We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Garr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garr Hotel
Ranked #10 of 116 Kigali B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My stay at Garr was absolutely lovely. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and always willing to help. I needed a translator and they arranged it for me.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood and a walking distance to a shopping mall.
Whenever I'm in Kigali, Garr is the place for me

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
9
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel was very nice, clean and the staff was very sweet. Its close to most things and the staff is very helpful when needing taxis.
The only thing I would suggest for the food was just order it ahead of time ( about 1 hour) if you plan it ahead you will not have any problems. The food is really good and they make everything from scratch.

Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very lovely property. We stayed in it twice. There are rooms by the pool (some in there are very large but we had a small room). But it was very clean and quiet. Then there are rooms in the main building. The ones in the main building are very nice, clean, and large. Breakfast was free. The food is all very tasty, but it takes a while. I suggest order first and then have them call you when it's ready. The pool and area is lovely and clean. I found the hotel to be nicer than what is pictured in the photos. The neighborhood is nice and safe (near several NGOs and government buildings). There's a small shopping centre within walking distance as well as a few restaurants. I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms in the main building better than the one i had by the pool. My room by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusShelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We transferred to this hotel from a disappointing experience elsewhere in Kigali and were greeted by the very friendly manageress. We were shown rooms in both the main building and the annex, and had no hesitation in choosing the annex, which as others have said is a bit like a villa. This was really lovely, with modern marble floors, a huge communal lounge, access to a small external pool and garden. Nothing we asked for was any trouble. The Internet worked fast. The 8 stations on the TV all worked well apart from the CNN channel which was scrambled. The bathroom was clean and I liked the rain shower. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is the breakfast, which I found to be rather limited. I would definitely stay here again, despite its location away from the city centre.

Room Tip: Choose the annex - you won't regret it. Even if you can't get in there, the main hotel is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Excellent hotel, with friendly personnel. The rooms are clean and of good standards and the service (restaurant, reception etc.) is Impeccable!
I had a bit of an issue with my payment, as my Credit Card wouldn't go through, but the Manager/Owner got personally involved in solving the issue. And she personally came to apologize for the inconvenience (on a sunday).
I'd recommend this hotel anytime...and if you do go, make sure you visit or stay in the new building, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building if you are a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romeo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Garr is truly a small gem if you don't mind staying in Nyarutarama which is a bit far from center but is very nice and quite posh residential area offering some nice dining in the neighborhood.
I was in a group of ppl who were lucky to be first residents of Garrs new annex building. New building is actually like a nice 5 bedroom house with massive lobby, nice sitting terrace and new swimming pool just there, below. Rooms in annex are really nice with brand new furniture and all fixtures, sparkling bathrooms with "rain showers". If you're coming in a group and can book all rooms in annex, perfect! you will feel that you have hotel all by yourself and your friends! it is like renting nice villa!
Hotel is otherwise okay, breakfast could be a bit healthier, restaurant selection a bit limited, but being in Kigali and eating in hotel restaurant would be a crime since Kigali is very fine dining spot in Africa. If you're there after a while being in some of the countries around (like DR Congo), you will highly appreciate Kigali dining scene :-)
Everything else is already written below, i just wanted to add few words on my experience in annex building.

Room Tip: book annex building if possible as it is new and further from the main street, swimming pool at your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljubica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am on short work assignment in Rwanda and have chosen to stay at the Garr Hotel -Kigali. Why? An excellent home-away from home treat is my experience of the Garr's new wing with double rooms, spacious modern lounge and double-porche overlooking a beautiful mature garden and mini-swimming pool. I have so far spent 15 nights at the Garr and is still staying at the hotel that is surronded by the beautiful hills of Kigali. Happy staff, quick and attentive service, a spa, very clean, green and serene living environment just makes me want to stay longer. Breakfast is a delightful surpise most mornings with modest buffet. After long hours of work a smile is always on my face as I walk home- to Garr.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the pool are spacious and gives you a real homely treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayoo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.5 mi away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#21 of 47 in Kigali
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
703 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lemigo Hotel
Lemigo Hotel
#12 of 47 in Kigali
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garr Hotel

Property: Garr Hotel
Address: Nyarutarama | P.O.Box : 3454 Kigali, Kigali 250, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a wide range of accommodation and services with all rooms elegantly furnished. We are located in the most environmentally friendly settlement of Kigali, 10 minutes distance from the Kigali International Airport. We are next the Grand MTN Center which has several convenient shops among them the Famous Bourbon Coffee and restaurants.For sport personalities, the hotel is located at a 3 min walking distance to the Kigali Golf Course and Tennis Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing