We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel
Ranked #2 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
“great place”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed one night in early December in the double room and it cost about $42 for the 2 of us. It came with a delicious buffet and good coffee. The staff were really nice and helpful, the showers (very) hot, bathrooms clean and the atmosphere conducive to talking and meeting other travelers.
Ian and Yaz

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
5
63
95
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, nice bathrooms, hot showers, friendly staff, fast wifi, good view, and the best free hotel breakfast I've found in Africa. No complaints, all compliments. AND an awesome burrito restaurant a few minutes walking distance away. All awesome!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AaronLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent hostel, friendly and helpful staff, I returned here three separate times during my trip to Rwanda. Well-priced meals, included breakfast, great location for Kigali. Very cheap rides into centre of Kigali on moto (pay 500 RWf); easy access to airport and Genocide Memorial.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Excellent!! We came to stay just one night...and finally we stayed 5!! So imagine how fine is it. The terrace is really nice and perfect to exchange opinions and ideas with other travellers. The staff are the best!!! The always help you and give you really nice recommendations. The place is very well located and the food taste awesome!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoCai81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed for the best part of a month here, and found the hostel a great place to be based to work from. It is quiet and felt very secure, with really reliable wifi. The staff were friendly and really helpful, and they cleaned the room really nicely every day. It has a few nice restaurants close by to grab food from, but isn't far from town. My only way to improve it would be that they could tell you a bit more about meals and clothes washing facilities when you arrive, especially if you are a longer term guest so that you know how to access these things. Otherwise, great stay and would come back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel has great staff, nice accommodations, and a good location (rides to town are 500-700 Rwf). Unless you strongly prefer a solo room, I'd recommend getting a dorm; when I stayed, I had it to myself most nights anyway. Definitely will recommend to friends coming through Kigali.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeMiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hostel is a great place if you want to get out and about with the local communities in Rwanda. Make sure that you stay in the dorms because although you may not like sharing accomodations, you will meet really cool people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
0.8 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kigali
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kigali
725 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 48 in Kigali
303 reviews
2.7 mi away
YAMBI Guesthouse
YAMBI Guesthouse
#1 of 120 in Kigali
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel

Property: Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel
Address: Boulevard de L'Umuganda, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel - Rwanda's first youth hostel - located near the centre of Kigali in Kimihurura, is the perfect place for you to start exploring the heart of Africa. The hostel boasts great value accommodation, a fun atmosphere, excellent customer service, and a wealth of information about what to see and do. With a relaxing environment from the bar terrace, private rooms, dormitories, camping, hot showers and catering available, you are guaranteed to find just what you are looking for. Enjoy the convenience of a thoughtfully prepared breakfast on the open-air balcony overlooking the hills of Rwanda as you start your day. The hostel staff are ready to help answer any questions you may have during your stay. The Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel is a Social Enterprise of Ingabo Trading and Training Company, all profit is donated to support the Aegis Trust. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing