We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much from the outside, but great on the inside”
Review of La Fourchette

La Fourchette
Ranked #3 of 205 Restaurants in Dakar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $47
Cuisines: Asian, French, Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Not much from the outside, but great on the inside”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Two colleagues and I went to La Forchette on the advice of a cab driver when our intended destination turned out to be closed. Seemed like a dodgy neighborhood at night, and the place isn't much from the outside, but looks can be deceiving. Very stylish, modern interior but not in a stuffy or overly-formal way. Other diners were wearing everything from jeans and polos to suits, and all seemed to fit in equally well somehow. The menu was very good, plenty of choices, all seemingly very fresh and expertly prepared. And the price did not match the décor or ambiance at all -- it was café prices for upscale restaurant quality. We went back a couple of times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank UK_Gator_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    129
    43
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ngaparou, Senegal
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“You can't do better than La Fourchette for lunch or dinner in Dakar”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've lived in Dakar for some 8 years and I can report that La Fourchette has consistently remained the best restaurant in town. It's owned and run by Amoude Shahara (who also owns L'Alkimia Restaurant - as well as the best outside catering outfit in Dakar). Amoude's sister, Zienab, manages La Fourchette on a day-to-day basis and is a welcoming, charming, attentive and out-going hostess.
The decor is smart and understatedly elegant and the staff are well trained, professional and friendly. The menu is quite long and diverse as it combines French cuisine with Asian and Mexican dishes, inter alia.
Everything arrives at the table beautifully presented to assure that: "on mange d'abord avec les jeux."
At my meal at La Fourchette last week, I had a sushi/sashimi starter and a chile con carne main course and both were excellent. The deserts are divine - some needing to be ordered at the start of the meal to give the cuisine the necessary preparation time.
The wine-list is good, but relatively restricted in size, with prices of anything decent ranging from about 18'000 CFA for an individual Beaujolais village such as Brouilly on up to about 40-50'000 CFA+ for a decent but fairly recent vintage of claret. More expensive clarets are also available.
Amoude is an innovative restaurateur and changes the restaurant decor and the menu quite regularly and at least once a year - to try to offer his clientele something new and different from the old hackneyed French dishes offered by so many other restaurants in Dakar.
If I have one constructive criticism to offer, it is that the portions [especially of the starters] are too generous and this means that you might not be able to finish your main course - or if you can - you possibly won't have any room for one of those delicious deserts that you might just have already ordered at the start of the meal!!
Having said that, I do just love La Fourchette's dining experience and I'll certainly continue to return regularly - assuming the high standards are maintained.
Alastair J - 13th June 2013.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Who are you?”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having listened to this as the theme song of CSI just before leaving for the second visit it has stuck with in my head as I write this review. It is based on 2 visits in the same week the first for a mid-week meal and the second for Friday night drinks. Mid-week it was not too busy but the service was average (6/8 mains arrived at the same time the rest took another 10 mins). As other reviewers had said the menu is a bit of everything from everywhere and I think the food suffers from it. My lamb with honey was good but unevenly cooked and a little over sweet. My chocolate foudant a dish which requires attention and precise was not fondant (i.e. it was over cooked) and none of my party could rave over the food.
The Friday night was even more bizzare. When we arrived there was a solo violin playing. Not exactly the most exciting of music but then there was an almost instantaneous switch to thumping house music that made conversation impossible.The place become overcrowded and the service at the bar was non-existent I had to repeatedly ask for drinks and to get the bill we walked out so some one could chase us!!
La Fourchette needs to decide what it is? A family restaurant serving Tex-Mex and pizzas, or a five star gourmet restaurant (as prices and ambiance suggest). A cozy bar (as space would recommend) or a dance bar. Until it does it will continue to fail at being anything

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Ronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice coloring in the inside, purple with grey tones with discreet music in the background which does not disturb your meal and conversation. The menu was quite interesting and very tasteful. The desert was incredible, especially the mango one ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgianaLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
“Quite Pricey but overall good quality...”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

To me, the food was not all that great, good, but not great given what they charge you for it. And I have been around. Service is definitely above average compare to most restaurants in Dakar. But then again, it all comes down to management. The place seems to have good management and one of them goes around tables to connect with customers. Food is definitely better than Alkimia. La Fourchette offers a more diversified menu which allows you to go back again without having to try the same dishes.
The place seems to turn into somewhat of a night club past a certain time, so if you are looking for quiet, look elsewhere. The smoke from cigarettes becomes very overwhelming as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fourchette also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to La Fourchette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing