We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There should be better choices”
Review of Hotel Chez Lando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chez Lando
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There should be better choices”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there 2 weeks in Oct 2012. On the positive side, I can say the ambience is nice and restaurant food is good and reasonably priced (although, they are extremely slow in serving food). However, I should say that the hotel service was poor. They made several mistakes in our reservation. Also, it is overpriced. $100 for a single room is too much. There are no fans in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byiringiro P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear,
Thanks for your review,we always take note of the comments and observations of our clients and we are glad to hear from you,we apologize for the problem which occured in tyour booking we're upgrading our booking and reservation softwares and we hope such problems will not occur again in coming days,we're also improving our services and refurbishing our premises to meet our guest requirements and we hope to give a better service in Future.
you are always welcome at Hotel Chez Lando

Byiringiro U. Patrick
Marketing and Guest relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    155
    65
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
43
46
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews, decided this was best for our one night in Kigali prior to a week in the Rwandan countryside.

Free wifi- excellent!

Best thing: website said price of room was $60 so we booked and were confirmed that this was the price, day before arrival we were emailed that the price was now $100. on arrival we queries this and after quite a bit of haggling got it down to $60 again! Yey!

Restaurant delicious and English football played on tv in bar!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Chez Lando is landmark in Kigali, no doubt about that. But, few days ago i was there, it was packed as they had some conference. They had only $100 rooms available (normally is $60) and i don't see any benefit of paying $100...few TV channels and no toiletries available, only one small soap. It is the fact that Kigali became quite expansive but it is still possible to find value for money..i ended up staying in Landstar hotel just 2 min walking down from CL, had good room, speed internet and bfast was amazing - all for $60.

Room Tip: i stayed in more expensive one but it didn't pay out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljubica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byiringiro P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear,
Thanks for review,it's always a pleasure to hear from our clients,we're improving our services either the booking & reservation softwares to enable a more simple and detailed system to our clients.we take note of every observation you made and we hope to offer you a better and decent stay in the future.
you are always welcome at Hotel Chez Lando.

Byiringiro U. Patrick
Marketing and Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We endedup in Kigali after a whole day of gorilla trekking at Volcanoes National park. This was by far the worst hotel we had stayed in the entire two weeks in Africa. The room was so HOT when we arrived we noticed that there was no ceiling fan or A/C. We asked the front desk to provide a fan to cool the room down and provide some movement.we were provided with a fan that had US pin points! We asked for another that actually functioned in Kenya without an adapter. We were finally given a plastic fan that made so much noise we had to stand it up on a towel to muffle the

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2advmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byiringiro P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chez Lando, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear, thanks for your review,we're sorry for the bad service you had during your stay,we are taking note of that,it's always a pleasure to hear from our clients,it's an opportunity for us to improve our services,we hope to offer you a better service aqnd a decent stay in the future.

You are always welcome at Hotel Chez Lando,

Byiringiro U. Patrick
Marketing and guest relations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days on a recent business trip. The hotel is conveniently located very close to the offices of my organisation, which is why it was chosen. The rooms are simple, but well appointed including hot water, a mini-bar and safe in the room. However they are somewhat outdated and could do with a renovation. There also seemed to be a small army of centipedes patrolling the rooms most days - probably quite harmless but disconcerting. Staff helpful. Food is not great, although the a la carte menu at lunch and dinner is much better than the extremely poor breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side are much larger and brighter than the other. Hard to say which side as the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goonertraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had one night here at each end of our trip in Rwanda. The rooms are OK, the bed wasn't very comfortable and the room was quite drab each time. We stayed here because it was so much cheaper than the other higher end options and you can tell it was a cheaper hotel. It was ok just for an overnight stop (in late, out early), I wouldn't stay here for any longer though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for my final night in Africa, after an amazing 4 week adventure through Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, and Rwanda. Chez Lando's affordable and comfortable rooms were a long overdue treat at the end of this trip. Shower and bath facilities were top-notch by any standard, a major consideration after camping for a month. The casual bar/restaurant provided a great venue for a final night with my fellow travelers. As this was a Saturday night, it was also nice to see so many locals enjoying the lively bar and restaurant with their dates and friends. The breakfast buffet was fine, but nothing special. WiFi services were reliable throughout the hotel grounds and the kind staff allowed me access to wifi even after checking out and spending the afternoon waiting for my ride to the airport.

BE ADVISED: MASTERCARD NOT ACCEPTED, THOUGH VISA IS.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWRtheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
3.1 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kigali
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Lando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Lando

Property: Hotel Chez Lando
Address: KG 201st , Airport Roa | Remera, Kigali, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kigali
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Lando 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chez Lando, is your first window to Rwanda. At Chez Lando, we apply the tradition of Rwandan hospitality to the needs of modern travelers; we cater to the smallest detail of your stay. Our quaint garden-style hotel is located just five minutes from Kigali International Airport and is right on the way to the heart of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chez Lando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Lando Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing