We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Only the deluxe double room was available for $60. This was more than what they told us on the phone when we called the previous night. The room was average, the bed cover was too small for the bed and the place was extremely noisy. Breakfast was pathetic (toast and some fruit), there weren't even plates left and when I asked for two, I only got one which had just been used. When we got back to our room after breakfast, the cleaning lady had entered our room with her own key and had made the bed, sprayed a horrible spray around that made me unable to breathe and almost vomit, and folded our dirty underwear. I really wasn't happy with this, especially because checkout time is 11am and this happened at 9.30 am. The reception staff apologized very friendly for this though. It's on the other end of town and for a backpackers this was definitely not worth the price, although the support for the genocide memorial is a good thing. Maybe it is worth the money when you can get a cheap bunk bed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Koomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    115
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
4
61
93
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erfurt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Bad quality of beds (i have been there three times so it is not about ONE single bed).
Only western tourists (often in groups) with all the disadvantages this brings...
Relatively high prices - but provided they benefit a good cause (who investigates?) this is ok.
*
For the first day in Rwanda respectively Africa this is a good pick
as it is "safe" and lonely planet-style western environment,
but if you really want to "discover Rwanda", there is better choices...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

When i was moving to Kigali, i never had plans to be in this place, but later i changed my mind and felt needed to discover the environment in this place, so gave it a try. and really, I had a nice time there, nice food, but the service delivery at times delayed, and some noise from other rooms. But generally a averagely nice place, and cost saving while in Kigali city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Fem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had an amazing time at discover rwanda. The staff was really friendly and the internet was fast. It is located in a nice area and has an amazing view of Kigali from the outside chilling area. The bar is sufficiently stocked and i remember they even added a few different options that i fancied but they usually did not serve. The food is great all the receptionists are always willing to help and friendly too. Conveniently located close to several restaurants if you wish to eat out and also to several clubs if you wish to go dancing. I could not have wished for a better place to be. Plus when i left it felt like going away from home. Been here twice and will definitely be back again. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadox_Kibasha, Guest Relations Officer at Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Dear valued guest , we happy that appreciated the services provided by our hostel, the 4G internet is super fast, and on top of good view of Kigali, we have now started Kigali City tour for our esteemed customers .We are sorry to hear that you were not served, usually customers used to serve themselves drinks but currently there’s someone responsible to serve even those who are not willing to come to the bar. I want to welcome you again, well be back...Feel at home when you’re back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hostel is everything that you would need or want from a youth hostel. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, beds are big, showers are somehow warm, there's free breakfast, wifi and a computer with internet and there's even a bar/lounge area with a great vibe. The location is good and the prices are very fair compared to other places in Kigali and Rwanda in general. Discover Rwanda is just the perfect backpackers hostel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Freyja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We just pitched up and they found us an awesome double room. They were super friendly and helpfull in planning and contacting our next destination and gave good advice. Breakfast and free wifi included which is a bonus, as is kettle hot showers and the coldest beer I've had anywhere in east africa. Recommended if you are ever in Kigali!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I have found this hostel a great place to start in Rwanda: affordable, friendly, clean, helpful and fun. Comfortable rooms and social areas, hot water, very helpful staff and guests. Not downtown but easy transport via minibus (200 fr) or mototaxi (500 fr)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.8 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
1.2 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#7 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel

Property: Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel
Address: KN 14 Avenue, Kimihurura, Kigali, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel - Rwanda's first youth hostel - located near the centre of Kigali in Kimihurura, is the perfect place for you to start exploring the heart of Africa. The hostel boasts great value accommodation, a fun atmosphere, excellent customer service, and a wealth of information about what to see and do. With a relaxing environment from the bar terrace, private rooms, dormitories, camping, hot showers and catering available, you are guaranteed to find just what you are looking for. Enjoy the convenience of a thoughtfully prepared breakfast on the open-air balcony overlooking the hills of Rwanda as you start your day. The hostel staff are ready to help answer any questions you may have during your stay. The Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel is a Social Enterprise of Ingabo Trading and Training Company, all profit is donated to support the Aegis Trust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing