to relax by the pool after a long day of meetings - especially when there was live music nightly. Yes, it is a little pricey, but the hotel caters to Westerners and business travelers whose per diem rates are high as well.

I would specifically like to commend both the front desk staff, as well as the airport shuttle driver. When I realized I had left important documents in my room safe after already arriving at the airport, the driver, who didn't speak English, used his cell phone to call the hotel for me so I could explain the situation. When the driver found out what had happened, he rushed me back to the hotel, where a woman was waiting for me at the entrance with a copy of my room key. The driver waited and then took me back to the airport (even though the next shuttle wasn't scheduled to leave for another hour) and escorted me right to the departures door. I was so impressed by the service and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear kfarrin,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar. It’s rewarding to read your nice comments shared on Tripadvisor. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff and we would like to expression our appreciation.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dakar.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is not a Four Seasons hotel, so don't expect it to be. What this is is a very good hotel, located in Dakar, Senegal. The staff and management do an outstanding job to make your stay the best possible under the existing situation.
How could anyone keep the Sahara dust out of a pool, during February and March on the edge of the Atlantic ocean? We were expecting clear air on our return to Palestine, but found the same dust storms in Ramallah. The pool water is filtered and the pool bottom is vacuumed every day.
Inexpensive food and beverage can be found outside of the hotel, try the Sky Mall or one of the many restaurants within a 15 minute taxi ride. The food and beverages in the hotel are of very high quality and served quickly by well trained employees. The common language is French; but English, Spanish and Arabic can be used.
It's hard to have a better experience than dinner around the pool with good, live music, stars in the night sky and warm breezes off the ocean.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before 22:00 ask for a garden room. Rooms with a gorgeous sea view also have l...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Richard R,
Thank you very much for sharing on Tripadvisor this nice feedback on your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar. We are most appreciative of all your kind comments and delighted to know that we met your expectations and even more. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is the third time I am staying at the Radisson Blu, more of custom then choice. The pool is not clean (algae), food and beverage is completely overpriced, and I was picked up from the airport one hour late an experienced erratic internet access during my stay. Also, be aware that the breakfast is 30 USD.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Anders J,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the incident at the airport. Your constructive comments have been shared with the management team.
For the swimming pool, we can assure you that it’s cleaned and checked for chemicals every morning. We keep an updated report on the cleanliness and the quality of the water.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon for you to experience the true hospitality of the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was very happy at the Radisson Blu where I staid for six nights, the first four of which on business.

The service was friendly and responsive, if at times a bit slow, especially in the terrace bar. Breakfast left nothing to be desired as far as I am concerned, including decent espresso to get the day started. I had good food both in the restaurant and the bar on several occasions. Wifi was slow and a bit unreliable in my room (109).

Originally I had planned to change hotels and get closer to the centre after a few days but could not get myself to move from this oasis of calm and luxury. The great view on the sea helps too…

Beware that cab drivers will ask a significant mark-up if they pick you up here. Tough negotiation is required.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Zwenn,
We are delighted to know that you felt in an oasis of calm and luxury at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are checking with the local supplier to see what happens with the internet.
We look very much forward to welcome you back for a new experience and we promise to make it memorable.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We came late. But we have been welcomed warmly.
Good beds, large sized rooms, a balcony, a great view and a rain shower. The big swimming pool was nice. Unfortunately no mini bar. Room service was poor.
Nevertheless, we were happy to find an ok to good hotel in Dakar. Modern & easy.

Room Tip: Bring your own drinks.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Marc B,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear about the mini bar and the Room service. I am sorry, you probably overlooked it, every room offers the service of a mini bar. We are very pleased to know that you find our hotel modern and comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back very soon.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
444 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#12 of 43 in Dakar
510 reviews
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#34 of 43 in Dakar
358 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $140 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing