We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant L'Avenue not worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to the restaurant of the Radisson Blue to spoil ourselves with what we believed would be a 5-star dinner. We shared a started, which was rather heavy on the salt and for mains we had the leg of lamb, which was great and the Casamance King Prawns. The latter were a disaster. Dry and overly expensive for what was presented we were very disappointed. When asked how we liked our dinner we praised the lamb, but gave honest feedback for the prawns. This wasn't even acknowledged. After parting with a 5-star bill payment we were even more disappointed, when the prawns resulted in a night in the bathroom !
Very disappointing and certainly not what one would expect in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SigInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJorgensen, Directeur général at Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

SigDakar,
Thank you very much for your visit to "L’Avenue Restaurant" at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar!
I am really sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant.
I would very much appreciate, if you ever visit the hotel again, that you ask for me so that I can personally discuss with you.
Best regards,

Jorgen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 766 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Arrived around 3 am at the Radission Blu. Surprised to note the Reception made us wait for about 30 minutes. We booked 2 rooms on half board but the hotel only had 1 on their records (1st mistake).
My room was located on the wing right next to the building site as the hotel is building an extension with some more rooms. There was no noise to disturb me in the evening but the balcony sliding door did not work at all ! During the 2 nights of our stay each time I wanted to open the balcony door, I had to call someone to have it open and again when I wanted it closed for the night. Food was excellent and the staff could not have been nicer. The garden/beach area was fantastically beautiful. On the evening before departure we settlled our bill. The next morning at 9 am and just before we were picked up to continue our trip in Senegal, we asked again at the Reception if all was in order and paid for. Yes was the answer. When we were just about to enter our transfer car, someone came running from the Reception saying we had to pay our bill (2nd mistake) ! We were amazed with so much inefficiency from the Reception and after checking the matter, they "thought" we had to pay for the halfboard meals...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisiosAlbufeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If this hotel were a self-described four star, it would be Very Good. Plusses are the oceanside view, the pool, and the restaurant food; minuses are the noise, aspects of the room, and uncontrolled poolside smoking. Overall, worth it if you're getting a good rate and need to be near the airport.

Wifi was excellent and free. My check-in was straightforward, but a companions was sent to an occupied room. Standard rooms are a modest size, grey and white, with inadequate lighting (apart from the thermostat's LED light, which shines a piercing blue, I mean Blu. Had to cover it to sleep). The window opens, which is a big plus, but mosquitoes flock in as there's no flyscreen.

The room has a comfortable bed, nice sheets, fluffy pillows, coffee- and tea-making supplies, and an iron. Sunday at 9 a.m. a window-washer appeared, balancing on the narrow ledge and wielding a squeaky squeegee. Good morning!

I had asked for a quiet room. The joke was on me: Radisson Blu sits directly in the flight path, with a cluster of flights around midnight, resuming around 0430. Proximity to the airport is useful to avoid workday traffic, but less important at the weekend.

Buffet breakfast and lunch in the main restaurant were excellent (I was on a corporate, all-inclusive rate). But in the room, ants hovered around the plastic-wrapped almond clusters and chocolate balls; staff left the tray even after the ants had penetrated the plastic defences and swarmed the treats. Two days later, a fresh tray was ant-infested even before I opened it. Radisson: best stick to the complimentary fruit plate.

At the pool, loungers are lined up shoulder-to-shoulder and if your neighbours are smoking, tant pis (too bad)! The pool guy will tick you off sharply if you try to take two towels - that wasn't so nice. The infinity pool itself is lovely, however, as is the view of the Atlantic, the lighthouse, and the weirdly Stalinist USD 27 million African Renaissance Monument.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsQuince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my first time in Senegal, I wasn't expecting too much and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was beautiful and clean, breakfasts were good, rooms a decent size and the views were quite spectacular. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly (in saying that, I found the Senegalese to be very friendly, hospitable in general. All in all, a very pleasant business trip and hotel stay. My only negative was that the spa was a disaster. In fairness, I think it is independent of the hotel (just affiliated to it by virtue of its location). Pedicure and manicure were sub-standard (manicure lasted about 4 hours)... I stopped the beautician from waxing me as I could see that they were re-using the wax (GROSS)... it was also seriously expensive....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Myself and 4 coworkers made our way to this hotel when we were stranded in Dakar at 2am after missing our connecting flight. This was my first time in a West African country late at night and without a security detail.
The rooms are nice, the views spectacular (if you don't look too closely at the trash at the beach) and service wonderful.
Made to order omelettes at breakfast and fresh (super fresh, as in barely dead) seafood make the onsite restaurant worthwhile. You will be very glad for the large umbrellas over the outside tables. My friend and I were sitting for lunch when we heard a loud 'thud' and saw a small headless fish bounce to the ground beside our table. The birds grab fish from the fishermen's nets and apparently only like the heads. It was highly amusing, we had a great big laugh.
There is also a shopping mall that connects to the hotel, accessible via a door with your room key which is very handy.
If I every have to be in Dakar again, this will be my hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Mel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

from the EAST coast of AFRICA to the WEST coast, after 14 hours of flight, this was a HALLELUYA moment. to die for view, the rooms and its view of the atlantic and the bars and the pool and everything was superb.

The restaurant and my all fav , room service and wifi WAS PAR EXCELLENCE.

NOW this hotel i seriously needed to look for fault but i failed. my first radisson experience, THIS CHAIN HAVE impressed me.!!!!

way to go! i must BRAG of the 17 african countried visited , THIS Hotel is one of the very few, which isnt SPOT ON!

SO all i can do now is PRAY TO ALMIGHTY GOD to grant me another trip to DAKAR, especially RADISSON BLU.

I hope the Radisson Blu is Johannesburg matches up to this one???

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustafaHassanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After many business trips to Africa I came to the Radisson Blu in Dakar with 2 colleagues. Apart maybe from the Le Meridien in Douala it's the best Hotel I've enjoyed on the continent. The pool area is nice, the view excellent. Needless to say anything about the rooms and restaurant, the restaurant offers apart from the usual 'international' food senegalese specialities as well. Being french style don't expect any huge breakfasts, both for lunch and dinner the have a full menu and a bar menu (as Pizza's) as well.

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms offering a sea view would be preferable, but if you're there for work it doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#2 of 43 in Dakar
456 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#10 of 43 in Dakar
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#9 of 43 in Dakar
277 reviews
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#35 of 43 in Dakar
367 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $208 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing