We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere....but the food was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bideew

Bideew
Ranked #32 of 202 Restaurants in Dakar
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: European, French, African, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere....but the food was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

My colleagues and I went to this restaurant at around 8.30 pm for a light dinner. The place was bubbling with conversation and had a relaxing atmosphere. Sitting back, with a cold beer, I thought that we had made a good choice. Unfortunately, what followed was an average experience. After our first drink, the service became very slow. This was not due to any lack of willingness of the staff, there was simply not enough of them to meet the demand that evening.

My ordered of gambas with ginger and coriander was not so good. The sauce was full of flavour, however the prawns were overcooked and tough. The dish was tepid, with the exception of my side dish of rice, which was hot. My colleagues ordered different dishes but were also not impressed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeptPiliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    56
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A calm restaurant in a great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This bar restaurant in the CCF (Centre Cultural Fraincaise) is in a great location, surrounded by lush vegetation and tall trees. The restaurant is open on two sides, giving views out into the garden (and which also allows for a cool breeze on a hot evening). They close about midnight.

The service is a little slow, but not bad. The food is simple French fair, but is fresh, tasty and sufficiently filling. My apple and pear tart was delicious. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming.

The toilets are a short walk up the gravel path, which does leave you as a potential target for droppings from the fruit bats!

I have been to this restaurant on a previous trip, and if I come to Dakar, then I will definitely come here again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tres Bien ! I will go back again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

A very relaxing and casual place. I went with wife and two kids to have a casual evening & dinner. Located in French Cultural Institute. Not so fancy but tables are full. I can imagine why after tasting thier food. I recommend salade de marinara, cote de porc and marquoise du chocolat. Food is absolutely delicious and very reasonable. The best value for money restaurant in Dakar without exaggerating. Do not go if you want to rush in. Service is slow as tables are full. Do not confuse the waiter as he/she is so busy and customers waiting. Sit back relax and enjoy a mojito. You will not hesitate to go back again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Safari1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Aside from the slow service, great place for lunch or a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

While I have lived in Dakar for more than a year, I only recently had a full lunch at the Bideew. The location is great for "Plateau" people, the surroundings very relaxing in spite of the hustle & bustle in the streets around (no noticeable noise inside), and the seating quite pleasant (not sure if this is actually the case but it seems the wooden tables under the fabric roof and the fans are the no-smoking area, while the open air, iron tables and chairs under the umbrellas are the smoking area).

The menu is quite basic, but perfect for a light lunch. The "Morocco" burger is great, not spicy at all in spite of having harissa, and not overcooked. Especially great in the evening to chill out with a beer; however, if you are in a hurry at lunch break, do keep in mind that the service can be quite slow (about 40 minutes between being seated and being served the burger plus a guava juice). However, the service tends to be rather more pleasant than the Dakar average. Cost damage wise, this is quite a value place, especially on the food side (not so obvious on the drinks one).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“i can't imagine dakar without it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I think the best is when there is a concert going on in the open air ampitheatre next door, the bideew is serving burgers (they only have them at lunch and on nights where there are special events) and you've run into five other people you know and you're two mojitos in and its a typically cool, clear Dakar night. Perfection. The burgers and salads never disappoint, but i once ordered brochettes and i got a plate with two skinny skewers of beef and a whole lot of fries. no parsley, no nothing to disguise that it was just meat and potatoes. The decor is really wonderful, with tiered seating and throw cushions and round tables (or square) and the wait staff are really friendly and attentive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newyorcaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bideew also viewed

Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 
Dakar, Dakar Region
Dakar, Dakar Region
 

Been to Bideew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing