We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Des Mille Collines
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

historic hotel with nice staff, partially renovated rooms. i would certainly stay here again. nice pool that could be repainted, but the pool bar is great with good music. not as rundown as i was expecting.

Helpful?
Thank honglong
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    287
    156
    46
    38
See reviews for
57
131
80
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is one of the Hotels I can always recommend to anyone who goes to Rwanda. Early birds usher in a new day as you get entertained. Very well kept rooms. Given another chance I will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oduk Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It is the hotel you've all heard of. And there are many more powerful sites to visit to satisfy that need. I actually had a hard time sitting by the pool here. Perhaps just me. So, if you're going for only the name, fine. If not, stay elsewhere.
EAT elsewhere. Enough said.
Our room was fine and reasonably well appointed, but all rooms have the potential to be very loud given their rotating band schedule. Ours was not but bands were only playing in the afternoon.
Overall, it is a fine hotel, but not 5 star. Others in Kigali are better and more are on the rise (just drive around!)
We stayed at the beginning of our trip and chose to stay elsewhere a the end.

Room Tip: Ask for anything quiet (facing away from pool and/or bar area).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neener25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The rooms are sometimes a little rough around the edges, but since the refurb, overall this is a friendly and charming hotel. Hotel staff were informative providing excellent service. the pool bar served decent bar snacks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelmoulsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, IL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

There are issues with noise at this hotel. We were there on a Sunday and were spared evening live music but there was very loud afternoon music (the music was not *bad* it was just loud enough so there was no possibility of relaxing in your room). We ordered ala carte for lunch and the result was... interesting. We had the chicken with mushrooms on pasta- the mushrooms and pasta were good but the chicken came out mostly jerky (I did not know it was possible to turn chicken this consistency without burning it). It took a crazy amount of time for it to arrive even by the local standard. For dinner we resorted to spaghetti bolognese which was acceptable. The breakfast buffet needed some work as well- yoghurt was disturbingly watery- we found out too late they will do omlettes. The fruit bowl with bananas came with bugs (did not touch them!) The pastry. however, was very nice, especially croissant with nutella! I was surprised they had no nod to the history of the hotel, but it's more controversial than I realized after I read up on it more.

Room Tip: If you really need quiet you can try to ask for it upon check in, but honestly I'm not sure any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadsontheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Although I did not stay at Hotel des Mille Collines, I was extremely impressed with my brief visit. I had waited many years to visit here after being such a huge fan of the film based around the hotel 'Hotel Rwanda'. I enjoyed a buffet lunch with all the trimmings and left extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I use this hotel on my business visits. Rooms are ok, wouldnt say spectacular, but ok. Music every night by the pool. My only real regret is on the food, not very good menu. Good for a business visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maesparz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.6 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#4 of 47 in Kigali
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
3.6 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kigali
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Mille Collines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Mille Collines

Property: Hotel Des Mille Collines
Address: 2 KN 6 Ave, Kigali 1322, Rwanda (Formerly Kempinski)
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Des Mille Collines 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rwandan capital, Kigali, and made famous in the movie "Hotel Rwanda," Hotel Des Mille Collines is the perfect blend of authenticity and remarkable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Mille Collines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing