We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top Tower Hotel Kigali
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lemigo Hotel(Kigali)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
8
20
32
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
20
32
12
11
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 83 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent nearly a week in this hotel and the only plus was the helpful, friendly, and largely efficient staff. Apart from that, there is NO hot water so cold showers all around. We paid a substantial amount for our room but not only did the shower not work (despite several complaints), but nor did the airconditioning. Everything is run down - the mini fridge (no bar to speak of) was empty of everything but ice and unidentified scum. The bathroom sink was smeared with grease; even the glasses in the bathroom had toothpaste stains. The bed was comfortable but the linen was stained and had holes in; so too the towels. Even the carpet was dulled by the sun and other marks; when we arrived it had not even been properly vacuumed. These kind of standards might work in a cheap backpackers but in a three star hotel charging high rates, this is not acceptable. Avoid at all costs! As we found out after we left, there are plenty of other great hotels and B&Bs in this wonderful city.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AussieVisitor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltoptower, General Manager at Top Tower Hotel Kigali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear AussieVisitor123,

Thank you very much for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We regret for the inconvenience caused by assigning you a room that was not ready.

We are sorry that you felt the staff didn’t acknowledge and resolve the issue; obviously something went really wrong and we were unable to be aware it on time and correct it.

Comments such as yours help us identify shortfalls in services provided and assist us to plan and correct future mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

pro's:
- friendly staff eager to please and help out
- spacious rooms
- food fair to excellent
- housekeeping/cleaning very good
- good air conditioning (when it works - mine was fine recently)
- bed was comfy
- many rooms have views
- top floor bar
con's
- more than well worn - desperately needs a fix up (it's like the hotel that forgot maintenance)
- eager staff can't always fix things
- wifi erratic and a hassle - though consistently OK in lobby area
- very odd layout (perhaps designed as office building?)
- no outside space for dinning or relaxing
- bathrooms oddly small compared to room sizes

Tips:
- make sure the a/c in your room is working before you unpack
- hot water in most baths has a heater that must be switched on (over toilet) otherwise cold shower
- ask for custom eggs or omelette at breakfast - omelettes very good
- Cafe Magda in rear of office building diagonally across street - very good food, fab espresso and decent wifi - nice people!
- if in Kigali more than a few days consider bring/buying usb cell modem and buy local sim - got package including usb modem 5gb data for about $45 usd from MTN - pretty zippy

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booking into our room was very easy and reception staff were nice, however, after getting our corner room the disappointment starts. It was about 40 degrees in the room and the air con did not work, there is no mini bar as stated (there is a mini fridge) and really it's just a great big massive boring room. The windows are tacked with some sort of ugly plastic and a few windows open but not very much and the curtains are in need of attention. Would have thought for a "luxury" hotel, they'd have a swimming pool...my fault for not checking though. The heat was too much in that room, so we asked to be moved. The second room was even worse. Dirty floors, someone else's floss stuck to my foot (disgusting), equally as hot if not worse, although, air con was better if you sat under it, no pillow cases on the bed so yellow stained pillows on display, enough to make anyone uneasy about a hotel. Rang reception half hour ago but nothing yet. Ordered lunch in the crystal bar and the guy named Innocent was wonderful, although from the menu the only thing we could order was a club sandwich. We have had cold showers just waiting for the casino to open so we can win our US $320 back and leave.
I have been in Tanzania volunteering in an orphanage for 2 months, I am not a bad person. I really just wanted somewhere nice to enjoy with a hint of luxury for 2 nights and at US$160 a night, I thought i would get that here. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLouiseStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltoptower, General Manager at Top Tower Hotel Kigali, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Mrs. Stapleton,

Thank you very much for providing constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

We deeply regret the issues you experienced. Albeit the Hotel was fully booked, you should have not been assigned a room that was not ready, as it is among those we are currently re-modeling. We are sorry that you felt the staff didn’t acknowledge and resolve the issue; we will review our internal procedures so this doesn’t happen again in the future.

As stated in the email we sent you on the day you left, we thank you for pointing out various improvement areas in your comments. Comments such as yours help us identify shortfalls in services provided and assist us to plan and correct future mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The reception area and bar creates a lovely impression that unfortunately, does not carry on through the rest of the hotel. the rooms are very large and spacious and ours had a lovely view, however they are in need of some TLC, water damage on the ceiling and marks on the walls, a panel in the window was also broken.
I did feel the price was slightly too high despite the fact breakfast was included.
staff are friendly enough though service is slow. we had to wait over 30 minutes for our safe to be fixed, making us late for our day.
the hotel is not near the town centre so you will be reliant on taxi's / moto-taxi's.
you have to request the use of the WiFi despite the fact it is included in the price and it isn't the best connection.
overall ,a comfortable room in a quite hotel, just not luxurious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel featured a casino and bar and restaurant. We spent 2 nights here, one at the start of our Rwandan stay and 1 at the end.

on our 1st stay, Our room was a huge triple. The bathroom is a respectable size with a switch you must turn on for hot water. THere is good hot water however we totally ran out of any water for about 45 mins in the morning. The beds and pillows are comfortable enough. The morning buffet was boiled eggs, liver, carrots, breads, fruit.

On our 2nd stay, right off the bat, I went to use the washroom, only closing the door, not locking it. I got stuck. The door would not open. They sent up a woman with a key to no avail. Then they sent up a technician which by then I decided to make use of this time by showering as I had climbed over 12000 feet that day to the top of mt.bisoke. The technician arrives just as I am finishing showering. He finally gets the door open and ends up just removing the door knob as he can't fix it. On top of that, the rain shower head does not work as the turn knob is missing and so there is just a hand held shower which you have to hold the button to use. There is mold in this shower and the counter has not been cleaned in the bathroom. The 1st stay there had been 1 bottle of water left in the room, the 2nd time there was none. 1st stay we had 3 bath towels, one for each of us, the 2nd time we were only given 2. Also on our 2nd stay the elevator is not working. So needless to say, our 2nd stay was a much different experience than the 1st.

There is wifi available. You do need to ask for a password for each device you want to use.

So in general it's a mixed review, but the place is fine enough for a night or two. Just don't expect luxury, or a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews