We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inside Afrika Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 113 Kigali B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great stay and lovely staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel arranged for us to be picked-up at the airport by Francis for a cost of $20 USD and we drove approx twenty minutes until we reached the hotel. The hotel is located in a lovely leafy suburb of Kigali and approx 15 minute walk to the main shopping district of the town. It is behind a wall and a secure gate which is closed at night. However, we quickly learned that Kigali is a very safe city and our concerns about theft/ personal safety unwarranted.

The rooms were as described. Very comfortable with funky African theme. Wi-fi and mosquito nets available in each room. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day but sometimes had to ask for glasses/ cups/ toilet roll or water that had been overlooked. The hotel is in a quiet location and beds comfortable so had a good night's sleep each night. Enjoyed breakfast which consisted of cereal, toast, fruit, juices and delicious omelettes on request.

The staff really made this hotel. Eric the manager was accessable to guests at all times and Patrick a very charming young man. They were all lovely but I'm ashamed to say that I can't remember the names of everyone. They were all very helpful though.

Inside Afrika organised a driver, Alphonse, to take us to Ntarama and Nyatama Churches. Alphonse was a great guide, perfect English and a great understanding of Rwanda now and then. He came into the churches with us to make sure we understood what was being explained by the curator and filled in any language gaps. When we got back to the City he took us on a tour around the City showing us landmarks and suburbs we might be interested in. We really enjoyed our day with Alphonse.

We stayed at Inside Afrika on three different occassions while in Rwanda. The lovely staff, comfortable rooms, and close proximity to restaurants such as Republika and Heaven made this the perfect place for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    10
    10
    5
See reviews for
4
16
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

12 of us were travelling together to celebrate my husbands birthday. Due to the number of us I booked quite awhile ago and hence used them as a bit of a sounding board to help with the rest of the trip. We couldnt have been happier. Communication with us before hand was quick and helpful, the staff were beautiful especially Ramazon. It was easy to walk to restaurants at night and the included breakfast was delicious. Our rooms didn't have 5 star finish but we didnt expect that and we loved the homely African decorations in our room and around the hotel.The lounges outside our rooms were well used as was the pool. It was easy to walk into the main shopping area, uphill on the way in but downhill all the way home!
Some of our friends luggage hadnt arrived and again it wasnt too much trouble for Eric to help us with that. We loved Rwanda and it was a great way to be introduced to the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthioOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have lived in Rwanda for a year and really wanted to try this new hotel, so I booked it for family the night they arrived in Kigali. Unfortunately, when we arrived, they acted as if they did not have our reservation (even though I called 2 times to confirm). In addition, instead of admitting they lost the reservation, they then said that a man was sick and could not check out as scheduled...I found this a little suspect, as another "trip advisor" reviewer wrote that the same thing happened to her. I have never written a bad review on anything on trip advisor, but if Inside Afrika wants to be considered a top-rate boutique hotel, they need to get their reservation system worked out. Thankfully, we knew the area, and booked another hotel on our own, but I would not recommend booking here if you are coming from outside the country, as they may lose your reservation.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here two nights, and it was the best room of my three week tour. Beautiful view across a quiet pool (no one swam in it, more like a reflecting pond - but you can use it). Nice staff. And the internet worked all the time! Good breakfast. Safe location, with a security guard on duty. Nice decorations, and not threadbare and run down like several places I stayed at. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon59801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

After three months teaching in Rwanda my husband joined me and we stayed in Inside Afrika room 103. It was glorious. The pool was right at our door and I swam every chance I got. After many cold showers, the hot shower was nirvana. And swimming was heavenly. Loved the breakfast. The staff are wonderful. So glad to de stress there for a few days.

Room Tip: 103. next to pool amd breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneelperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of three couple visiting Kigali. One of our party booked this boutique hotel for our four night stay and it was fantastic! Great and friendly staff, located within walking distance of the city centre and a number of restaurants. Safe neighborhood (the whole city seemed very safe at all hours with no cautionary tales of after dark areas to avoid). Great value for money, great rooms and delicious complimentary breakfast.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I arrived late at night my first time in Africa to be taken to another hotel as my reservation had not been honored. Also worth noting is that I was told that my taxi to Ruhengeri would be 400.00. I knew from a friend to pay 100 dollars max for a small car. I really wanted to stay here so I could wake up my first day and take a swim but I did get a good night sleep and had a wonderful dinner and breakfast at Gorilla Hotel. Gorilla is not updated but it's really friendly and has a lively scene in the open air restaurant.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ChichesterYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kigali, Rwanda
0.7 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#7 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perle Hotel
Perle Hotel
#23 of 113 in Kigali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kasirimbi
Hotel Kasirimbi
#67 of 113 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#39 of 113 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inside Afrika Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inside Afrika Boutique Hotel

Property: Inside Afrika Boutique Hotel
Address: KN46 ST, Kigali 1933, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inside Afrika Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one most charming neighbourhood of KIYOVU, Inside Afrika is rich in Rwandese and other African culture art. Relaxing and yet authentic, the Boutique Hotel offers 9 exclusive spacious rooms elegantly decorated in African decor. The Boutique Hotel is just 8 km from Kigali International Airport. FACILITIES: 9 Rooms, All with Flat screen and satellite TV, Free Wi-Fi, Swimming pool, Business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inside Afrika Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing