We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance on the West African Coastline.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The design of this hotel is off the roof . its the only hotel I know of where the reception is on the top floor, with a breathtaking view of the Atlantic.
The food is superb,though quite pricy as with most francophone countries, great pizzas .
The rooms very beautifully done, especially the business class rooms, great view of endless ocean. On the downside , though you can walk right out to the beach from a ground floor room, it's too rocky and the ocean too rough for the average swimmer. However there's a nice public beach within walking distance that's more swimmer friendly.
The staff are very polite, eager to help, though they could do with more English speaking staff. You do get to practice your French though.
Adjacent to the hotel is a beautiful shopping complex with plenty of designer shops, food court, pubs and even a bowling club.
Overall a lovely place, too bad my stay was too short. Happy holidays!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter, with excellent view of the Atlantic .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gitari43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Gitari43,
Thank you very much for your nice review regarding your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel design and services and took advantage of the adjacent shopping mall.
An English training program dedicated to the employees and particularly to the operational staff is ongoing to enable them to always better serve our guests.
We look very much forward to welcome you back very soon for a longer stay with us.
With best regards,
Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 775 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

A very nice comfortable safe place to stay - good for the business traveller - good internet and reliable power, plus a lot of other business travelers means networking and meeting up with contacts is easy. The rooms with the ocean view are much nicer than the other side of the building - try booking early, directly through the hotel and using a Carlson Club member number and you may get an upgrade as they don't always manage to sell them (as they are premium priced). They are still extending the building (as at May 2013) but there is no disturbance if you are out during the working day. The mall next door is very handy - and includes a large grocery store and a couple of cash machines. Great pool (fine for supervised little kids as there is a big shallow portion) but no beach as the sea front had to be protected with huge concrete blocks to prevent erosion and waves washing onto the property.

Room Tip: See above... - ground floor ocean view rooms also give you direct access to the garden which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_M006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Here on business for several months and enjoying the Radisson Blu. The rooms are comfortable, huge pool, good gym, beautiful panorama and four restaurants make for a comfortable stay. Staff are exceptionally friendly which makes you feel very at home.
Only draw back is internet - unless you are lucky enough to be in the 20% of rooms that has a Wifi booster outside the door, you will get NO internet in your room - most work is done perched on the toilet or crouched by the door trying to find a signal. The one time I have been lucky enough to get internet in my room, I was blocked out of it as you can only use a limited number of devices on it at once (if you travel with laptop, phones, ipads, kindles, forget it!). And forget asking for help on this issue - staff don't give a monkey's

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a sea view. Ask for a room on the spa side to avoid the building works on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Breathtaking hotel, with lovely views of the Atlantic. Comfortable and practical room with everything i needed at close hand. The management provided some nice touches - nuts, dried fruit, and jars of local produce to enjoy. I very much enjoyed my poolside lunch. Would come back with my family for sure!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Radisson is THE place to network in Dakar on the weekends and sees a lot of high-profile visitors. The hotel design is impeccable and the setting breath-taking. Conveniently, it's also attached to a shopping mall with a good hair salon, supermarket, pharmacy and a bunch of usual western clothing shops. The rooms are clean and functional. Staff vary: the female concierge is very sharp, witty and helpful, but some of the reception staff seemed new and were clearly struggling with basic check-in and check-out procedures. On the whole, staff could be friendlier to weary travelers who don't look like they've spent the GPD of a small country on their outfit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bru b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Bru12345,
Thank you very much for your great comments on the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service that the Shopping Mall connected to the hotel offers.
I am very sorry that the staff didn't live up your expectation as we give great pride in training our staff to the expectation from our clients. During your check in and check out, it is possible it could be a trainee who service you and might not have been up to the experience of a Front Office staff member.
We look forward to welcome you back to demonstrate our true Radisson Blu Hospitality from our staff members.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Radisson Blu is located on the sea. Although one arrives at reception at apparently ground level this is a mirage. The hotel is effectively below this level. We stayed in one of the suites. It wae huge. A nice touch was the outside area which had sun loungers and a dining table. This got very hot in the afternoon as it was in direct sunlight.

Bathroom and all amenities were first class with an elegant French touch. Wi-Fi worked easily in the room and there was a copious supply of water (free). One quibble was the TV signal on certain channels, but this was minor.

Food is excellent. The restaurant and pool bar are located around the infinity pool providing a wonderful ambience.

Wonderful

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear SueKot,
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar and appreciate the quality of the service.
We look very much forward to welcome you back very soon.
With best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A beautiful hotel overlooking the sea but adding a new wing to it's property so our room balcony was only few meters from noise and dust(286). It will definitely be a great place to stay in a year or two.
Service was excellent, friendly. The food was good, the bar near the pool is a great place to meet people or just relax.
It is a pity there is no beach but the infinity pool creates a good alternative.

Room Tip: Take a sea facing room but make sure it is not near the construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Jerome,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar.
We are really very sorry for the noise and the dust. We expect the extension work to be completed before end of this year.
We are pleased to know that you appreciate the quality of the service and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#2 of 43 in Dakar
464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#11 of 43 in Dakar
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#9 of 43 in Dakar
281 reviews
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#34 of 43 in Dakar
373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $210 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing