We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kigali Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The Serena hotel in Kigali was such a nice surprise. The room was very well appointed and there is a gorgeous outdoor pool and well manicured gardens. Wide selection of food in the dining room and the bar had a great entertainer who sang and played the keyboard. Staff was very accommodating plus free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    265
    53
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
151
51
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Qabis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a decent option. The biggest plus is the staff behavior. The staff members were always prompt and courteous. Facilities, however, need to improve. Since other hotels are appearing in the scene, they need to make the hotel a bit modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varatharajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good, comfortable business hotel. didn't have a shaving kit in housekeeping, had to buy one from the gift shop and food and beverage not up to 5 star standard, still waiting for cappuccino and toasted sandwich. breakfast good though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comradestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Likes:
The standard room are spacious. My room had a balcony at the second level but facing the road side. The room is well equipped with wireless running okay. The bed was nice and soft although it was two singles put together. The food at the two restaurants were great although a little pricy. Great swimming pool and gym.

Don't likes:
The air con inside the room is very old and they can be a little bit noisy at night. The security check inside the hotel is little bit annoying as they check you everytime you go inside the hotel. While i do understand the security measure, but surely there is another way of not checking people staying in the hotel like they are criminals every 10 minutes! The problem is, the conference centre is located outside the hotel and I had to exit the hotel (it was rainning most of the time I was there) everytime I wanted to go to the conference centre.

Overall, this hotel is a good choice. I will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atonn_ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

went there for a two day stay for business. arrived after a hectic night flight around 5 in the morning but was quite surprised with the hotel's standard, its pool, room & premises. the service was quite good and staff very kind. only negative point would be the food which was somehow repetitive and too heavy to my appreciation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Visited on a business trip. Everything you need; good food, service, Internet, amenities, setting. Rwanda is certainly worth a visit, amazing compared to what I expected. Serena's across Eastern Africa have been great experiences.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AshleaShle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed only one night at the Kigali Serena (after three days visiting the mountain gorillas) and everything was perfect. Our room, internet connection, and food were just right. The hotel is fairly large. The pool area was a great spot for an afternoon beer. The variety of choices at the breakfast buffet was nice also. The hotel seems to attract both conference and business clientele as well as travelers. Rwanda is a lush and beautiful country. Be sure to see the Genocide Museum, you'll learn about Rwanda and other countries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EHRINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.2 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#5 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#3 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigali Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigali Serena Hotel

Property: Kigali Serena Hotel
Address: KN 3 Ave | P.O. Box 7469, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kigali Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Central Kigali, the ambassadorial and commercial heart of Rwanda, and the city's pre-eminent meeting place for diplomats and businessmen. Relaxed yet elegant, the hotel features an executive lounge and Bar and one of the city's most popular venues, the Milimani Restaurant styled to offer a classically elegant interior and a light filled atrium overlooking the verdant tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kigali Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing