We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After we made a few adjustments it was very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gorillas City Center
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After we made a few adjustments it was very good”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We also had a problem with mold in our room. But the manager changed us into a much better room the next morning without us even asking for it. We also were surprised there were no fans but a wonderful employee named Saturday ran out late at night and bought us one. After those adjustments were made our stay was very good. The grounds are quite serene and pleasant. The dinners were consistently good. The breakfast included the sweetest fresh pineapple I ever ate. The dining room is run efficiently and food arrived promptly. We found the hotel staff gracious, supportive, kind and the attention we got from Saturday was above and beyond. He is a thoughtful professional. We also used the services of Emmanuel to drive us to town and to see the memorial sites. He is a solid guide, and knows all of Kigali and knows what sites to bring to your attention. It's a good place, with a solid staff. If you have a problem, tell them, they will fix it promptly!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    13
    11
    1
See reviews for
5
8
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sao paolo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This place isn't exactly cheap. The rooms are small and dirty. My colleague shared his bed with cockroaches. There's a bar next door which is very loud and plays music until 2 or 3 in the morning.

Having said that, the staff are nice and the food is good - although you have to wait ages for it (a common complaint in Rwanda).

It's very well located, but my advice would be to spend more and stay at the Serena or spend less and stay at the Iris or stay out of the centre.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

After a week of staying in basic Tanzanian 2-3 star hotels and camping, we chose this hotel as a place to connect to the internet ("smoking fast!) said my 13 year old niece, have hot showers, clean rooms and a good dining meal. It was a comfortable place to stay before another few days on the road into Uganda. Like many places in Africa though, the faucet was loose and the shower was luke warm at night. We did have a very nice dinner in the restaurant and breakfast too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3october
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Overpriced! Terrible Breakfast! Noisy at all the times! Never again! Creepy room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascha_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

OK, I was working for an NGO on a project I believed in so wanted to stay in a mid-range hotel to keep costs down. I sometimes stay top notch and also completely rough so I am happy with either as long as the place delivers what it promises. Frankly, everything in this place was broken. The room had no air conditioning but they promised fans - fine but the fan was bust and kept falling over and they had no replacement. The Wi Fi was a non-starter so they promised a Lan connection in their 'business centre'...well one look at that convinced me i would never work and yes, unfortunately I was right. Cables that were frayed, connections hanging out of the wall...needless to say no connection. So, reluctantly, I could stand no more after one night and checked out to pay top dollar at The Serena (yes I paid the extra myself but it was totally worth it).

Oh, and by the way, if you think the name of this hotel suggests it is anything to do with Rwanda's famous apes, you would be wrong, they live two hours away although I reckon a couple of them maybe came to Kigali and decided to set up this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesscameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Decent enough location and a pleasant enough 10 mins walk in to the city. Take it easy though, especially if you're just getting used to the altitude as it's uphill in to Kigali.

The hotel itself is pretty good . . . . . friendly, welcoming, polite helpful staff, but the rooms could do with a bit of work. I stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of my trip, and each time the room had it's share of lightbulbs that had blown or little things that needed fixing. There is some sort of mould / damp problem in places and if you're looking for more than a place to stop off for a night or two then you might prefer somewhere else.

The one diamond about this place is the restaurant. Great food and brilliant staff. Even if you decided to stay elsewhere it'd be worth the effort stopping by for a meal here one night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Hotel Gorilla is situation in a very quite street, close enough to walk to a few wonderful restaurants: Chez Robert, Bourbon Cafe, Shokola, Hanni, Cactus, Kazana a many others to mention. The hotel personnel everyone goes out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible. The restaurant is also good, with a french flair cooking, the restaurant section has an indoor and outdoor garden scenery and very enjoyable to eat out during the day or night, mosquitoes don't seem to be a big problem here, but there are mosquitos. The Hotel and Restaurant are a plus - but the concern I have with this hotel is that the rooms have "Mole Problems" - and knowing this it makes it difficult to sleep at night because of the smell. The bed sheets are changed everyday, but the blanket and spread truly need an overall - the hotel needs to invest in getting the mole situation out, bringing in new curtains, fresh paint, new bedding and the bathrooms need changing of their towel holders, soap and some kind of vanity to house your toiletries. Would I stay here again yes, because of the price and the location. Safe to walk or take a taxis but be prepared if you do take a taxis to go to the Shopping Center where the Bourbon Coffee Shop is it will cost close to 2,500. I suggest to decide on the price you want to pay before you get into the taxis. I have given this place a 2 star because of the existing problem of mole, but if they take care of this problem, the hotel is small and desireable and comparing the prices at other hotels this is the best bargain. The rooms are small, but durable because your only in them when you come in to sleep or change your cloths.

  • Liked — Location - Size - Restaurant
  • Disliked — Mole - Old Bedspread - Old Blanket
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gloriastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.3 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#17 of 47 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#10 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
0.7 mi away
La Posh Hotel
La Posh Hotel
#25 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.9 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorillas City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorillas City Center

Property: Hotel Gorillas City Center
Address: KN 37 St | Kiyovo, Kigali 1782, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorillas City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Jovago.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gorillas City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorillas Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing