We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kigali Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Hailshaam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Didn't stay at the Hotel as we had rented a house, but used the pool and had an absolutely excellent lunch there.
Clean efficient with very friendly staff, the ambience is excellent and I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kigali for either business of pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tantalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    266
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
151
52
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I got the chance to spend a night, in African terms, this is a great hotel, in the west it would be a 3 stars place at best.
At least it's clean and with hot water, good bed and air conditioning, which over here it is the most you can ask for, comes with a minibar and decent television, all and all not too shabby.
If I will come to Kigali again, i guess its one of the best places available, Recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We did not have any expectations about our stay, but this hotel was a nice surprise! Very friendly staff, very clean, nicely decorated, and just an overall memorable experience. Not sure about some if the negative reviews, perhaps they logged them against the wrong hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Rooms were booked for myself and a colleague many weeks prior to our arrival off the midnight flight from Nairobi. They started off by saying our rooms were not ready, and were being cleaned. They repeated this every five minutes until, when patience was wearing thin, and management had disappeared, they eventully confessed they had over-booked and there were no individual rooms available. They were desperately cleaning up a large dirty suite to put myself and a complete stranger into the same suite. They continued the deceit of preparing rooms for nearly two hours and we finally were let into the shared suite, like a dormitory, at 2 in the morning. Management offered no aplogies, no tea or coffee while we waited. Such treatment stems from thinking they have a monopoly, but that is changing and we will not use this appalling place again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

In the US Serena would be more like a 3 star hotel. The room was comfortable and room service good. The biggest disappointment was when at 9 am there was not hot water for a shower. After calling repairmen came to room to fix. Spent some time there and left without saying anything. Went to take shower and all the water was turned off. Called front desk and about 15 minutes later water was turned back on and was hot. By that time we had to leave and unable to take any kind of shower.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros: good food, social spot, nice ambience. Cons: no hot water, sloooooooow service, metal detectors at the entrance!!! (but that's common all over East Africa). All that being said, I didn't have a chance to compare it to anywhere else in Kigali....yet. They aren't plenty of choices but perhaps next time will try the Hotel des miles collides or the Marriott if it's opened up by then.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbslagosone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Kigali Serena is a lovely hotel in a lovely city. From airport help to front desk staff - James in particular - everyone was wonderful. So friendly. Rooms large and very comfortable. Food good. We were only there for one night and we would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JAASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.2 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#5 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigali Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigali Serena Hotel

Property: Kigali Serena Hotel
Address: KN 3 Ave | P.O. Box 7469, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kigali Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Central Kigali, the ambassadorial and commercial heart of Rwanda, and the city's pre-eminent meeting place for diplomats and businessmen. Relaxed yet elegant, the hotel features an executive lounge and Bar and one of the city's most popular venues, the Milimani Restaurant styled to offer a classically elegant interior and a light filled atrium overlooking the verdant tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kigali Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing