We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of France in Kigali”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'epicurien

L'epicurien
Ranked #19 of 135 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A piece of France in Kigali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A pleasant surprise in Kigali. L'epicurien restaurant (Directions: tell the taxi drive on same road as Papyrus). A small but interesting menu with some classic French dishes and exotic (for Rwanda) ingredients, like Rabbit and Duck.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
“Finally a French cuisine corner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great everything and the owner are welcome full (which is definitely a plus).
Special recommendation: the duck with passion fruit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargolitaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cuisine in a class of its own in Kigali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

L'Epicurien offers something new and original in Kigali - French-style cuisine to a high standard in a convivial environment and at not too high a price (though nobody would call these restaurant prices cheap). And, wonder of wonders, our food arrived at our table within 20 minutes of ordering - now that really is something unique in Kigali!
I tried the steak with gratin potatoes and it was fine. Some of the vegetables might have come from a tin and they were not so generous with the sauce, but these are niggles as the meal was qualitatively in a different league from any other steak I have tasted in Rwanda (including those 5-star hotels). My dessert of carpaccio of pineapple in coconut liquor was a triumph, simple but oh so delicious.
Indeed, the restaurant would have earned a full five stars from me if i) the main course had been just a little warmer, ii) I hadn't been obliged to take the expensive red wine because they had run out of the cheaper one, and iii) the waiter had taken our order more quickly - his performance at our table whilst he carefully removed his reading glasses from their case, found the right page of his notepad, slowly removed the cap from his pen and then laboriously wrote out our order in longhand, complete with all the French accents, almost earned him a round of applause!
Anyway, I shall certainly be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Really great food, especially the tilapia, dauphinois potatoes and the chocolate mousse!! Service was good and food came out in around 30 minutes! Wine good, house cocktail ok but could have been a bit bigger! Prices very reasonable for the quality of the food. Will definitely be going back regularly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tweetypie4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'epicurien also viewed

 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to L'epicurien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing