We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Madrague Ngor
Nearby Hotels
Terrou-Bi(Dakar)
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Dakar(Dakar)
$107
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
23
66
29
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
66
29
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaily menutwo nightsrooms are cleannice hotelngorgoatssunbedsoceanairporttaxiwifi
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 139 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is very pretty. It is quiet and clean. Our room had a huge balcony with a lovely view of the ocean and beach. Due to its location, the opposite side also overlooked the ocean. The water is hot, the towels and linens clean. The room was serviced when we went out, and none of our things were disturbed. The desk e exchanged our currency, and breakfast was included. A great restaurant, Katya, was in walking distance. Very short taxi ride to airport, cost us less than $10. The weather was too chilly for the outdoor pool, but coffee and drinks poolside were still fun.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doc4christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have placed several people into La Madrague, explaining carefully that the location is on the beach close to several nice little restaurants and the canoe to Ngor Island, please don't stay here if you are expecting 4 or 5 star, Dakar is an expensive place to visit, most hotels of a 3 star standard are equivalent to a 2star in other parts of the world. the food is expensive too...although there are many alternatives...a Taxi to town, pay no more than 5000cfa (appr $10) if the driver does not accept, go to the next one, always fix a price before you get into the taxi.
Sometimes I have found that what someone from an English speaking country considers arrogant is the way the person here has been taught to speak english, the Senegalese can be amongst the kindest people in all of Africa, but you will encounter, petty theft and opportunists wherever you travel...so please if you stay at this hotel, just remember it is what it is...a basic tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I went through all the reviews about the Madrague, curious to know what other people thought about it. I do agree with other visitors by saying that the environment is very French and rather arrogant; I also tend to believe that the local employees are subdued (but where are they not??). Also true that people at the reception were unfriendly. Yet there are good things: it is just on the beach and we you don't like the French simply cross the gate and eat grilled fish. The meals at the hotel were good; it is clean; there is a nice swimming pool; my room was ok. I think it is worth the price

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r29c29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Did not get the sense that most of the staff or management was particularly eager to help you (some very friendly exceptions of course), decent restaurant, average breakfast, so-so pool. Not super effectively airconditioned. I think I'd either look for a better bargain or pay the little bit more to upgrade to a nicer experience. Only possibly worthwhile if you are walking to USAID...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caela22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Situated on the channel between mainland Dakar Senegal and the island of Ngor, this French run boutique hotel is a wonderful place to relax and chill oyt.
Sperb room , some with spectacular ea views are situated in a secure compound really on the beach .
Great clean swimming pool and welcoming staff and management, Sylvie, one of the family owners, is a presnece demanding the quality that the place provides, is a guiding light. Food is fresh interesting and greaty vastly focussed on local produce with a French Falir.
Really recommendede to the sealoned traveller who wants an experience to round off the trip to Senedal

Room Tip: Seaview room with air con and balcony
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews