We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Des Mille Collines
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is just the place to be to rest and relax before or after a gorilla trek. There are great views of the city from the hotel's terrace, as well as from the pool area. The staff are helpful and friendly, and remember you if you've returned after a few days somewhere else. From the hotel, it is a short walk into town, and Downtown Kigali is definitely worth exploring to get a taste of everyday life in the city. The only minus is that the wifi access in the rooms is poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viv_leejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    285
    153
    46
    38
See reviews for
55
128
79
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an elegant and ultra-modern facility.It is indeed a true testimony of Kigali's present and its futuristic demand by virtue of its tranquility and artistic design.I took a 'finger-licking' lunch at the Panorama Restaurant.The service was exemplary!

Room Tip: If you go for their suites that are big and quiet,it can a memorable night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyachwayageoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We didn't spend the night at the hotel as we were on our way to trek gorillas. Instead we grabbed a bite of lunch at the poolside bar. It offers a great view across the city with the pool in the foreground. The posh environment & speedy lunch service is perfect for a business luncheon but don't linger long lest the server make you feel unwelcome. Before we could even respond to his query of whether our meals were good, he'd swiped the condiments off our table and was returning to the kitchen. With wifi costing $5 per hour, they certainly don't want anyone but the poshest clientele lingering over coffee with a smartphone. In our hiking gear, we must not have appeared to be their target market.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The best hotel I stayed in my life.
After seeing the movie "Hotel Rwanda" it was for me very important to stay in this hotel.
Service is high class.
Rooms a good with air condition and balkony with nice view, espacially at night the big city lights.
on tuesday and thursday with 3 hours live music at the pool bar.
The best breakfast in Rwanda.
The hotel is in very good condition.
The pool bar is a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ittam-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaaloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is an incredibly beautiful hotel property, particularly the outdoor seating area around the bar and pool. It offers an incredible view of the city. It's also a great place to be at the end of the day when they fire up the BBQ. They have, without a doubt, the best fish brochettes I've ever had. Nicely seasoned and marinated before being put over the hot coals, it's perhaps the best fish I've ever eaten!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilo_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban south africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My first business trip to Kigali left me "gob smacked" - spotlessly clean, I salute the PRESIDENT for his initiative. Hotel Des Mille Collines was first world, so it should be, being Belgium owned. My lunch was at rand 65 unbelieveable- schnitsel & fresh steamed vegetables + a wonderful mushroom sauce. I could have been in Europe. at E160 B/B it's not cheap, but you dont want cheap in Africa. I recommend this Hotel & if you have time go and see the gorillas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city, the Hotel is high up and the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel was acceptable. Clean and modern. The view from the restaurant was lovely. Food selection was good for dinner and the food was good. Breakfast buffet was just ok.
Pool area is nice and they have a great pool lounge to relax after a busy day.
This is more of a standard business hotel. I thought they might have some sort of a recognition for the history of the location but they have really put that behind them and don't acknowlege it at all. That was disappointing. If you are in Kingali and need a nice place to stay but nothing unique, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTraveling56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.6 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#1 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kigali Marriott Hotel
Kigali Marriott Hotel
#5 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
3.6 mi away
Grand Legacy Hotel
Grand Legacy Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Mille Collines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Mille Collines

Property: Hotel Des Mille Collines
Address: 2 KN 6 Ave, Kigali 1322, Rwanda (Formerly Kempinski)
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Des Mille Collines 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rwandan capital, Kigali, and made famous in the movie "Hotel Rwanda," Hotel Des Mille Collines is the perfect blend of authenticity and remarkable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Des Mille Collines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing