We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive experience”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I and several relatives stayed at the Manor hotel back in September and it was a very positive experience in many ways. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did have problems with the shower in one room but as soon as this was mentioned to the staff they quickly checked on it and ended up moving us to another (upgraded) room. We found the rooms to be very nice, beds very comfortable, views terrific, breakfasts good, gym well equipped. During our stay, we only dined (2 nights) at the Indian restaurant, and found the food and service to be very good on both visits. One exceptional experience to report - I accidentally left a diary in a public place within the hotel, but did not notice it was missing for a couple of days. When I realized it was missing I was heartbroken, fearing it was gone for good; however I made inquiries with the hotel staff, and was delighted to have it returned to me. The staff member who had found it declined a reward that I offered him (note there was also some cash in an envelope in the diary, which was returned too), saying he just knew it seemed like something important to me. Very impressive.

Room Tip: I think we originally booked either the double deluxe or double deluxe superior room which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonRo-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
19
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
clevedon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good area and overall is a nice hotel, but it could do so much better.
Front of house staff very good and attentive, bar staff and bar area a lot to be desired- took 20 minutes go get any attention and he bar needs a clean and overhaul!
Downstairs / garden restaurant very good staff and food basic but very good.

Attention to detail the thing that this place needs to look at and that includes the billing. Seem to be using a very basic old style in house system, not very professional. Lets not mention the transfer vehicle used ! This is a definate immediate improvement needed. But I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My experience at the hotel was excellent considering that we went on holiday as family, the hotel has 3 restaurants to choose from and the food was amazing.
The hotel staffs were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean,comfortable and well appointed. I really enjoyed my 5 days at the hotel with my family. Probably best hotel in kigali we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel. The location was quiet and it felt quite safe. We didn't experience any of the problems mentioned in previous reviews. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and the food was good. Wifi worked well. The shower was nice but it does take a few minutes for the hot water to come through. There was at least enough hot water for two showers.
We can't comment on value for money as this was part of a tour package, however we would stay here again if we return to Kigali.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shae31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel appeared to be quite nice upon our arrival, however, the dining areas and public areas are worn thin. Our shower did not have any hot water, they could not get it to work even after we called maintenance. The staff was friendly, however, there seemed to be a real communication gap with the front desk.

Note on the Indian restaurant: The food was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

strategically situated at Nyarutarama the Manor is the real taste of Rwanda.Talk of ;the friendly and professional staff,a fusion of African and Continental Cuisine in the Restaurant, a variety of Beverages in the Bars and a quiet and serene surrounding,The Manor Kigali is the perfect place to be!

Room Tip: Their suites are really large and spacious,a situation that makes you relax and unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyachwayageoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

There is really nothing good I can write about this hotel except for the nice Indian food they serve. I arrived in my room and it had just been sprayed heavily with some insect repellent -- I could not breathe and had to change room. Second room was full of extremely big cockroaches. I freaked out and was ready to leave but they insisted the next room would be okay -- the justification for the cockroaches was that the room has not been used for a month ...! (I would have left but by then I was already late evening and wasn't sure where I would go).
The last room was okay except getting hot water in the morning demanded running the tap for about 5mn ... Not exactly what you expect from a $150 hotel. The rooms smell terrible, you have to cross dining rooms and public spaces to get to your room (they don't seem to get the idea that separating food and rooms is usually a good idea for pest control purpose). There was no one around which gave the place a vibe akin to that of the Shining hotel.
Finally breakfast was pretty terrible as compared to usual Kigali fare. We now have tried a number of places in Kigali and this is by far the worst.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FKNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
2.9 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kigali
725 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kigali
127 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#2 of 48 in Kigali
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#4 of 48 in Kigali
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Property: The Manor Hotel
Address: Nyarutarama | 64 Kg 552 St, Kigali, Rwanda
Phone Number:
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting grandly in Kigali, within close proximity to Kigali's most exclusive addresses. A two minute walking distance from the golf club, five minutes drive from the Genocide Memorial Center and a ten minutes walk from Rwanda's newest landmark the Kigali Convention Center. At The Manor Hotel, the magnificent décor and the contemporary design of the lobby welcomes you to an experience to remember.. Our rooms are tastefully designed with an emphasis on comfort and style. Chic and contemporary, the bedrooms come complete with state of the art amenities including complimentary broadband and Wi-Fi, LCD TV with international and satellite channels, Air conditioned rooms, minibar, and room service. The Manor Hotel has three gourmet restaurants and a roof top Bar. Choose from mouth-watering Indian and Pakistani cuisine at Shere Sardar Restaurant or a quintessentially English tradition of afternoon tea at Marcos Restaurant & Lounge. Where you can find Italian and continental cuisine to choose from. If that is not enough to choose from why not try or famous Chinese cuisine at Silks restaurant The O'connells Bar and pub offers a selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and appetisers in a stylish atmosphere. Home to a fitness centre, sauna, steam room, , swimming pool, and Spa at The Manor Hotel is a beautiful sanctuary of wellness and fitness, offering Hair cuts and hair treatments, facial, body treatments and massages by talented therapists. The Manor Hotel has two meetings and events rooms. The meeting and events rooms, one of Kigali luxury event spaces, is an ideal venue for a business meeting, private dinner, grand ceremony or wedding. Shere Sardar or Marcos is a perfect venue for a more intimate event. * Please note that the check-in time is 10:00am and check-out time is 11:00am. An early check in or late check out can be requested depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing