We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Zenith Hotel(Kigali)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Retreat(Kigali)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
108
127
54
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
127
54
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormbudget accommodationmeet other travellerscamping areagenocide memorialnice lounge areafree wifimoto driversfruit saladhot watergreat place to startrooms are cleanplace to staydefinitely stay here againomeletteaegisnets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 319 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I booked a double room in this hostel for 3 nights and paid for one night in advance. When we arrived at the hostel they said that we had no booking but when presented them with the email confirming the booking and showing that one night had been paid for in advance they suddenly said that they had no availability, I had booked the hostel one month in advance and when explained this to the staff they said they was a problem with their website and could do nothing about it.. After some arguing they offered us alternative accomadation in a house which was isolated, with very poor facilities and was not in a nice safe area.
I did not accept the alternative and instead we stayed in Beau sejour guesthouse near Hotel Chez Lando. The guesthouse was only 5 dollars dearer than the hostel, the accomadation was clean and the staff were just wonderful. If you are looking for cheap clean, safe accomadation in Kigali I could not highly recommended enough Beau SeJour Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank affiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Boarer, Manager at Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear 'Affiemac'. Thank you for your feedback about the Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel. We are sorry that your experience with us was not satisfactory. We will endeavor to rectify the issues which affected your stay.

Unfortunately, we had experienced some problems with the booking system (which is provided by a third party and as such is out of our control) during the period you were visiting. Sorry this affected your stay in Kigali and we are confident of a great service in future. There are great reviews from other clients of Discover Rwanda Youth hostel on this web page:-----

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le petit-déjeuner est gratuit !
Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Izby v suterene su horsie
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian_uwizeye, Guest Relations Manager at Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews