We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the view of the ocean was spectacular and it seemed like the pool continued into the ocean which gave a visually appealing effect. Breakfast was very good and there was always a choice between eating inside the restaurant and eating outside in fresh air. The staff were friendly too. The hotel is located close to a mall and is dirctly on the Corniche so evening walks were great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    264
    87
    34
    32
See reviews for
38
61
36
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

nice hotel with design decoration. the staff is welcoming and always trying to help you. Food is good at the restaurant and the pool evening is magic. bed is very comfortable and the spa offers an international level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elis897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great hotel. Excellent service. Wonderful breakfast buffet. There is a pool overlooking the ocean and breakfast is served on the patio overlooking the water. The mall next door has a grocery store and spa/gym associated with the hotel. It also has several restaurants.

You can hear the evening flights from the Dakar airport.

Lots of area to run and walk along the shore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africanescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let me start with two things.... this is my first Radisson stay ever, I've been a Marriott Platinum member for more than a decade.

Arrived here in early December 2012, from the outside it looks very nice. The staff was accommodating allowing us to store our luggage for several hours until check in. However, when we did check in (party of 4) it took them more than 40 minutes to retrieve it from storage that was literally twenty feet away behind the counter. We ended up getting it ourselves.
We were told our rooms had been upgraded to ocean view.... two of us had a wonderful view of the construction that was going on. This was very frustrating borderline insulting.
Room 156 was comparable to a Marriott Courtyard but....
1. A/C didn't cool the room - called maintenance three times (over 2 days) - still no results
2. Used hot water pot in the room and blew the circuit breaker both times, maintenance person came the first time after about an hour the second time the same but he took the pot to get me another - THREE HOURS LATER I called and got it about 20 minutes later.
3. No premium TV channels
4. Asked to have staff empty the bar emptied so I could put my stuff in the tiny refrigerator took two phone calls after the second it still took more than two hours

EVERYTHING HERE IS ALL ABOUT $$ AND THE STAFF just doesn't show any sense of urgency to helping guests as everything requires numerous requests. Tried room service and it was VERY overpriced when compared to other places I've stayed and one hamburger that I ordered was almost raw but looked almost burned (requested well done) on the outside showing the grill was turned up VERY high to cook it quickly but not thoroughly showing a lack of experience in the kitchen staff. Got two small bottles of water on first day only they were never replaced like other hotels do. Walls are very thin as i could hear neighbors and the band playing or music from the bar keeping me awake.
I wouldn't stay here again unless there was no other place to stay, the only redeeming thing is there is a mall with a food court and grocery store attached via the first floor of hotel accessible with your room key. There is also a pharmacy there too.

Room Tip: check out the room thoroughly before you unpack - check hot water and if you want a view check that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne sur Gesse, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are a business man then its fine, if not I wouldn't bother.The hotel is partly a building site of which we weren't informed. More uncomfortable is it is placed in the approach flight path of the main airport of Dakar so when eating or sitting by the pool you can read the aircrafts logos and have to stop talking and hope that it doesn't develop engine difficulties. The food is fine but expensive the general areas around the hotel buildings are mostly eating areas with no place to walk. I would also recommend you check your bill with a calculator as we were presented with an overcharge of more then three hundred euros.

Room Tip: Facing the sea you have the problem with the awful band that plays most nights. Plus the A/C noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very modern and nice lobby area. Swimmingpool is really beautiful and sort of looks as it is part of the ocean. Our room and bathroom had good standard (minibar with fridge, coffe/tea maker. Dinner at restaurant was expensive and not so tasty (much better to walk to Sea Plaza 50-100 meters away with many restaurants). There was also no fitness center at the hotel!

Room Tip: Select a room facing ocean on higher floors (to the left of reception, constuction activities in gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very friendly helpful staff, great service even room service, beautiful views. The evening vibe with the live bank in the pool bar area is awesome. Great if you want to socialize. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Spend time in the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bukiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#13 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#5 of 43 in Dakar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#33 of 43 in Dakar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
1.3 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Address: Route de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing