We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Friendly Staff, Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Step Town Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Step Town Motel
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Kigali
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Friendly Staff, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Step Town for a few nights and my entire stay was wonderful. Although the room was small, it was clean, neat, had a balcony with a beautiful view, and serviced daily by housekeeping. A light breakfast is included with the price of the room and I tried many other things off of their lunch/dinner menu. Everything was delicious. The staff here are incredibly friendly, willing to answer my questions about the area and to provide assistance with cab service. While the surrounding area may seem a little rough, I had no problems every walking around by myself and was able to walk to the city centre and loved the easy access to the shopping centre stores and places to eat. I also found this to be a great place to meet other people who are traveling as the bar/restaurant gets busy at night with guests and visitors. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to budget and mid-range travelers to Kigali.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldscollide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    84
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
70
44
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

As the previous reviewer said, expectation management is everything. A large group (13 of us) stayed here in mid-February for several nights. It was by far the most cost effective decent hotel available in Kigali (we had been looking at the Discover Rwanda Youth Hostel, which is in fact a bit cheaper, but were warned off at the last minute). The rooms were very clean, and some of stayed in the "main" building (where Reception is located) and others in the separate blocks to the left and above the main building. All had working hot water 24 hours a day (not always a given in Rwanda!), and clean, comfortable beds. Yes, the echoes in the main building (given the 2 stories, multiple rooms, and tiled floors) could at times be rather loud, but they were not persistent. It's not like anyone is partying in their rooms after hours. The restaurant was good, and the complimentary breakfast good (with omelettes made to order). The staff was very accomodating and welcoming. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: In the main building, rooms are by or above reception and the restaurant, so a bit noisier (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RwandaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night on the way back from our gorilla trek and out of Rwanda.

It has a nice view over Kigali and the restaurant has a decent range of food at ok prices.

The room was reasonable considering the price. The free wifi in the room is handy for checking mail etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightshade81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I found Step Town Motel to be conveniently located, with nice views over Kigali, but was somewhat disappointed with the standard of the rooms, given the glowing reviews this place has received on Trip Advisor. They are quite small, and could do with a coat or two of paint, as they've seen better days. The hotel is also quite noisy, as the sound of doors closing, people talking or even sweeping the court yard carries inexplicably far. Not the place to stay if you're a light sleeper looking for a lie-in. That said, we did return to Step Town on our way back though Kigali, as it does offer good value for money and helpful staff. I would just advise expectation management after reading the rave reviews!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Back_pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rift Valley, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for several nights during a trip to Kigali. It has beautiful views over the Kigali hills and the food is good. John the manager is incredible. He couldn't have been more welcoming or done more to help us during our stay. He was incredibly obliging and helpful and didn't expect anything in return. The rooms were good, very clean and comfortable, all en suite too. It's located in a bit of a funny place, down a maze of bumpy, steep roads but much of Kigali is like this and it really didn't cause us any problems at all. It's also all located within walking distances of some great places to eat (highly recommend 'Heaven') and an easy walk into town. Great value for money and would stay there again any day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We only spent one night in Step Town because we had a late flight the next day. There was no problem leaving all our luggage in the hotel so we could visit the city. They even cleaned our bicycles very thouroughly.
The service was excellent, the food was good, the views fantastic and it was fine to experience after travelling through Uganda that there are hotels where everything is working, even the hot shower.
The only thing was finding it at the first place. We really had to search and when you are coming from the north it is not well signposted.

Room Tip: We had a big suite in the corner and they look like the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerritvanderlinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

John, the manager of this motel, is the best thing going for it. The widest smile in Rwanda and always ready to help you out. The motel itself is well positioned, you get great views over the hills. We got given a very big room. It was clean and had a very comfortable bed. I understand this place is superb value compared with other options in Kigali. We didn't stay anywhere else so I can't confirm that but going on the cost of everything else in the city I can believe it's true. It's a very expensive city, relative to neighbouring countries. The road to the motel is poorly maintained and it's a bit of a bumpy ride. The food is pretty average but cheap and no disasters there. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahala-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
3.3 mi away
Five to Five Hotel
Five to Five Hotel
#14 of 47 in Kigali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#12 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iris Guesthouse
Iris Guesthouse
#10 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Chez Lando
Hotel Chez Lando
#6 of 47 in Kigali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Town Motel

Property: Step Town Motel
Address: Muhima-Kiyovu | nr St Famille Church, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kigali
#5 Business Hotel in Kigali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STEP TOWN MOTEL is a first class modern motel. We are located in the centre of Kigali city near St Famille church KIYOVU MUHIMA a quiet, secure and refreshing area where you will enjoy the best views of the city from the motel. We provide accommodation with modern facilities, including en-suite bathrooms, television-DSTV, satellite dish and wireless internet. Also available is mini-bar and restaurant serving western and African cuisine. We do offer airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Step Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Town Hotel Kigali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing