We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An improving hotel”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and it was OK, but there have been good improvements now.

The room I had seems to have been decorated, the public areas are a lot better and the new Indian Restaurant on the top floor appears to be very popular.

Staff are getting more service orientated, but it does provide good value for money if you want an out of the way place in a quiet area.

Bar staff need to pay more attention though...had a hard job getting their attention a couple of times, but restaurant staff for breakfast or the Italian restaurant - no problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

My stay at Manor Hotel In Kigali during my Easter visit was very enjoyable and wonderful. The staff smiles and assistance gives you a warm home feeling away from home. I recommend if you are traveling to Rwanda make it at Manor Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel location is perfect, our business review meeting could not have been at a better location. The hotel is tastefully done, has lovely grounds and very pleasant and comfortable accommodation. The food was great and fresh, the service was excellent. Extremely well trained staff who are very helpful and more than willing to ensure that every detail was taken care of from the conference room, the breakouts and the accommodation. The entire team from all over Africa and Europe had wonderful experience and this accorded us the opportunity to focus on our business review.

Room Tip: Pool side view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a disappointment. We didn't book this hotel; we were re-booked into it by our travel provider who failed to make a reservation for us at the 5-Star hotel we paid for. The staff was pleasant and responsive to requests they could handle and apologetic about those they couldn't. The elevator didn't work and bags had to be carried up stairs. The main stairway is poorly lit and the choice of decor color on the stairs, which blended in with the floor, made navigating stairs tricky and dangerous. We were shown to our room which was just beyond the public Men's Room. No towels in the room but they arrived when we called. We asked for a wake-up call but telephone didn't work; they brought another phone and it didn't work either (so we received a wake-up knock on the door). Air conditioner was noisy and air blew directly at our heads, interfering with sleep. Didn't think we had hot water, but were advised to let it run until hot water arrived, which took six minutes and then the shower was an adventure because the shower floor was so slippery and electricity went out in the middle of the shower. We were assured we'd have Internet access in our room but that didn't happen. A tech showed us where to stand in the hallway outside the room in order to get Internet, which worked only intermittently. There were few people in the dining room; the server suggested a particular soup, which we ordered, and then waited for 45 minutes. We asked when we were going to eat and were told that they were waiting for the soup before bringing our entrees. The soup, when it finally arrived, was okay but the "hot" entrees had been pre-cooked, reheated and were dried out and not even warm. Fortunately, we left early the next morning and were subjected to this hotel for only one night

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeamomInSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was one of the strangest hotels I have stayed in. Superficially the hotel looks impressive. The staff are friendly and try hard. But despite its grand appearance it did not have the feel of the top class hotel it pretends to be. Nothing worked, and few people were staying there. An external lift, similar in design to "The Towering Inferno", was not working and attended to for the whole time I was there, meaning suitcases had to be carried via the stairs. The shower was cold until fixed, water leaked into the bathroom floor, the toilet didn't flush properly, electric points were handing from the wall. The roof leaked in the rain and water ran through ceiling lights to a champagne bucket left on the stairs. Food was bland, breakfast looked as if left for days. The conference room was inadequately designed, with four big pillars that detracted from participants views - poor for a hotel of this rating. Not recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel has some rooms with a view of Kigali overlooking the pool. Rear rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was with a group and we were booked into the Manor Hotel. I was not impressed. The room were OK but may things didn't seem to work, ie airconditioning and the lift. The menu for the restaurant was so large they could not possibly have stored the food and catered all the dishes themselves. The restaurant was practically empty and yet we had to wait hours for our food which came to the table cold. Where had it come from? It was also tasteless. Thank goodness it was just a stopover.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyla39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We didn’t sleep in this hotel, we just used it to freshen up before our flight and had a meal here.
The hotel is located in the diplomatic area not far from the airport.
The rooms are basic and the bathrooms are spacious. We wanted to take a shower but the hot water didn’t work so we skipped the shower unfortunately.
We had a pizza for dinner and that was very tasty. We asked the staff to hurry a bit since we had to go to the airport and they were very quick with the service.
The hotel has a swimming pool were you can relax or just cool down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.9 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kigali
768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#2 of 49 in Kigali
205 reviews
2.8 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#12 of 49 in Kigali
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Address: Nyarutarama | 64 Kg 552 St, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range: $104 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting grandly in Kigali, within close proximity to Kigali's most exclusive addresses. A two minute walking distance from the golf club, five minutes drive from the Genocide Memorial Center and a ten minutes walk from Rwanda's newest landmark the Kigali Convention Center. At The Manor Hotel, the magnificent décor and the contemporary design of the lobby welcomes you to an experience to remember.. Our rooms are tastefully designed with an emphasis on comfort and style. Chic and contemporary, the bedrooms come complete with state of the art amenities including complimentary broadband and Wi-Fi, LCD TV with international and satellite channels, Air conditioned rooms, minibar, and room service. The Manor Hotel has three gourmet restaurants and a roof top Bar. Choose from mouth-watering Indian and Pakistani cuisine at Shere Sardar Restaurant or a quintessentially English tradition of afternoon tea at Marcos Restaurant & Lounge. Where you can find Italian and continental cuisine to choose from. If that is not enough to choose from why not try or famous Chinese cuisine at Silks restaurant The O'connells Bar and pub offers a selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and appetisers in a stylish atmosphere. Home to a fitness centre, sauna, steam room, , swimming pool, and Spa at The Manor Hotel is a beautiful sanctuary of wellness and fitness, offering Hair cuts and hair treatments, facial, body treatments and massages by talented therapists. The Manor Hotel has two meetings and events rooms. The meeting and events rooms, one of Kigali luxury event spaces, is an ideal venue for a business meeting, private dinner, grand ceremony or wedding. Shere Sardar or Marcos is a perfect venue for a more intimate event. * Please note that the check-in time is 10:00am and check-out time is 11:00am. An early check in or late check out can be requested depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing