We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent All My Time In Ethiopia Trying to Find Something as Nice”

Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 140 Restaurants in Kigali
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spent All My Time In Ethiopia Trying to Find Something as Nice”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wow, I've eaten Ethiopian food before and then I've eaten at Lalibela. The atmosphere is just wonderful, the fire pit with the atmospheric eatery section just makes for a memorable night. Then, the food, it's not just good for Kigali, it's good by Addis Ababa, where I was left disappointed by how hard it was to find something even in the same ball park as Lalibelas, let alone something that topped it. Something special for Kigali.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrett_Nash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    49
    18
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food (if you like Ethiopian food)”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you like Ethiopian food (not everyone does I guess), this place is great. The ambiance leaves a lot to be desired, but the service is excellent and the food very very good. Vegetarian lunch buffet is quick and good, and the vegetarian platter is great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nupur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian in Kigali”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food is so good and the lunch buffet is a great value. They sometimes also have bonfires in the evenings to relax and enjoy Kigali at night.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great buffet on Friday Night”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lalibela Ethiopian restaurant does an awesome Friday night buffet. For 5000RwF per person, there are several dishes to choose from and unlike many buffets in Kigali, you can go back for more than one plate. The restaurant is very nice, with lots of outdoor seating and extremely friendly staff. They have huge Primus beers for cheap, but their wine is quite expensive. For the buffet, there is lots of injera (the staple bread, and gluten-free at this restaurant as it's made exclusively from Teff flour as its supposed to!!) a few different meat dishes (lamb stew, spicy chicken and egg stew and beef stew) and a huge variety of lentil, vegetable, potato, pumpkin and chickpea stews, along with fresh cold vegetables (huge slices of avocado, cucumber, sliced tomato). I basically tried a little bit of everything and it was all delicious, perfectly spiced, and went down very well with a big piece of injera as a utensil (they do offer forks and knives). There was also some fruit salad for dessert, and a documentary on Ethiopia playing on a projector. All in all I was very impressed with the selection and quality of the food for the price paid. I will definitely be going back next Friday, but will probably pass on the red wine as this was the only disappointing and expensive part to the meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Unappetizing Leftovers”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After doing my research, this was one of the restaurants I wanted to go to on my weekend in Kigali. We went out of our way to visit and were completely disappointed. That night it was served buffet style and when we got there the food was cold, and unappetizing remnants. To be fair, we may have arrived too late for refills and on non-buffet nights the food might be better. Whatever the case, there's better Ethiopian food out there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MountainFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 
Kigali, Kigali Province
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Lalibela Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing