We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local flavor and food! ”
Review of Repub Lounge

Repub Lounge
Ranked #5 of 202 Restaurants in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Repub Lounge is a two-story restaurant and lounge boasting beautiful views, relaxed ambience, African cuisine, and live music. Ideal for large groups, date nights, and cocktail events. Repub Lounge: a must in Kigali.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

So , five of us ventured off from a suggestion at the hotel. Pleasantly surprised for a Saturday night that we got right in. The Band was warming up in the Bar area. Upstairs was the dining area. Service was a little slow at first for only being about half full. But our server had a great attitude and we were not in a hurry. He made great suggestions to sample some local fare. We had lots of drinks and tons of food and a great time for a very reasonable price. Don’t miss out. It’s well worth the trip.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank MikeS102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 356 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

The food at this place is good and the prices are ok too, a nice place to unwind on any evening. I was there on a Wednesday which was a relatively quiet night but am told they have good music Thursday to Sunday, check it out.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank N6347OSannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Beautiful ambience, excellent service, quality crowd. Repub Lounge is a must visit place for good food.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ologbologbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Arrived alone, noticed there was a significant number of white customers and I acknowledge this is their typical clientele but to sit and be completely ignored for 20 minutes is unacceptable, took my money up the road to Pouvre Noir where I was treated with some respect.

Advise to people of colour: Arm yourself with a white friend or grad one nearest to you, that's the only way you'll be guaranteed basic service.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShaneMuhimanyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

If you love local dishes and African food, then this is the place to visit when you around Kigali. Very peaceful atmosphere with african deco and the city view was beautiful.I will definitely go back for the tasy delicious food.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Phumza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Repub Lounge also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Repub Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing