We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kigali: 101”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kigali: 101”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you've never visited Rwanda before, you couldn't place yourself in better hands than with the staff of Heaven. Between the American ex-pat owner, who is committed to the country and is raising her family there, and the international/Rwandan staff, you can find out everything about everything, plus a stay at (in?) Heaven contributes to the development of the country. The exquisite restaurant has long worked to train highly qualified personnel, and with the addition of guest rooms, the training has extended into lodging. In addition, Heaven works with local dairies and other agricultural interests to not only provide Zagat/Michelin worthy cuisine, but to also develop new businesses. It's win-win, including for guests: freshly baked scones and French-pressed Rwandan coffee in the morning on the restaurant terrace, overlooking the city; wild mushroom soup, local field green salad, and extensive entrees at dinner - steps from your room - and a 5 minute easy walk from the center of town. I have been drawn to Kigali every year for the past 9 years: Heaven, now that it accommodates guests, will become my heaven in heaven.

Room Tip: There are only 3 and they are all with private bath and spacious. None of the rooms are on the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    53
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
31
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Heaven restaurant twice. A couple of nights when we arrive to Rwanda and before leaving.
It is a great place to stay, a very good option in Kigali. Clean, spacious, nice rooms friendly staff, good location and a really good price for Kigali! And on top is right next to the restaurant whih has delicious food.
Definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

In a city with very few mid-priced lodging options, Heaven is an excellent choice. Large, clean, comfortable rooms, conveniently located in Kiyovu near some great restaurants/bars. Wonderful and friendly staff -- especially Charles!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed there a couple of months ago and had a lovely time. My office in the mornings was the restaurant which does not open till the evening. It is one of the most beautiful places to sit and work from. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Finally, the price is about as good as it gets in Kigali!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUSTOM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was in Kigali for 3 weeks on business and felt very comfortable and welcomed at Heaven's small guest house. We were able to use the restaurant to work (internet service best in the early morning) while having our very tasty continental breakfast before heading to the office. Location is great, easy walk to downtown. Menu and food at Heaven restaurant varied, interesting and satisfying. Staff friendly, helpful and competent. Room was large and comfortable - only criticism on decor were the old fashioned curtains secured by hooks which hung sloppily.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room which has bathroom inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Heaven was a terrific place to spend a few days and serve as a home base in Kigali. The staff were exceptional - we arrived late and our rooms were all ready and waiting. The rooms are not luxury but they are very comfortable - lots of space, clean, new bednets, clean (huge!) bathrooms, good water pressure. Shane and Provi were exceptional hosts and tour guides. Their "tour of kigali" is absolutely worth it - lots of local color, trying local food, and great anecdotes about the city and culture.

And then there's the restaurant - you get a discount if you're a guest (which is nice since it is expat prices). The food is exceptional, and the passion margaritas are to die for. Live music and art are bonuses, and the view is unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back - the other room shares a bathroom with the hotel office (only during w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Intimate, convenient and comfortable, Inn Heaven is a wonderful stay in Kigali. It’s perfectly located in a leafy neighborhood just down the street from the President’s residence. The center of town is literally a 5-minute walk. To be sure, all by itself, the Inn is a delight. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, way beyond its very reasonable price, and the staff is warm and accommodating. You feel secure and welcomed there – it’s genuine. But the added bonus is that the Inn’s two rooms are attached to Heaven Restaurant, a beautiful outdoor space with terrific views of the city (and great food). The restaurant’s veranda is an extension of the Inn, and so it’s an extension of the rooms – a living room of sorts - for me a place to meditate, to work, and to reflect and relax. Because the restaurant is only open for dinner, mornings at the Inn are especially peaceful and quiet. But I love evenings at Inn Heaven, too, as the energy of the restaurant turns to the calm of night and the city glitters from the veranda. For me, Inn Heaven is bliss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.6 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#5 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.2 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#3 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel

Property: Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Address: 29 Street No 7, KN | Kiyovu, Kigali, Rwanda (Formerly Inn Heaven)
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven Boutique Hotel is a 22-room, private and serene American-owned hotel located in the heart of downtown Kigali on a quiet side street, just steps from its award winning Heaven Restaurant. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, hotel guests enjoy relaxing on Heaven's open-air terrace with expansive views of Kigali, having quiet meetings in one of our conference spaces and hanging out by the pool. With an onsite playground, salt water swimming pool, fair trade crafts boutique and art gallery onsite, Heaven is the ideal place to stay for families, business travelers and tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing