We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a cheap hotel in the city” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge La Caverne

Auberge La Caverne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge La Caverne
Ranked #41 of 118 Kigali B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not bad for a cheap hotel in the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Helpful staff, pretty good location fairly near the centre of town. Let us leave a bag when we went to Kibuye for a few days. Nothing fancy, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Small rooms, hot and lots of mosquitos, no fan. Not the nicest stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kigali hotels

Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at this little Auberge a couple of times and it is fantastic value for money in Kigali (which is hard to find). It is cheap, shabby and rundown - and it in this context that I give it an excellent rating.
It is clean, safe and has all the essentials - hot water (we had to ask a couple of times), internet available, comfortable bed, and mozzie nets. It is within walking distance to town and shops and easy to get a motorbike taxi from. It has good, safe cheap food at the restaurant. The staff were not great with English, but so friendly and helpful to us and eager to please.
We'll stay here again next time we're in Kigali.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan037Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

A good central location and excellent value (for Kigali, which isn't cheap by any means) are the main advantages of this guesthouse just off the main road between Nyabugogo bus station and the centre of town. It's only about five minutes' walk to Place de l'Unite National, which is basically the beginning of the dead centre of Kigali.

The rooms are fine. We picked one of the cheapest doubles available (20,000RwF, though the cheapest was 15,000RwF), for which we got a TV and en suite with cold shower. There are pleasant seating areas outside each room and the views from the courtyard make this place surprisingly relaxing for its location - although there was noise at night from other guest in the courtyard.

The restaurant was very good for an evening meal, and excellent value.

http://simonandjessinuganda.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/auberge-la-caverne-kigali/

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smoziwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
1.4 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
3.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
YAMBI Guesthouse
YAMBI Guesthouse
#1 of 118 in Kigali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.2 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#12 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Caverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Caverne

Property: Auberge La Caverne
Address: Blvd de Nyabugogo | less than 200 meters from the "large round punt", Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Auberge La Caverne Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing