We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs a thorough overhaul”
Review of Umobano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umobano Hotel
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I returned to this hotel after an absence of ten years. I stayed here some thirty times between 1999 and 2002. I was looking forward to seeing how the hotel has fared in the meantime but was quite disappointed. Given that Kigali, and Rwanda in general, has progressed by leaps and bounds in the 21st century, the Umubano (its proper spelling according to the hotel literature) seems to have stood still. On arrival I was told it was to have a make over soon, which was exactly what I was told ten years ago. The only change I can see is that there is now quite a good fitness centre. I did have a spacious bedroom on the 5th floor overlooking the pool and garden. Very pleasant but dreadfully hot, especially in the early morning when the sun was coming straight at its large windows. It was quite the hottest place in the entire hotel. I find it hard to believe that such a hotel in this location can operate without air conditioning these days. My room had been painted fairly recently but there was not a single decorative feature - no pictures or ornaments. The bathroom is adequate, with plenty of hot water and a reasonable shower but with the cheapest of thin, bendy toilet seats. I was not over impressed by the food and the service was too laid back. Staff were not 'on the ball'. Actually I would have chosen the front, shady side of the hotel, but my previous experience had been that the guards chattered loudly all night (and I mean all night).

Room Tip: Maybe best to go as high up as possible in the front and use ear plugs
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Umobano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I recently spent a week and a half in Rwanda, with 7 of those nights at the Umobano Hotel. I found that the hotel was an excellent choice. The staff were really friendly (available 24/7), my room was spacious and comfortable, the food at the restaurant was really nice and safe (although just slightly expensive) and the free wifi was of excellent quality. The only downside was a lack of A/C, but the good quality mosquito nets meant that i could leave the sliding door open at night with the screen door closed.

The grounds were well maintained and the rooms cleaned regularly. The whole place had a really friendly vibe and i would recommend it to both business travelers and families on vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool out the back get a great view at night and also get a lovely morning sun on th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradphillips004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Umobano Hotel as part of a Compassion sponsor trip. The hotel was quite clean and comfortable, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and pleasant. The grounds were well maintained, and we saw African cranes on the hotel grounds every morning. The food was excellent, and according to our in country guide, one of the safest places for Westerners to eat. Indeed, no one in our group developed any food borne illnesses. It was a bit warm at night, without air conditioning, but still comfortable. On our last afternoon there, they had relaxing live music on the patio in the back of the hotel. I would definitely stay here if I were ever fortunate enough to be in Rwanda again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notatourtype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Dont expect much at this hotel for what you pay but looking at other reviews and other hotels its acceptable if we look at the grounds and spend lots of time by the pool area or restaurant. Room has no A/C and it does get quite hot. First night my room was infested with mosquitos which I think were coming from under the bed or pillows. Rooms are old and outdated with a disgusting carpet . On the positive side food its acceptable with a few items that have been recycled from the prior meal. Internet works great.

Room Tip: room facing the pool higher floors.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martytoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in Umobano hotel several times from 2008 to 2010. During this period, it changed from chain from Novotel to Laiko, but most people still know it as Novotel. The hotel is indeed calm and relaxing, specially by the swimming pool. I liked a lot to do meetings over there and drink coffee from Rwanda. There was a nice backery inside the hotel, with fresh croissants and tartaletes, that atracted people from all Kigali. By less than U$ 20, you can get some tennis classes in the hotel courts.

However, the staying experience can be rapdily spolied by the maintenance level of your room. I stayed in rooms that were ok, and also in rooms that weren't renewed since the 80's. A stinky toilet can destroy any ammenities that the hotel offers.

The hotel is also a bit far away from downtown, so you will need transportation to have access to most restaurants.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Juliano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel (on a business visit). The room was good, service friendly and I had a pleasant stay at the Hotel.

The good things - my room was clean, had a great view overlooking swimming pool and had most of of the required basic amenities.

I think the hotel still can improve by better maintaing the fittings and furniture (some of it seems too old and in need of replacement). Bathroom fittings need attention.

Overall, my stay was pleasant. If you are looking for peaceful stay, clean room and reliable wifi, this hotel should be good enough.

Room Tip: Suggest, you choose a room overlooking swimming pool, on one of the higher floors.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh_Kamdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights and generally enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. It is due for an internal refurbishment but everything worked and the the staff were happy to help when I had a problem with the safe not closing (needed a new battery which was fixed immediately).

The gardens are delightful and the pool was well used and a nice place to sit and read. I noted that some of the bigger hotels in the middle of town did not have the same sense of gardens and tranquility.

They have a great bakery which is a calling point for people throughout Kigali. Many would come in just to get bread and cakes.

I would recommend the Umobano as a mid range hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hman877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.3 mi away
Lemigo Hotel
Lemigo Hotel
#15 of 49 in Kigali
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#13 of 49 in Kigali
132 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Ubumwe Grande Hotel
#16 of 49 in Kigali
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#25 of 49 in Kigali
46 reviews
3.3 mi away
CityBlue Hotel & Suites, Embassy Row
4.6 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 49 in Kigali
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umobano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umobano Hotel

Address: Boulevard de l'Umuganda, Kigali 30004, Rwanda (Formerly LAICO Umubano Hotel)
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range: $153 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umobano Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Umubano Hotel is a 4 star hotel located 5 km from the centre of Kigali atop one of the many hills that make up the city. For business travellers we offer the convenience of four meeting rooms, WiFi internet and a business centre. The hotel also features a bar and restaurant, various leisure facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, fitness, aerobics, sauna and tennis court. There is also a bank, several shops and parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Umobano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Kigali
Laico Umubano Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing