We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went with anger”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kigali
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stipp Hotel Kacyiru
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Due to a flight cancelling we were given this hotel by the airline.
There we came at 4 a.m. as a family with two children (2 and 10 years old).
- rather old Hotel
- our room was far away (even we had to cross a street) from reception, dining room, pool and other facilities
- smelly rooms with no moskito net
- Internet worked not properly in the rooms
- no flexibilty with times of breakfast
- asked for help with moskito net and internet and was kindly disregarded (no replay!)
- manager was not able to give me 1000 RWF (about less than 2 $) for telefon because of limits given by the airline. I had to struggle to have contact with the airline, which gave me more than I had asked.
- swimming pool seems to be nice but with some dangerous and broken surroundings
- the bill was uncorrecct (they asked money for drinks we didn't have) so I didn't sign
- in spite of being in the centre of Kigali you have to walk very far to go to town
- in general too expensive

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Franz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 37 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was booked here in transit and so stayed one night. The room I was given had three double beds in it so there was little room for maneuver. So for example the kettle is in the bathroom. I had room service and ordered fillet tilapia which came dry with vegetables and a room service charge of $

The decor is dated and the pillows rather hard although the linen appeared clean. The keycard for the door was temperamental and beeped as if an alarm had been set off- did not manage to figure why during my short stay. Kigali is hilly so one expected to have terraces in the garden,
how ever the steps need to be better lit at night.

The pluses: Internet in the bedroom. Breakfast had a lot of fresh fruit, one could order it cooked but there was little choice in terms of juices.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's too expensive. The rooms are small and the beds seem to be made of marble. Barely slept the two nights i was there. The food, on the other hand, is amazing. They have a great chef -- though the food is also quite pricey. It's in a very beautiful part of Kigali, but they should cut their prices by about 40 percent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbkisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. The reception staff are always friendly and welcoming and any problems usually get resolved.

The rooms are satisfactory albeit dimly lit. The bathrooms are large and the shower great but could do with some general maintenance. Some rooms have better internet connectivity than others due to a fairly ad-hoc method of router locations and the internet generally works well and is adequate and free.

The restaurant staff struggle with English but are keen to assist. The food is well presented and whilst the quantity is good - the quality is not great. Many of the things are seriously overcooked.

The hotel has a good swimming pool but limited facilities for sitting around it. There is a spa/health centre which is a little difficult to use since the staff speak no English at all - but the massage is excellent and very resonable priced.

Room Tip: The hotel is split across two areas. Walking to the 2nd area whilst only a few mins - will prove irr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Please check my review under STIPP HOTEL ( 2 words) as they are the same Hotel. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed only one night prior to an early morning departure and did not eat any food here so we can't comment on that, however, we did require a couple of drinks before retiring for the night. I did not think it possible to interpret " one Jack Daniels and a beer " so many different ways. Between ordering this at the pool and the same order at our room, 9 attempts were made, with all manner of things being bought to us, reminiscent of 'Manuel' at his finest! English obviously is not the 2nd. 3rd. or 4th. language required by the staff here. The front desk do fare better, which was probably necessary in order to perpetuate their shuttle scam on us. As we were leaving at 4am. I settled the room bill before turning in . At this time I also booked and paid ( US $30 ) for a taxi to the Airport. In the morning, the taxi was there waiting as promised and all seemed well until the staff suddenly sent him away and told us we would be put on the Hotel shuttle bus. Apparently the taxi driver expected to be paid by us at trips end and when the morning desk staff were informed that it had been pre-paid, their English fell away quite quickly. After more than half an hours' delay and increasing panic and frustration on our part they finally dug up a vehicle complete with unlicensed under-aged driver and got us to the Airport ( barely ) and no doubt celebrated with their thirty dollar profit and their bad review! Cheers.

Room Tip: Rooms elsewhere are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had seen this rated as a 2* hotel but I have seen worse 3* hotels in the world.

Having just come from Uganda, we found staff not particularly friendly - but they weren't rude, just lacking the warmth we had become accustomed to. Compared with the friendly smiling Ugandans who would chat away, staff here barely nodded an acknowledgement when you said hello.

Our room was well equipped with tv, ample lighting, comfy bed, a very good hot shower and bath (lovely after a fortnight of jungle type accommodation) and a good selection of toiletries. Ok, the bathroom is starting to look a bit "tired" and it is not a flat screen tv but it was perfectly clean and I don't need the most up to date tv. Wifi is also available.

Food was a bit disappointing with quantity over quality but we loved a chocolate mousse which was on the set menu. Not light or fluffy, more like solid good quality dark chocolate which was refrigerated but we enjoyed it.

The only real negative were the very noisy creaking doors - I'm sure a bit of oil would make a difference... The pool had lots of tables but only 2 sunloungers which seemed a bit odd. The decor is also very odd - the neon lights at night around the hotel and in the pool are a bit weird in my opinion. Similarly, the swan figures on a rock pool by the swimming pool just seem odd - way too eclectic a mix of things going on.

Incidentally they don't have a tip box system so if you are staying, best to tip porters, waitresses individually if you wish to.

Overall, an acceptable place to stay for a night or even 2 which won't break the bank.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kigali hotels
4.6 mi away
Kigali Serena Hotel
Kigali Serena Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kigali
764 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Des Mille Collines
5.1 mi away
2000 Hotel
2000 Hotel
#11 of 49 in Kigali
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Dereva Hotel
Dereva Hotel
#32 of 49 in Kigali
14 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heaven Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Tea House Kigali
Tea House Kigali
#3 of 136 in Kigali
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stipp Hotel Kacyiru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stipp Hotel Kacyiru

Address: Boulevard de l'Umuganda, Kigali, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Kigali Province > Kigali
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Kigali
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing