We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH MY WORD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Dakar
Reviewed September 6, 2012

from the EAST coast of AFRICA to the WEST coast, after 14 hours of flight, this was a HALLELUYA moment. to die for view, the rooms and its view of the atlantic and the bars and the pool and everything was superb.

The restaurant and my all fav , room service and wifi WAS PAR EXCELLENCE.

NOW this hotel i seriously needed to look for fault but i failed. my first radisson experience, THIS CHAIN HAVE impressed me.!!!!

way to go! i must BRAG of the 17 african countried visited , THIS Hotel is one of the very few, which isnt SPOT ON!

SO all i can do now is PRAY TO ALMIGHTY GOD to grant me another trip to DAKAR, especially RADISSON BLU.

I hope the Radisson Blu is Johannesburg matches up to this one???

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustafaHassanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 758 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

After many business trips to Africa I came to the Radisson Blu in Dakar with 2 colleagues. Apart maybe from the Le Meridien in Douala it's the best Hotel I've enjoyed on the continent. The pool area is nice, the view excellent. Needless to say anything about the rooms and restaurant, the restaurant offers apart from the usual 'international' food senegalese specialities as well. Being french style don't expect any huge breakfasts, both for lunch and dinner the have a full menu and a bar menu (as Pizza's) as well.

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms offering a sea view would be preferable, but if you're there for work it doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Radisson Dakar.

Upon our arrival we were automatically upgraded due to the status of our affinity card, which was good as we all like to get what is promised specially without even asking.

Service was good throughout.

The room (suite 201) was very nice.

Hotel shuttle was comfortable and good specially considering our excess of luggage.

All was good but a little things I would do to improve.
Sofas should NOT be of cloth and better if they are of leather for hygiene principles. For the same carpets should be to a minimum specially in these hot climates.
Bathroom was good with an excellent shower, but no where near the shower to hang a towel, so we have to walk out of shower wet to get the towel. Water pressure and Shower Box were excellent.
Suites 201/202 were together inside a door which also needed opening. This resulted that the guest in 202 when he came to his room (8 am) had to ring in the common door to get to his room so he woke us up. Suggestion: If 201/202 are not being used by the same family/group then the common door should be left open.

Overall hotel was excellent and service was good, though we only stayed for one night as it was a transit stop, we were happy with what we saw and got.

The adjoining mall was very impressive.

Also as usual I appreciate the FREE WI-FI that should be standard in all 5 star properties considering the $$$ that the properties charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently visited the Pool Bar at the Radisson Blu with a friend. I don't necessarily need to comment on the amazing view as everyone else has already mentioned it. But let me mention it again: it is AMAZING! The pool is infiniti-styled, making it look like it flows directly into the Atlantic Ocean.

The area is well maintained and the decor is stylish, trendy, and perfectly fits the oceanic theme without being conventional. Most interestingly is how quiet and peaceful it is compared to the chaos of the city of Dakar and the Corniche on which it sits.

Aside from all this, while the drink selection is quite large and seemingly fanciful, the two I had were average in taste at best. The wait staff was friendly, but inattentive. My friend spilled some of her drink (a frothy coconut margarita), and not a single one of the three waiters that visited our table throughout our visited cleaned it up; we were never given any napkins with our drinks, or else we of course would've done it our self. This wasn't a big deal nor a showstopper, but something I found peculiar.

Nevertheless, I would definitely return to the Radisson Blu to stay as their public areas looked very nice and welcoming. The pool area is worth a visit in and of itself with spectacular views of coastal Dakar and the Atlantic Ocean!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SirRyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For whatever reason you visit Dakar, the Radison Blu is a breath of fresh air!! Very close to the airport, it stands out as an exceptional hotel in the middle of Dakar - which can be intimidating. The rooms are exceptionally clean and 'shiny' and the whole facility is well designed and laid out. The restaurant food is excellent and the staff friendly and accomodating. The infinity pool is next to the ocean and very attractive. Would recommend for business travelers at any time. Did not have time for the spa or fitness facility - but the internet was free!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapaYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Radisson Blu instantly strikes you as a high end hotel - guards, bellhops, receptionists, and a concierge usher you through the glossy entrance before you even hit the elevators. You have a constant view of the infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic Ocean on the Western side of the hotel, and beautiful people seemingly on an endless vacation lounge about in the various common areas. Staying for work, however, is a surreal experience.
The rooms themselves are large, clean, and very functional, though the lighting is constantly dim, and the thermostat either has the AC blasting or off. A walk-in shower was a welcome sight, but while the sink was pretty, the shallow basin leads to lots of accidental splashing. If the wireless doesn't reach your room, you have the option of plug-in internet instead. A high point for me was free access to the very modern and well-equipped fitness center at the "Buddhattitute spa" next door.
The two downsides were the prices and the perhaps split personality as a vacation resort and business hotel. It costs a good $6 to get coffee at the bar, and don't even ask about the costs of room service. The live jazz quartet poolside is nice if you're sipping a cocktail on the patio, but it's less enjoyable when it loudly fills your room until 11 PM on a daily basis. The connected mall and grocery store were convenient but similarly too expensive. You are otherwise pretty far away from the rest of the city and will have to take cabs to get around (walk out to the street to hail one if you don't want to pay twice as much).
Overall, they treat you well at the Radisson, but the resort atmosphere is not always what you want in a hotel.

Room Tip: The Western side of the hotel has beautiful ocean views, but also loud jazz music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My friends and I checked in en-route to Cape Verde, we were a group of 18 and 90% of us had no rooms, the reception was cold and hostile. No explanation was given as to the reason for our rooms not being ready. It took two hours to get the rooms. At breakfast the next day one stuff member upon requesting for a cup off tea, promptly told me to ''get my own tea". This is supposed to be a five start hotel...Kindly retrain your stuff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dakar hotels
1.3 mi away
Terrou-Bi
Terrou-Bi
#1 of 43 in Dakar
452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dakar Teranga
3.6 mi away
Novotel Dakar
Novotel Dakar
#11 of 43 in Dakar
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Dakar
Ibis Dakar
#8 of 43 in Dakar
274 reviews
4.9 mi away
King Fahd Palace
King Fahd Palace
#35 of 43 in Dakar
364 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yaas Hotel Dakar Almadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza

Address: Avenue de la Corniche Ouest, Dakar 16868, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Dakar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dakar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dakar
#4 Business Hotel in Dakar
Price Range: $205 - $2,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some things you simply must see to believe. The Radisson Blue Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza is a perfect example of this. Located on the tranquil Cape Verde Peninsula, this sophisticated, modern resort boasts an enviable address in the elegant Fann Corniche neighborhood. The 241 guest rooms and fully equipped apartments of this stylish accommodation are characterized by their contemporary design and superb amenities, including individual climate control and Free high-speed, wireless internet. The Dakar Sea Plaza houses 3 on-site dining options and one bar for your enjoyment. Experience the remarkable L'Avenue Restaurant, where chefs are inspired to transform Senegal's rich history of African, Dutch, and French influences into truly unique Mediterranean cuisine. Unwind by the outdoor infinity pool with a refreshing cocktail from the Pool Bar, or sample dishes from the Pool Side Restaurant. Fresh-caught, grilled seafood is sure to please at our new Galuchat restaurant facing the Atlantic Ocean. Savor the explosive flavors of The Little Buddha Dakar, where the eclectic culinary styles of the Pacific Rim come together to create a one-of-a-kind Asian-fusion experience. The hotel's fitness center and spa provide the perfect way to maintain your fitness routine and relax your troubles away. If you find yourself in Dakar on business, the hotel's 12 modern meeting rooms and refined ballroom are perfect for planning a productive conference or stellar gala ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Sea Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dakar Hotel Dakar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing