We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Kigali”
Review of Garr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garr Hotel
Ranked #14 of 113 Kigali B&B and Inns
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value in Kigali”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Garr Hotel is located in Nayutarama, Kigali. It's the part of town with lots of embassies and NGOs and is a very nice area for sure. It's a bit far from dowtown, but it's quiet and has some great restaurants quite close. The MTN Center is a 5 minute walk too - you can take care of most of your essential dealings there.
The hotel itself is pretty small and personal. They treat you very nice and it's always clean.
The breakfast buffet is small, but really good. And the laundry service is very fast too, usually they have it back to you by the end of the day.
They have a few TV channels and WiFi is really fast!!
They are working on a pool area. That will be really nice since they only have a small bungalow outside for a relaxing common area. But like I said, the neighborhood is great to take a stroll and hang out in.
There is no A/C here, but the rooms have a floor fan. Kigali is cool anyways, so this isn't a big deal at all. I slept under a blanket every night with the window open. The fresh air was nice and cool and beats a loud air conditioner for sure.
It's really a good price too. I really recommend it.

Room Tip: There are no views here, so just ask for a quiet room and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
9
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my second stay and I will be back again in two weeks. The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Laundry service is a one day turnaround -- give it to them in the AM and you'll have it back by approx. 5 PM. The restaurant is decent. The breakfast buffet is more than adequate.

I have two suggestions -- please get more TV Channels ... Right now you have about ten channels -- it would be nice if you had more esp. Some American sports vs. the soccer (football) and cricket that predominate. HINT HINT -- American National Football, Baseball, Basketball and Hockey and possibly American NCAA College Football..

I left on Sunday, the 11th of Nov. about 5 PM. It was raining lightly. The front steps (that marble or granite area -- whatever it is) becomes very SLICK -- like an ice skating rink. You have those green mats partially covering the UPPER STEPS .... I would get mats to completely cover that area to stop someone from slipping and really hurting themselves.

I will be staying at the Garr again, as I said, and would recommend it. Also there are a number of decent restaurants nearby with very reasonably priced menus as well. The hotel maintains a very secure environment as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is my second stay at the Garr. Both visits have seen me arrive in a very tired state. The staff ,led by the charming Vincent ,just look after allmy needs.Nothing is too much trouble. I ask for a taxi.I get a taxi to take me all over Kigali. I look for food and it arrives. Sim card,Airtime. Internet. Everything arrives.
I travel a lotand stay in all kinds of places. I look for two things: Is this hotel,or BB or room safe? Is this place clean? The Garr is safe and secure and it is spotless. Above it cares.

Room Tip: Ask Vincent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Pecq - 78230
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent 21 night at the Garr Hotel and I had a goo time there. Staff at the desk and others personnel are nice and dedicated to help and satisfy our needs. Rooms are simple but comfortable and clean. I'll come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICKLePecq_78230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our team stayed at the Hotel Garr for 6 nights. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would recommend the Garr Hotel and will be staying there during our next trip to Kigali.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heypastorbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent two nights at the hotel and i loved it. the hotel is extremely very clean The meals were so delicious . Room rate was reasonable compared other hotels in the region and to top it up the manager and the staff were really friendly. If i happen go back to Kigali again,This Hotel will definately be my number one choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalimba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golf Hills Residence
Golf Hills Residence
#15 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#18 of 47 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garr Hotel

Property: Garr Hotel
Address: Nyarutarama | P.O.Box : 3454 Kigali, Kigali 250, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a wide range of accommodation and services with all rooms elegantly furnished. We are located in the most environmentally friendly settlement of Kigali, 10 minutes distance from the Kigali International Airport. We are next the Grand MTN Center which has several convenient shops among them the Famous Bourbon Coffee and restaurants.For sport personalities, the hotel is located at a 3 min walking distance to the Kigali Golf Course and Tennis Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing