We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martin Aviator Motel Ltd KIGALI-RWANDA,a Magnificent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge La Caverne

Auberge La Caverne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge La Caverne
Ranked #41 of 118 Kigali B&B and Inns
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Martin Aviator Motel Ltd KIGALI-RWANDA,a Magnificent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Pat and Sears,
we have been to kigali for 5 times ,now at Martin we found a difference, first a warm welcome from kigali international airport we were dropped to the motel by shuttle a private mean by the motel ;secondly,services/accommodation are beyond what we expected and the rates are affordable.
MARTIN AVIATOR Motel Ltd located just 100 m from KIGALI INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT a place where you stay and realize your dreams ,they offer accommodation(BB),single,Double and family cottages ,food&beverage; they offer a complimentary assistance on itinerary .

we are enjoying the best services in the City.
Well,Staying at MA Motel ltd is giving us easy access to Kigali,and the rest of Rwanda.,

memorable IN kIGALI

Room Tip: ."Beak fast in the terrasse airport view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

2 people stayed here one night for $36.The guys at the restaurant/bar are friendly. The private bathroom was good, except for the lack of hot water after they told us the hot water would work. . All of this was fine with us until.... we discovered that DIRECTLY across the street there was a much better place for $40 called the "Dream Apple Hotel" or "Dream Guest House." So overall, don't pay Caverne the $36, find another place for $5-10 more and you will be much more satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kigali hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Santiago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The only place in East Africa worse than Jomo Kenyatta Airport

that should tell you all you need to know.

Room Tip: Choose the room furthest away from the desk attendant who stole from us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plevin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here one night with a group, the room was clean, bathroom and shower were fine and we had a good breakfast in the morning. Good location as well, pretty central in Kigali

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

we stayed for 11 nights. Location is excellent & central; the rooms and restaurant are tucked down an alleyway just behind street front buildings on a hilly slope near centre of Kigali. Rooms are all ground level situated in a courtyard type setting. Rates are very reasonable and good value with a couple options (we checked out 3 similar nearby properties & found La Caverne best value).
Small room was 18,000 rwf - room with dbl bed & large bathroom; TV & large closet for clothing/backpacks/suitcases.
Mid range was 20,000 rwf and included sitting room with TV, large bedroom and large bathroom.
Large suite has large sitting room, TV, 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms - at 40,000 rwf a great deal.
Management lent us an internet stick to use for our stay (we bought the time) as their network was down. Staff were friendly.
Restaurant has relatively priced meals between $3-7. Nothing flashy, but food & portion is decent. Simply breakfast is provided, coffee, eggs, bread, & some days a banana.
Location is ideal for walking to all needed amenities & restaurants. We will stay again when returning to Kigali.

Room Tip: the mid room has a separate sitting room - ideal if you are working or want separate space from bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisdomExchangeTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights during our Round-the-world trip. We were kind of 'flash-packing' rather than backpacking so this place seamed like a good option. First night we stayed in one of the more mid-range doubles with a private bathroom. It was great. Heaps of space and big bathroom. There was also a nice little spot on the front deck to sit. Second and third nights we had to move to a small (but obviously cheaper room). It was tucked around the corner and was much smaller. Overall though, quite a nice place. Good if you like getting exercise as the walk up the hill to the city centre is10 minutes of calf-burning pleasure. Nice place to chat to some locals who drink at the bar too. I'd stay here again if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I've stayed here twice, and I think it's 20,000F for a double room w/breakfast. The hotel is nothing special, but it's perfectly fine, and about as good of a value as you're going to find in Kigali. It's close to downtown and UTC, and the rooms are clean and decent. The breakfast is standard Rwandan - bread, omelette, coffee/tea - but it's pretty good.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
1.4 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
3.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
YAMBI Guesthouse
YAMBI Guesthouse
#1 of 118 in Kigali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#13 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#12 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Caverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Caverne

Property: Auberge La Caverne
Address: Blvd de Nyabugogo | less than 200 meters from the "large round punt", Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Kigali
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Auberge La Caverne Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing