We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not everything”
Review of Step Town Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Step Town Motel
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not everything”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from Steptown Motel/Hotel and the good things are clean rooms, nice stuff and a good cook.
Bad things are Wifi with very slow or not exsiting internet. You can not even check your mails. Rooms have very thin wall so you hear everything also thoos things you dont wont to hear. The roof is sheet so when it rains you have to shout at each other. It is a little bit of the way and the road has not become better. So if you have the choice. pay a little bit more and get a nice hotel in town.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    85
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
70
45
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed. Perhaps not exactly as in the global chain hotel but extremely hospitable place. It was easy to arrange the booking via, the airport transfer worked perfectly, the room was fine, the WiFi was working, the breakfast delicious and the view from the terrace splendid. Plus really helpful and friendly staff. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I loved everything: the room, the views, the balconies, the staff (they were so helpful, and just nice), the location. This is the perfect place. I had so much fun. The manager was great and helped me settle in. He got me tickets to the naming of the gorilla celebrations, it was a great place to sit on balcony and write. The othe visitors in hotel were friendly

Room Tip: Fitness Centre - do you mean the hills I climbed every morning, with the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and for $50 a night you get a clean room with a clean shower room. Don't expect anything to fancy and certainly not up to standards of a chain hotel but for the price you pay its a very friendly service from people who are genuinely will to help you and a a comfortable place to sleep. I ate at their restaurant and it was defend enough food though it does take a while for food to arrive but thats pretty much an each african thing! its only 15 minutes to the airport also. So if you looking for a simple easy place to stay on a budget then this is a good choice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Step Town for nearly a week while we were in Kigali and really enjoyed our stay. It was a much better deal and far more comfortable than the other spots where we stayed in the city. The view from the hotel is stunning and our room was clean and spacious. We had a lot of light and a private terrace overlooking the city. You'll wake up to the sound of song birds and children heading to school. It's a close walk to the city centre (up a steep dirt road, though, so be warned) and a short moto-taxi ride from other attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfast is great -- fresh fruit, eggs, toast, spice tea, coffee -- and the dinner menu featuring standard Rwandan fare -- beans, rice, skewers -- is very tasty too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night, It was a fine Motel on hill in the capital, I had room II which had a small TV, a balcony that over looked the kitchen and small bathroom with just a shower, They have 24 hour electric, Free good WiFi, Good local food in the restaurant but the service is slow, the bed was comfortable and pillows nice, you can hear noise from area but was not bad, the grounds are small and area around was not great but it was good for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Having visited Kigali for the first time, we were really pleased that we had chosen to stay at Step Town. The staff and particularly John, the manager, are very friendly and most helpful. He met us from the airport, which was most welcome at 1.30am! The rooms were fairly simple, but good for Rwanda and eating breakfast on the balcony, overlooking the fabulous view was very special. If you are looking for a hotel with character, that is a little different, this could be for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MoneyPenny548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.4 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
3.3 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#11 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#10 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Town Motel

Property: Step Town Motel
Address: Muhima-Kiyovu | nr St Famille Church, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kigali
#5 Business Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STEP TOWN MOTEL is a first class modern motel. We are located in the centre of Kigali city near St Famille church KIYOVU MUHIMA a quiet, secure and refreshing area where you will enjoy the best views of the city from the motel. We provide accommodation with modern facilities, including en-suite bathrooms, television-DSTV, satellite dish and wireless internet. Also available is mini-bar and restaurant serving western and African cuisine. We do offer airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Step Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Town Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing