We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #29 of 129 Kigali B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I first stayed in this hotel in 2010 and was not very impressed with the overall experience. However, when I returned recently in July 2012 I was pleasantly surprised that there is a noticeable improvement in the hotel. I want in particular to mention that the room is very clean and some of the cheap Chinese furniture is replaced with proper armchairs and tables. The bed is low and nice with clean sheets. There are of course a number of things that can be improved. The breakfast is close to terrible so they should do something about it. The internet service in the room is intermittent and I had to go out to the restaurant area to access the internet. The TV set in the room is outdated and there is very little choice of channels unless you are very fond of the Chinese CCTV and some Bolywood films. Dont expect to get BBC, CNN or Aljazeera. Regarding staff, I am sure one of the female receptionists could do with a little bit of smile but the rest are good. The young man in the reception was very friendly and eager to assist. Finally, although at USD 135 per day the place seems to be somehow expensive it is not very bad in Kigali where there is very little choice of reasonably priced good standard hotels. You either have to go to the five star Serena or one of the small guest houses. Not much in between.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front offer a better view and don't also have the noise that comes from the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

I was in Kigali for four nights on business, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Golden Hills. It is conveniently located to downtown without being in a noisy or congested area. The guests were an even mix of wealthy locals and businessmen/NGO workers from the US and Europe.

I had a room at the back of the hotel, which I strongly encourage. The view from the balcony was nothing special, though very tropical. The standard room had no A/C, but this was not a problem since the balcony doors had screens. The comfortably cool nights in Kigali are great with just the natural breeze and electric fan.

The room was simple, but attractively modern. Very clean. Mine had a flat screen and glasses for the minibar contrary to previous reviews.

The staff are a little shy, but very kind and hospitable. Breakfast buffet is pretty good. Usually lots of bread and croissants, yogurt, fantastic Rwandan coffee, juice, tea, milk, eggs, bacon, beans, sauteed vegetables.

I really enjoyed the restaurant. You have to try the beef kebabs and the fish kebabs. They are fantastic! They have great salads with plenty of fresh avocado.

I would definitely stay here again when in Kigali. Hopefully I will.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Golden Hills Hotel in the heart of Kigali city center is good for anyone who wants to feel being served with personality and passion. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This is my second stay here, both times only because the Serena was booked. Upon first glance the hotel seems modern and nice. However, the devil is in the details. My first stay, the shower head (not handheld) was at chest level and I literally had to squat to get beneath it. Also, the $140 single rooms have no sort of ventilation at all, unless you leave the sliding glass door open (a safety issue). Only the more expensive rooms have airconditioning, though you can ask for a fan, if one is available.
Several of the amenities they say they have on their website do not exist. There are no coffee makers in the rooms, the hairdryers are substandard, there are no bathrobes, flatscreen tvs or glasses stocked to go along with the minibar. When you look closely at the fixtures, nearly everything is about to fall out of the wall, so don't place anything on a shelf or try to hang a towel without pulling on the rack first to make sure it isn't about to fall. The food is mediocre and over priced.
That said it is extremely conveniently located and the staff is friendly. The rooms are decent size. This place just needs some of the revenue from the high room rates invested back into it to fix it up.
Given that it isn't that much cheaper than the Serena and the it lacks several amentities offered there (pool, gym, spa, good food, coffee/tea in the room) it is hard to justify staying here, unless the other is booked.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leedle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir waren 3. Etage und können das nur empfehlen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reiseguru200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: No os puedo ayudar pero la estándar está muy bien, creo que todas tienen balcón
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SALVADOR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LuiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.4 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#11 of 49 in Kigali
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kigali
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#14 of 49 in Kigali
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
5 Swiss Hotel
5 Swiss Hotel
#13 of 49 in Kigali
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Step Town Motel
Step Town Motel
#8 of 49 in Kigali
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Ubumwe Grande Hotel
#16 of 49 in Kigali
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: KN 25 Street 7, Kiyovu, Kigali 1992, Rwanda (Formerly Golden Hills Hotel)
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel Rwanda is a premier hotel offering comfortable accommodation in the heart of Kigali city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing