We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal abuse by owners of restaurant”

Century Park Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 202 Restaurants in Kigali
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 16, 2019

We just came from the Century Park Chinese restaurant where we had coffee. While ordering, we heard a dog whining, and the waiter apologized (which is strange, since the whining was not loud and soon stopped). After about an hour and a half, we walked to the railing to see what was behind, and saw a dog brutally chained in a tiny cage, with chicken bones lying all around it, and flies all over it, the dog was dead. It was the same dog we had heard whining just a while ago - it had probably given its last cry just before dying. We were so deeply shocked and asked the staff what happened, and while some staff seemed too embarrassed to speak about it, others told us that the owners chain the dog in the day and release them at night to guard. Not only is the whole accomodation completely cruel, but the dog also clearly was not taken care of. It is clear that the staff knew about the abuse and felt powerless to do anything, and that it was the norm for the dog to moan and be uncared for, which resulted in its death.

Even before we saw the dog, we were already not at all impressed by the service. The milkshakes were thin and tasted like cold nesquik instead of ice cream based. The pancake was old and dry.

We will never again support an institution that treats living things with such cruelty.

Date of visit: June 2019
3  Thank palluaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2019

Atmosphere would have been nice, but the sound of a dog dying doesn't do much for my stomach. I will never return, and I would never recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank nickneffsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Nice atmosphere--except when a gaggle of kids ran through the restaurant, yelling and screaming and squealing (and were subsequently shushed and chased off by the wait staff), big portions, fair prices (4,500 RFW for veggie fried rice, for example), and excellent service (murakoze, Nerber).

Would eat here again and would recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Kigali for families. High quality Chinese food is worth the trip on its own, but we especially love sending the kids to the play ground, the trampoline, etc while the parents cab relax and enjoy our tea. Favorite items on menu are pork dumplings and beef broccoli.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 503MatthewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

Nice outdoor seating, pleasant and attentive staff, and Chinese food which is not bad (which is rather an achievement in this particular food segment in Kigali). If I use good "American Chinese" food as a benchmark, this is probably at 80%.

It was especially pleasant that the owner of the restaurant came to see us when the waitress told him we were not 100% satisfied with the food. He took our comments in a very positive way (actually, they way they were intended, really), and offered a drink "to compensate" - which was very nice but not necessary as we only wanted to relay our recommendations to improve the cooking.

All in all, a positive experience.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lubger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Century Park Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Century Park Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing