We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beausejour

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Beausejour
Ranked #13 of 110 Kigali B&B and Inns
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This little hotel offered a very clean and comfortable place to stay. Reasonably priced it also included breakfast. The staff were friendly and efficient.
The room are well equipped, spacious and has A/C units. You could always sit outside on your individual balcony watching the sun set.
Bear in mind though that Mosquitoes with Malaria are on the prowl at dawn and dusk so make sure you are covered and prepared.
The hotel is situated outside the heart of the city not far away from the Parliament. It is nonetheless very well located. There are several excellent restaurant within walking distance if you feel the need to explore.
Unlike many East and West African countries, Kigali and Rwanda in general has become one of the safest countries where Western tourists (including women on their own) can move around and about without the fear of being mugged, or hassled by street kids and vendors. BUT there is no need to tempt the devil either by not following basic safety precautions.
Access to internet is also available.
The down side is that it is situated close to a major arterial route from the City to the Airport.
So you can always request a room facing away from the street.
There is parking available but because it is co-sharing with some business on the ground floor, it is rather limited.
There is no swimming pool, or garden around, but you can easily enjoy sitting at the terrace on the roof top sipping a few alcoholic drinks or fresh fruit cocktails.

Overall, a very pleasant experience and certainly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingKiwiNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    44
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
10
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in the Auberge Beausejour just down the road from the hotel. Owned by the same person. Less formal and cheaper. We had a bedroom with a lounge and a shower room. TV, fridge, mosquito net and bottled water every day. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The gardens were lovely and the birds were wonderful.The breakfast was simple but just what we wanted. Taxi from airport is about $10. Remember to ask for the auberge not the hotel. This would be no good for someone who loves 5* luxury but what is the point in hiding in a little rich bubble in the middle of Africa? We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheils54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed in the Beau Sejour Guest House, which is about one block up the road from the hotel. It is a lovely place to stay, with well-looked after gardens and simple but clean rooms, most of which have a garden view.

It is very close to the airport - about 5kms - and about a 15-20 min drive from the city centre. Reception staff will organize taxis for you & advise how much it should cost. note that the airport transfer drivers might turn up half an hour early!

Breakfast is reasonable - fruit, cereal, eggs made to order and coffee/tea.
It's a very short walk to Sol e Luna, a great Italian restaurant which fantastic pizza!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed for a week for a conference (also held in the hotel), and really enjoyed the stay. Each room had a nice balcony (ask for a room facing away from the street and it will be quieter and you'll have a lovely view of the sunset in the evenings). Wireless internet was on and off, but probably due to the fact that the place was full of business travelers and two simultaneous conferences. Very friendly service but be prepared to wait a while for your dinner at the hotel restaurant (but this is the case all over Kigali so can't fault them too much for that). I have also previously stayed at the Beausejour Guest House (called Auberge Beasuejor if I recall) located just down the road, which is much cheaper and a very decent place to stay for a few days, but it is older and a bit more run down (though the gardens are lovely and it has a lot more character than the newer hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed here 6 or 7 nights. It's confusing because there is a Hotel Beausejour a block or two away from Beau Sejour Guesthouse. I stayed in the Guesthouse and loved it. Individual cabana-style one level rooms arranged around a beautiful central garden with tables and benches. Staff very helpful. Free WiFi. The hotel is probably good also (I think they're owned by the same company) but the Guesthouse has charm and a nice garden. Good breakfast is included.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank DuaneKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Having stayed in several hotels in Kigali, Beausejour would be my favourite. To start with, the room I stayed in was spacious, clean and had great views from the hill over a part of the town. There is a good-sized working desk, and free WiFi is available (it doesn't always work, but that is not within the control of the hotel). The bed has crisp white linen and is comfortable.

Service is also very good, with efficient check-in, and a friendly approach. A discount was available in my case, on already reasonnable prices. The location is not very central, but it is strategically located on the airport road, and close to the main 'government street' with the Ministry of Education, among others. It is also directlt next to one of Kigali's best restaurant, the Sole e Luna.

The only downside I saw in this hotel was the breakfast, which is OK, but not fantastic. I wouldn't mind having paid a bit more for a better breakfast. One day I ordered a soup from the restaurant, which was perfectly fine, but I would say, in general, that this hotel is stronger on lodging than on food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
4.6 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#3 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausejour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausejour

Property: Hotel Beausejour
Address: Boulevard de l'Umuganda (Airport Boulevard), Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing